Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 91 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.0
Sort by

C A.
Thailand
January 30, 2016
Evaluating Rydges Hobart
Original Buildings, Location, Staff Service
Relaxing, pleasant, thoroughly enjoyable.

Noela H.
Australia
January 04, 2016
Short stay, peak season
Cleanliness, friendly staff, comfortable room
We enjoyed our stay. It was reasonably expensive but as it was New Year following finish of major yacht races and during a large food festival, all hotels in Hobart were expensive. The was a hand written welcome note and complimentary bottle of sparkling wine in our room on our arrival which was a nice touch.

Kin L.
Hong Kong
December 25, 2015
standard
good for drivers

Kin L.
Hong Kong
December 25, 2015
standard
Good for drivers

Steve W.
Australia
November 30, 2015
Feedback
Breakfast, view from the room and car parking.
The reception and dining room staff were great. They had an excellent knowledge of attractions in Hobart. The staff member who made up our room each day need training in bed making. The bed spread and top sheet was good in that they had been straightened and retucked. The bottom sheet was left in the same condition as it was after we had slept the night in the beds ie it was rumpled and loose.

Jill L.
Australia
November 16, 2015
Big room.
Big room,good towels,comfy bed.
Good stay,did have trouble with card entry to door. Went out of room to get some stuff from my car.tried to get back into room,card key wouldn't work,I was locked out of the room.had to go to reception to get it fixed.

Karen E.
Australia
July 13, 2015
Rydges Hobart - Manor King Room
Location
When we arrived the heating wasn't on and it was a very cold winters day in Hobart, it took ages to warm the room up. The bathroom is so old and very small it could definitely use a renovation. The bed being king was good but it was WAY too soft and the pillows were useless, you need something to lay on that doesn't disappear like a puff of air under your head. Lucky there was a spare doona in the cupboard for the fold out bed we didn't need as it was a cold room anyway being so old and only a sheet a a thin doona type thing on the bed. The TV was tiny for the room. I went to make myself a cup of coffee to warm myself after arriving and the kettle was so dirty and smelt so disgusting that I just couldn't use it. It looked like it had never been cleaned and perhaps someone had put something in it like tea. But the smell made your stomach churn. All in all I was very disappointed with the room, I thought being Rydges that staying in a room the called itself "Manor King" meant it would look something like it should in the 21st Century rather than being so outdated that I doubt anything had been done in that room for many years, except one wall look like it had been recently painted but that was it. You couldn't even cosy up in a couch as it only had two rather uncomfortable chairs to sit it. Everytime the toilet was flushed in the room next door it was like it was in the same room as you and even the shower next door was so noisy it woke my husband up when the person next door turned in on. Don't think I'll ever stay there again and wouldn't be recommending it to anyone else.

Kerril B.
Thailand
April 13, 2015
No meals
Location, price, plenty of room
Very good but unfortunately I have found when they cater for weddings, guests are unable to eat in the grill or obtain room service. However this information was not provided until the receptionist was asked when I noticed the wedding party. Had I been pre-warned I could have brought back a meal but as it was had to go back out to purchase a meal.

Janice M.
Australia
March 24, 2015
May have been 4 star 40 years ago!
Location near North Hobart cafe strip, the bed.
Whilst there were several good reviews for this hotel, if you scroll down you will see many complaints about lack of cleanliness. The furniture was 40 years old, except for the bed which was excellent but the overall appearance of the interior was dingy, depressing and I was very disappointed to be staying there.

Jack V.
United States
March 10, 2015
Would've been decent 30 years ago
It had availability, it wasn't too expensive and I could book it easily