Back to hotel info

Above average 5.6
Based on 68 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Above average



based on 68 reviews
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 5.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 5.5
  • Service 5.1
  • Value for money 5.9
  • Food/Dining 4.3

Yvonne G.
Australia
March 24, 2015
Weekend in Sydney
Very cost effective; great location; helpful staff
We had a great time with good value for money.

Beth H.
Australia
March 16, 2015
Ideally located near the city
quiet location / price point / cleanliness
This was our first of many stays. The area was ideally located near Milsons Point train station and a quick taxi trip late at night. With 3 young women travelling together, the stay was safe, clean, and private. It's a secret that we shall be sharing amongst our colleagues who need to travel into the city from a regional area.

Christopher G.
Australia
March 09, 2015
Budget basic
Location, location, location
The share toilets are often found lacking in cleanliness

Doga D.
Turkey
March 04, 2015
Good location, lousy place
Location and price
Carnarvon Lodge is not bad just because the location and the price is good. The room is OKish if you're sleeping in the queen size bed but the person sleeping in the bunk didn't like where he's staying. The Chinese community living in the place is loud and lousy (like throwing their leftover rice into the bathroom bin). Place didn't feel secure as you can enter and leave anytime without any key needed. The bathrooms were always wet and felt like they're not being taken care of.

Lyn P.
Australia
March 02, 2015
Good stay
Location, location, location
Our stay was good although there were only 2 towels provided for a family of four and there was no towel rail, bathmat or extractor fan in bathroom. The main bedroom was clean and tidy although the room provided for our children was a very basic 'sleep out' and they had to share a double bed. We were very happy with the location and had no significant problems during our stay. We would stay again for the convenience of the location. Note - low score for food/dining was because none was required or provided and there is no other option for completing the survey.

Zhanhong H.
Australia
December 31, 2014
Cheap but wonderful
My kids could stay with me without extra charges.
Good position and nice staff.

Lenore L.
Australia
December 10, 2014
weekend with the grandkids
Close to Luna Park & the ferry wharf & North Sydney pool
Satisfactory

Tammy T.
Australia
November 24, 2014
Clean, good location, jug but no coffee & tea.
Value, location, clean.
Good, great place to sleep.

Emmeline T.
Grenada
October 21, 2014
Cheap kirribilli hostel
Cheap basic quiet hostel
The carnarvon lodge is a cheap option for budget travellers. Walking distance from milsons point on north side of harbour bridge. Quiet location.

Maurice H.
Australia
October 08, 2014
Not real good.
Where it was. Convenient to transport. Leaving.
No issues were serious as in a dangerous way but serious in the fact it was backpackers quality for far to much money. No staff in attendance after about 5pm. There was no power cord attached to the TV and when asked we were told the Manager would have to fix it. When was the manager coming in? They didn't know. There was no light in the ladies toilet though fixed on complaint. No soap, no electric jug in the room, no coffee, no milk. these are items you'd expect. It was also share bathroom. When we go to Sydney I must admit we look for the cheapest accommodation and we have found some fantastic specials for as little as $89 a night, many we have discovered later have been up to $300 a night when not on special. Many we have returned to but as for Carnavon Lodge, NEVER, terrible stay. If this was cleaner and well run I would have given it a 4 for value for money.