arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.7
Based on 51 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 51 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 6.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.3
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for Money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 7.6

Meiling T.
United Kingdom
December 28, 2015
Great location getaway close to Nadi
Proximity to Nadi easily assessible by ferry.
The Villa was perfectly located above the beach so you can hear the surf. There is almost guaranteed viewing of white tip shark with every dive. There is free scuba lessons at the pool for those who want to try. Its almost 200 Fijian dollars for one dive.You can kayak around the island ffor free. There is 2 hobbies cats also free of charge. For the experience sea kayakers you can arrange with Trevor to Kayak to Castaway but best start early and only on days they have tours so that there is backup in case you get into trouble. For that trip you need to bring plenty of water, a whistle and plenty of snacks. Not recommended for those with little experience as the current on the way back is quite strong and the waves quite high. Sailors make sure you keep well away from the reef. Swimming was better north of the island when we were there. Food was disappointing as we came from another resort with great food. This is one area that can be easily improved. Not much difference between some of the buras and villas. Villas in the north of the island seem to be at a quite location. There are two ferries a day to and from Nadi. One guest came by helicopter that lands next to the spa, you can also charter a plane to Mana island resort and pay for a boat trip to Matamanoa but save yourself a lot of hassle by just getting on the ferry and you get to see the other resorts near Nadi. Mostly couples and families with teenagers. Ngf.

Jie Z.
Australia
October 24, 2015
Gorgeous island resort
Location, Clean, Friendly
everything is perfect except the restaurant, food selection was poor and very expensive and very slow.

Dianne B.
Australia
October 13, 2015
Great resort, staff were amazing, just beautiful
The beach and soft coral reef is pristine, the beachfront Bure facilities were fantastic and all staff were exemplary
We stayed at Matamanoa for our honeymoon and it was also our first overseas trip. The resort was met all of our expectations and more. All information on their website is truly accurate, unlike another hotel we stayed in while in Nadi. It is just the perfect setting for honeymooners/couples that love their own personal space. Highly recommend Matamanoa to anyone seeking this type of holiday.

Ryan N.
Australia
October 11, 2015
Beautiful island! Lovely accomodation and views
Scenery, quietness, rooms
We had a fantastic stay at Matamanoa Island Resort. We were there for our honeymoon and were provided with complimentary champagne and fruit on arrival. The staff made us a lovely hand carved wooden sign for our door. We stayed in a beachfront Bure which was amazing. The room was very large and comfortable and opened up directly to the beach. It had its own plunge pool and, recliners and day bed. We enjoyed many walks around the island and it was so peaceful and quiet. The day spa was set up ok the cliff overlooking the water which was very relaxing. Snorkelling was fantastic and we saw lots of brightly coloured fish directly off the beach. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The only suggestion for improvement we have is to have a happy hour cocktail time each day. We didn't have many cocktails as they were very expensive. This is probably understandable for such a small island though. We would highly recommend the island for people who are looking to relax and enjoy some quiet time together.

Colin S.
United Kingdom
July 15, 2015
Beautiful Bure
Location, the staff and the snorkelling on the reef just off the beach
Had the most wonderful honeymoon on Matamanoa Island, we stayed in a Bure and it was so relaxing. The day bed and plunge pool where fantastic after snorkelling, which was only a 10m walk from the back door. The staff were so fun and friendly, wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others. Can't wait to return

Shan D.
Australia
June 02, 2015
perfect stay
location, great hotel staff, activities
Me and my partner had a wonderful stay on Matamanoa, really enjoyed everything provided by the resort. Hotel staffs are not just friendly but more importantly they are truly happy residents on the island which does lift your mood up. Daily activities guaranties your time well spend on the island, food was great and not very expensive.

ai T.
Malaysia
May 07, 2015
Perfect Getaway
Friendly Staff, Lovely Weather, Beautiful Island
Awesome! The island with no kids, no noise, perfect for relaxing! We got to swim with TURTLE!

Christina T.
Australia
April 12, 2015
Relaxing holiday
The location, the reef, the staff
We stayed at Matamanoa for 7 nights, and thorougly enjoyed our stay. It was our first time to Fiji and we feel we picked the best place to experience first! Would happily return. It's worth every penny to splurge on a helicoper flight at least one way :)

hiroko K.
Japan
September 01, 2014
Matamanoa Island Resort
The staff were very friendly but the food was just average quality, the resort is a little run down & could do with refurbishment & also everything could be a bit cleaner.

Zi Y.
Singapore
August 17, 2014
Loved it so much that we extended one more night
View, staff, comfort
We loved the stay the previous two nights that we extended another night online at the resort itself. The receptionist also confirmed the booking and informed that we didn't need to check out and that we could stay at the same cabin. That was thoughtful. The stay the last day was just as great, had arranged for a trip to Modriki island where Castaway was filmed and nice snorkeling off its shore. The stay was just as nice as the previous nights which was previous reviewed.