Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.3
Based on 2400 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 2400 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.2
  • Service 6.9
  • Value for money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 6.1
Sort by

Chua L. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2015
Terrible customer service
Location
Staff was unprofessional and rude. Threw my passport on the desk and did not bother to answer my question, even showed signs of annoyance when I clarified whether it was my passport number that he wanted. In addition, hotel was quite run-down even though it was kept clean and street noise could be heard clearly in the room especially when one is staying in level one. Trams and cars zooming past would definitely keep one awake till 12 midnight. Nonetheless, the hotel has a good location, just 3-minute walk from Southern Cross station. Then again, for the price one has to pay.
Reviewed December 08, 2015

IFAN K. from Taiwan
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Good locaction in Melbourne
The room is very big and good location . It's near the central train station and shopping center . We can go sight seeing by walk
Reviewed December 07, 2015

david F. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2015
One night stay.
Bed and shower room were clean, had iron available in room.
It was ordinary, okay if you didn't want to spend too much time in the room which was small. It had no window view but borrowed light via an opaque window. It was overpriced. Had no soap or shower gels in the bathroom.
Reviewed December 07, 2015

Zhou X. from China
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
feedback
location, food and convenience
good
Reviewed December 07, 2015

Amy T. from Australia
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Centrally located
Location, convinience, 24 hour reception
We came to Melbourne to attend a conference at the Melbourne Convention Centre. This hotel is within a 5-10minute walk of there and across the road from the southern cross station. The hotel is convenient to access and their reception desk is 24 hours so you can check in at any time of night. It is value for money, the water in the shower will change temperature unexpectedly and you can hear the TV in your neighbor's room. However, the room is clean and comfortable and the hotel is well situated. Checking in and out was efficiently managed.
Reviewed December 07, 2015

Beverley S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in November 2015
Probably would use again
Location, food, staff.
We found this Hotel very convenient for events we were attending in Melbourne. The room was fairly basic - would have liked some cold water in the fridge. Curtains were damaged and not easy to open or close. Would prefer a shower alcove instead of shower over the bath as we are getting well into our senior years. Staff were friendly - meals in the restaurant (including breakfast) were pretty good. We reported that a sheet was damaged - had even been washed and ironed after the damage. We wanted to make sure that we were not charged for it.
Reviewed December 04, 2015

Chen B. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed one night in December 2015
My night in Great Southern Hotel Melbourne
Room, environmnent, convienience
Reviewed December 04, 2015

christina L. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2015
Simple comfy stay
Location, price and quiet environment
Reviewed December 04, 2015

Ze X. from Thailand
Business travelers
Stayed one night in November 2015
Good location for short stay
Location
Reviewed December 03, 2015

Mrs B. from Thailand
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Great Southern Hotel Review
Central Location, Cleanliness, Cost
I found the hotel easy to locate after arrival from airport at Spencer Street Railway Station and was a short, pleasant walk from Crown Conference Centre where I needed to be each day for my conference. The staff were very helpful with directions. The room was clean and comfortable and check in and out was easy and they facilitated holding my luggage until my return to the airport. It was a short walk to the DFO and shopping, gardens and the Sea Life Aquarium, so handy to many things to see and do in Melbourne. Very pleasant stay thanks!
Reviewed December 02, 2015