Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1149 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.5
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for Money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 6.8
Sort by

Deborah L. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2015
Nice hotel. Executive room turned bad...
Food, Bed, clean room
We initially booked a Standard room then was upgraded to an Executive room. It was great until we're about to head out and tried to have a shower but it was COLD (no hot water!) We were advised to make sure we ran the shower for 10 minutes to see if it became warm. As if we didn't try this before we called reception! Train staff to listen to your customers. After coming back from our night out we tried again then we were reluctantly offered to change rooms at 4am when we tried the shower again. Very inconvenient. Not bad for an overnight stay as it was a great location, clean room and decent breakfast. Just bad experience this one time I guess. Would have suggested to stay here if we didn't have dodgy hot water and staff reluctant to address our small problem.
Reviewed October 12, 2015

JANET W. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2015
Easy access to Quay at a reasonable price.
Location, clean, comfortable bed
Did the job
Reviewed October 10, 2015

James B. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Pillows
Location.Friendly staff. Spacious room.
Need to get rid of all their pillows and get good quality soft pillows. A good pillow makes a huge difference to a good night sleep. The mattress was fine. I also think it would be a good idea to replace the doors for each room as they are hollow. I could hear people talking easily as they walked past my room. I could also hear a mother berating her teenage son as I walked past her door. Not pleasant. Doors need to be sound proof. The walls seem to be ok. The windows have sliding shutters which are good for keeping light out but during the day you need a sheer curtain to let light in but also have privacy from buildings across the street. So a sheer curtain you can open and close for during the day and block out drapes for night might work better. Unfortunately I was very sick during my time at the Travelodge and to hear the constant drilling noise due to renovations at the time all day as I lay in bed. Of course, this was just bad luck on my part. I have to eat gluten free (coeliac disease) and may I suggest that you supply Weet Bix GF. IT's about the best GF cereal as it tastes good & not like card board as other GF cereals do. A must at breakfast is pitted prunes soaked in prune juice......and get a separate toaster for GF toast only. This will save a lot of time and offer better service. The air con didn't seem to work very well in my room. I did wonder how it would be in the summer? If all I have mentioned was tended to, I would definitely stay at the Travel lodge again. Must have good pillows!
Reviewed October 08, 2015

Ruth G. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
A great comfortable stay
Staff, Food, Cl;eanliness
It was good. The only thing that could maybe come a problem was the bathroom. You had to lock the door when you went in otherwise you could be knocked out. Overall it was great in location and everything else. The dining staff were most helpful, as was the reception. Great Great Great
Reviewed October 08, 2015

Graham S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Renovation rescue!
Location, Staff, cleanlieness
We were very disappointed in the room, because there was no compendium provided to tell you how everything worked? The shower was pitiful, we had to wait around 10 minutes most days, for the water to get hot, and had to run around in the shower to get wet,as the water pressure was woeful! The airconditioning didn't work very well. And for all this pleasure we were charged over $300 per night for room and breakfast. My wife and I will not be going out of our way to stay here again anytime in the future,very overated!!
Reviewed October 06, 2015

Issac L. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 9 nights in September 2015
Fantastic Location close to the rocks and walkable
Fantastic Location
Fantastic Location
Reviewed October 05, 2015

Amy C. from Ireland
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
Nice business hotel
location, price
Very pleasant. No internet in the rooms when I stayed there but perhaps this was due to the renovation.
Reviewed September 23, 2015

james K. from New Zealand
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
location
location !! cheap ,
location
Reviewed September 21, 2015

Douglas M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2015
Good Value for Money
Location Price
Not sure if it's really a 4 star hotel. Rooms are small and a bit dated. But it is good value for money. It's not to expensive and in a great location. Beds are comfortable which is always important. Overall a good stay.
Reviewed September 10, 2015

Pedro J. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
Sydney Trip
Location, Cozy Place
Overall experience is great. Toilet just got renovated. Staffs are friendly. Location is walking distance to Sydney Opera House and The Rocks district. Can easily be reached from Wynyard Train Station just a few meters walk.
Reviewed September 07, 2015