Back to hotel info

Very good 7.7
Based on 170 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 170 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 6.7
Sort by

Joanna D. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Has seen better days
I found this hotel disappointing for the price. The first room I was given smelled awful, was completely bare and neither the TV nor the phone worked. When I opened the windows to try and get rid of the smell they were filthy and covered with cobwebs. I asked to change rooms and the second one was better but it just looks rather tired and as if all of the fixtures were put in cheaply which makes it look a bit tacky rather than stylish. It was clean however, and the bed was comfortable. The shower gel hadn't been changed since the last guest (half empty, lid loose). The wifi was slow and the aircon made strange noises due to being covered by a metal slatted guard. I struggled to sleep well as the floorboards above me were very noisy and I could hear people moving around above from 6am. There was a minibar menu in my room but the minibar was empty. When I queried this at reception they said it 'could be stocked on request'. I think they are missing the point of a minibar. I can't compare with other hotels in Sydney as this was my first time and I did like the location, but I will look for another option next time. On the plus side there is a great cocktail bar attached to the hotel in case you need to numb the disappointment of this 'boutique' hotel.
Reviewed March 01, 2016

Clayton P. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2016
Poor
Location location location
Poor
Reviewed February 22, 2016

Luong H. from Vietnam
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Nice hotel
night entertainment, nice staff & clean
Reviewed February 16, 2016

Jaewon H. from South Korea
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2016
It was okay
Cleanliness, Location
It was at good location and clean but my stay was just okay. Room was tiny and I could hear the traffic in the morning.
Reviewed February 02, 2016

Stavros A. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Great location hotel
Location cleanl
Very good
Reviewed January 30, 2016

Susan S. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Business trip
Location clean and functional room friendly staff
I was looking for a hotel that was convenient and close to my business conference. The syptaff was very friendly and the rooms functional and clean.
Reviewed January 27, 2016

David H. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016
Great Location
I have stayed here many times the location is very handy to transport & entertainment. Very good in house restaurant & bar. Staff always friendly. Ownership has changed so let's wait & see.
Reviewed January 27, 2016

Stephen A. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Well placed. Friendly staff.
Comfortable bed, close to train station. Helpful staff.
Even though the hotel is close to bustling Kings Cross and Darlinghurst the hotel is quiet and safe.
Reviewed November 28, 2015

Yee T. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Overrated
walking distance to subway
Reviewed November 26, 2015

Samuel W. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in November 2015
Awesome Ambience and Location
Location, Funkiness and Friendliness
I have stayed a the Kirketon many times and continue to come back. It is always well priced. It's in a good location and I love how the rooms are appointed. Will continue to be coming back here regularly.
Reviewed November 17, 2015