arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 127 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 127 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 7.1

Stephen J.
Australia
February 09, 2015
Great Hotel we have been before & will stay again
The room the staff & accommodation
We have stayed at The Russell Hotel before & would have no hesitation in staying again. The staff are so friendly & professional. They were also very knowledgeable any questions about the area & services we needed we provided & very helpful. Would highly recommend The Russell Hotel for all your accommodation needs.

Glenn R.
Australia
February 06, 2015
air conditioning would be nice for summer weather
location

tove A.
Denmark
February 04, 2015
fine hotel
optimal location, old style, nice and clean
Very good. However, begot a room directly above the bar which was VERY noisy. The problem was sold, since we were moved to another room (upgrade however costed 60 dollars extra/night) Apart from this everything fine.

beth I.
Australia
December 31, 2014
Great location and terrific staff
Location, staff and views.

Terri B.
Australia
December 19, 2014
Give the Russell a wide berth
The location to Circular Quay
Very ordinary. I was expecting the room (or something similar) that I had seen on the Internet. The room we were allocated was too small and cramped for an adult couple. Most disappointing was that we were led to believe that our bed was queen size - there was a queen size mattress on a double bed frame with no under support which resulted in my husband rolling out of bed on a number of occasions. In the end he went and slept in an armchair in the lounge. As he is 186 cms this was not an ideal situation. The lounge itself was filthy and grimy as were the shared bathrooms. I am very disappointed with the Russell and will never stay there again. Furthermore. although its location to the Quay is fantastic, I won't be recommending it to anyone I know who is travelling to Sydney. It's a real shame as its location, the originality and history of the building and its quirkiness could be such a drawcard. Please ensure that you show potential customers what they are actually getting for their money - not some poky room with inadequate bedding.

Tayler J.
United States
December 09, 2014
LOUD!
Staff was friendly.
The hotel over all was decent. My issues were that the room was extremely small. With this said the size isn't that big of a deal, however, with such a small room and being a few stories up, it gets warm and stuffy. So to remedy this problem you would generally turn on the AC. However this hotel only had AC in the reception area and not for guests in their rooms. So opening a window and turning on the ceiling fan is the next logical step. This is why I wount give this hotel a good review. The amount of noise was outrageous! There is a pub connected to the hotel and We must have had the worst luck with the room we were assigned, because The noise from the pub and the alleyway below us, kept us up all night! Also the ceiling must be thin as well for the people who had the room above us made the equivalent racket of an elephant trying to stomp on a dozen mice! All this at 1:00am. The hotel can't help its location or its old building, but adding some modern things like an AC would have kept us cool without having to open the window and letting in more of the street noise. Listening to drunken fools yelling at each other and hearing bottles break is not what I had in mind for my Holliday. If I were staying there on business I would have demanded my mony back because there was no way to get a reasonable amount of sleep with that much noise. At least on vacation I wasn't too worried about the lack of sleep. A good point, is that the breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. When we complained about the noise the receptionist was understanding but unable to do anything about it. Hotel is located in the rocks and is Walking distance to the bridge and to plenty of night life and pubs. No T. V. In our room but they did offer a sitting room elsewhere. The shared bathroom was very small but seemed clean.

William L.
Australia
September 11, 2014
A great spot and a great Hotel
Location. Room standard. General ambience/friendly staff
An enjoyable experience. The Russell is in a great location and provides a great atmosphere for a holiday in Sydney

toni P.
Australia
September 10, 2014
satisfactory
location ,clean, comfortable
good no real issues

ERI F.
Japan
August 16, 2014
Best location
Location, very convenience
Cozy room I like, and location is just convenience! Breakfast included is too simple for me.

Alison K.
New Zealand
July 16, 2014
Very comfortable and relaxing. Very convenient.
Old fashioned quaintness and charm; convenience of situation; lovely breakfast area.
We had a most enjoyable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was attractive and comfortable. We thoroughly recommend The Russell.