Back to hotel info

Very good 7.6
Based on 390 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 390 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for Money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 6.8

Fay G. from New Zealand
Groups
Stayed one night in March 2016
very nice
location, clean, staff performance
Reviewed March 18, 2016

Nicholas L. from India
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2016
Good value for money
Value for money, Location, Friendly staff
Our stay for one night at the Mercure was just great. We checked in a bit early, and they had a room available for us. The staff was really friendly. I'd say this hotel is ideal for those boarding cruise ships as the docks are just one crossroad away. Internet is available for a charge of $10 for 1GB or 24 hours.
Reviewed March 13, 2016

christophe R. from France
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
old room but hotel ok
room I had need to be refreshed, overall ok
Reviewed March 09, 2016

Ellen S. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2016
Clean, comfortable but noisy
Clean, comfortable and friendly staff.
Hotel is clean and comfortable. However we had a 4am fire alarm wake up call. I thought it was a car alarm until my husband opened the door we could just hear the alarm telling us to evacuate the building, but no staff to be seen to alert anyone. Luckily for us it was a false alarm once down from the 11th floor. Then at 950am we had a staff member knocking on our door and enter our room while we were sleeping. Then told us they were coming back in 5 minutes, leaving before we could see who it was, invasion of privacy and it was an 11am checkout. No apology. Rooms were hot. The only thing that made my stay, was the lovely valet lady who made things sound so easy and was a great help with parking. Thank you.
Reviewed January 17, 2016

Kathleen B. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Pleasant stay
Location; View from room.
A pleasant stay. No car parking available at the hotel and is located 2 blocks away at additional $25/day or $45 Valet parking over day. Not good. Rooms was clean and tidy although looking a bit tired especially the paint and the bathroom door. Great that we could open the windows as aircon a bit noisy. Staff were very friendly and as helpful as they could be.
Reviewed January 05, 2016

Margarita D. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2015
Location is good, rooms are small
Leaving, never to return.
Nothing special. Location is convenient being in a central location. The gym is well out of date but usable and the lower floors were being renovated when we stayed in late December. The rooms are small and the hotel was well under staffed on reception with a queue of more than a dozen people waiting to be attended to. The valet parking was disorganized with my car nowhere in sight at the agreed checkout time, taking the limited some time to retrieve. The staff were putting in a good effort and my criticism is against those holding the pursue strings, not them. Stay somewhere else.
Reviewed December 28, 2015

Andrew H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2015
Awesome
Staff bed location
From start to Finnish we had an amazing time!!!
Reviewed October 31, 2015

Shane M. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
.
Location, location, location
Reviewed October 21, 2015

Puey O. from Singapore
Families with older children
Stayed one night in October 2015
A bargain for a 3 star hotel
Location is central, with choice restaurants and main transport station nearby
The staff were helpful. Even though the facilities looked older, rooms were big, bright and clean. My family had a comfortable stay. No free wifi except in the lobby.
Reviewed October 11, 2015

Kat G. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2015
Great location
Location & service,
Average room, bathroom dated, pillows were terrible! Parking really expensive but location to Queen St & Vector awesome. Service was good & staff friendly- fresh milk provided on request
Reviewed October 06, 2015