arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.0
Based on 318 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 318 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Staff Performance 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 5.8

7.3 Chiao A.
Malaysia
December 30, 2015
Worth what you pay for
Transportation, easy access to food, friendly staff
Good

6.3 Lynne B.
Australia
December 16, 2015
Good Position but appliances don't work
position, staff
The aircon on a very hot night wasn't working, wasn't even switched on at the wall up near the roof. The tv had no signal either.

9 Angela I.
Australia
December 08, 2015
Overnight at the Macleay
Comfortable bed, quiet, friendly staff, perfect location for my Sydney visit
Generally good. Good walking distance to work venue. Suggest that the room could have been improved with the following: - more hanging hooks/space for towel/clothes -a small desk & chair in the room where guests can use their computer. I missed not having a place where I could sit to do work I had to do -a shelf above sink area for some extra storage space -longer chords for toaster & kettle Alternatively, or as well as - how about a communal lounge area as an alternative space for computer use.

7 James W.
Singapore
November 29, 2015
Friendly receptionist made the trip better
Great receptionist .. Tracy . Not bad location , near Bondi .
Enjoyed it,

6 Surendran S.
Malaysia
November 28, 2015
Not very Exiciting
Only one , it has a balcony
Stayed for a day and inconvenient because no lift and steep stairs. Bathroom not attached

4.3 Michelle H.
Australia
November 19, 2015
Disaster from start to finish
Location, clean, quietish
When booking I paid extra for a private bathroom, I got a shared. I don't know if this is a scam. They also have a request hotel transfer option were you put in your flight details. I got an email saying they do not provide this & instructions to ask at the airport with prices which were wrong, even the woman at the airport laugh and said they get that all the time. I had also said I would be checking in late with my flight details. When I arrived the doors were locked and there was a sign saying I had to ring a number because nobody was in after 8pm. I had arrived at 7:50 though and after finally 10minutes of trying to get through they said they'd come. At 20 past I had to ring again. Nobody would be in again until 7:30am and I had to leave at 6:30 so asking where I could leave my bags as I would not be back ontime for check out the receptionist pointed to the hall where anyone could take it. Preparing for my interview the electricity blew so I could not use my laptop or charge my phone which was low already & I needed it for my alarm, to ring a taxi & for another phone interview later on! If cafes would not have charged my phone my journey would have been wasted because they do not have someone available to reach at the lodge!

3.7 Martin J.
Australia
October 30, 2015
Shared Bathroom!!
Horrid. What city hotel in 2015 has shared bathroom?

8 Adrian C.
Philippines
October 14, 2015
Good Location
Location, Staff, Price
Location was good in the city centre, but quite scary at Kings Cross because it's the Red District of Sydney. Staff was fantastic, although they're not cleaning the room even though we have stayed 5 nights here. They just told us to go to receptionist if we need new sheets of towels and toiletries. Overall, the stay was nice and the room was comfy enough for long stay.

10 David B.
Australia
October 07, 2015
5 Day Stay
Location - Staff - Cleanliness
Went to Sydney for Rugby League Grand Final. We were on a limited budget and stayed 5 nights here. Location great, the 311 bus 50 meters up the road or a 5 min walk to Kings Cross Station. Woolworths next door stays open till midnight. Great coffee at the Deli 30 meters away. Value cafe 2 blocks up the hill serving meals. Pizza joint very good. Staff friendly and helpful. Shared bathroom facilities kept clean. Area seemed safe day and night as Police stn IS at the top of the hill. I have recommended this place to all my friends and as Arnie said " Ill be Back ' 10 OUT OF 10 FOR VALUE

5 Trish S.
Australia
September 23, 2015
NB: TAKE NOTE
Linen was clean.
I was unaware POTTS POINT was virtually KINGS CROSS (the Cross)! I chose Macleay lodge for price ..for twenty dollars extra I'd stay in the CBD I'm sorry but I booked a twin bedroom for "space" well I was asked to move ( I could have said no but I did the right thing and moved for a couple" well MACLEAY LODGE should be sorry that those single rooms exist .. They are kennels!!! Seriously 2m wide I'm serious!!! The bed was like an army bunk bed .. Macleay lodge did refund some monies for my inconvenience BUT seriously this is a review and for people who desire service and security of staff being present 24/7 , who desire a little luxury and security of surrounds well ..I will not b returning. BUT receptionist/cleaner. She's EXCEPTIONAL worthy of a pay increase or bonus she's a GEM. Seriously she's just lovely!!