Back to hotel info

Very good 7.5
Based on 1101 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1101 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 6.1

beb F. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015
not great
the position is great has a great access ramp to darling harbour shops.
The beds are terrible almost like sleeping on a floor. The hotel is in need of renovations. The staff were terrible.
Reviewed June 09, 2015

robert O. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed one night in May 2015
Drs waiting room so time to review.
View, location, internal layout of hitel
Great except keys did not work in lifts and street traffic noise in the morning
Reviewed May 31, 2015

Dianne W. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2015
Convenient location
Bedrooms separate to living area, location to CBD, handy parkibg
Reviewed May 24, 2015

marissa B. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2015
good
staff, location and room
very good
Reviewed May 21, 2015

Colleen E. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in April 2015
Sydney Goldsbrough 1 week stay ideal location
The bed, best we have ever had. Quiet sleeping. Spacious.
All in all, fairly good, but I hated the grubby sofa and cushions, I wanted to wash them and would sit on newspaper placed over the sofa seat. Could not fault room service, though our daughter and partner, over from the UK, next door had all sorts of problems, no toilet paper soaps etc for days on end. Plus their carpets grubby but ours were newer. I have stayed here years ago and found it gloomy then, this time we were on the 12th floor, what a difference. Staff very good. Location the best.
Reviewed May 06, 2015

Dr D. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Good location but that's about it. Don't bother.
Location; Semi-separate bedroom; Cooking facilities
Bearable but never again. After a long trip weary and tired - with 3 heavy cases to get up many steps into the foyer. The 'concierges' (joke) saw us struggling but made no eye contact and no attempt to assist. Finally, at the desk - again, no eye contact and no friendly reception. Were told to take the 'express' lift - the express lift was not working. Finally struggled to our room, opened the door and nearly fell over the bed. Good to have a separate bedroom but very little room to move. Cupboards could not be used because blocked by furniture. The self-catering equipment was good, the bed and lounge comfortable, but the whole place was 'tired', not very clean and needed upgrading. I find it petty these days to charge for internet - but $20 for half an hour? - outrageous (despite an insulting free half hour for the whole stay. Not only that but when connected their server corrupted my web pages leaving dozens of hotel sites in their place. There was a menu called 'Room Service'. It was in fact a farmed out food courier with a tempting menu and frankly disgusting food. Cottage Pie was fried mince with a few peas topped with a slab of rubbery artificial cheese and potato. The 'chunky' chips turned out to be exactly the same as you get from any cheap and awful fast food outlet - thin, salty and scalloped. Where was the chunky?? All in all, very disappointing and over-rated. I quite liked the quirky 'prison' type setup of the building and it had character but the staff certainly didn't. Make the wi-fi free, train the staff to connect with and help guests, clean and upgrade the rooms, and if they are going to pretend to have room service then at least make the food edible. Oh yes, the TV itself was OK but only basic channels - unless of course - you agree to pay yet again. Definitely NOT a good introduction to beautiful Sydney for our many travel-wise tourists.
Reviewed April 24, 2015

kim S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in March 2015
Great appartment
excellent location, 5 minute walk fro the harbour. nice apartments with everything you need from tv to tupper ware contIners
Really enjoyed my stay, the room over looked the harbour although a conference centre is being built, so this my not be the case for long and was a little bit noisy.The harbour is a 5 minute walk across the road walk through the car park and down in the lift brings you into the shopping centre and then onto the harbour area. The rooms are clean, daily house keeping or a do not disturb sign can be put out.the room has tv with cable and a dvd player.the pool is freezing. The train is 2 min walk and the ferries are also very close.
Reviewed April 03, 2015

Thabile T. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in March 2015
Helpful and accommodating
Central, close to transport and could walk to most places
I always try to stay in this hotel because of its location, friendly and helpful staff. The apartments are big and homely as well as clean and well kept. Really I cannot find any fault or anything that is unpleasant about staying at Oaks.
Reviewed March 18, 2015

Olaf B. from Indonesia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in March 2015
Value for long tem visit
Amenities in the room
Good value, little bit too noisy, room is comfortable
Reviewed March 08, 2015

DANNY K. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Parking!
location, after that im strugglin!
ok, stayed cos cheaper than Novatel, Ibis booked out just 100m away. Parking for my hire car was huge, about $85 for about 24 hours parking behind the venue, cant remember seeing any paperwork with parking recommendations, i certainly may have them missed them tho, i plead guilty if that is the case. i asked an older fella behind counter about where to park he said i think harborside carpark and not knowing where that was "officially" he couldnt actually tell me where that was but said was capped at $30 overnight, well $58 later when i left next morning the old bloke was a bit wrong!!!
Reviewed March 03, 2015