arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.8
Based on 84 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 84 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 6.4

Laxman P.
Sri Lanka
February 01, 2015
great stay.
value for money, best location , clean and freindly staff

Jade F.
Ireland
January 24, 2015
Small rooms
Small rooms, but clean.
Nice location. Small rooms were a bit cramped. Weren't allowed store our bags on check out for an hour! Also was refused access to kitchen to make some breakfast after checking out! Man working in hotel was very helpful

Tanya W.
New Zealand
January 16, 2015
.
air con, wifi, compact
very pleasant

Amanda P.
United Kingdom
November 11, 2014
couldn't have asked for better!
staff, location, facilities
Highly recommend if you're visiting Rotorua. The team there offer a warm welcome and go that extra mile to make sure your stay is a great experience. 2 mins from the I-site and really good location to explore the area from.

Michelle K.
United States
July 27, 2014
Good enough.
Hosts were great, everything was clean, wasn't noisy.
Great! Paid for a small room, got a small room. Hosts were incredible.

widya I.
Indonesia
June 03, 2014
Good value for money
Nice staff, near tourist center, good area
I didn't expect there would be 2 tvs, one in each room. The room was comfortable and warm despite cold weather outside. It's a well maintained backpacker hotel.

John J.
United Kingdom
April 11, 2014
Budget accommodation in centre of town
Location, value, convenience
We spent most of our time out and about in and around Rotorua, but the hostel was a decent enough place to lay our heads for two nights. We had a twin room which was actually two bunk beds in a very small room with a tiny window - so there was not much natural light. Bathrooms again were small but clean, and served their purpose (especially compared to other hostels we stayed in). All in all, a basic but comfortable stay; a bit cramped but no real complaints, given the value.

Ly L.
Australia
March 04, 2014
Great hospitality from the staff & great location
Location, Internet & Staff
We had a great stay at Astray backpackers as we utilised the kitchen & laundry services. Also there was free wifi which was very useful in researching places that we wanted to go to. The staff we very helpful & had great customer service!

May L.
Malaysia
March 03, 2014
I had a bed bug bite here.....
cheap, easy access, friendly staff
I think I had a bed bug bite here. I was book a private room with my boyfriend. The room is small, but it's look tidy. But I was wake up with itch and numbers red spot.. but we left the room at early morning, so I had no time to tell the staff.. Just be careful if u want stay at this hotel.

Namrata D.
India
February 14, 2014
Great staff
clean rooms, friendly staff and good breakfast place next to it
Staff was great. She stayed back for us to check in as our bus got late and was still welcoming. The room could have had better ventilation. That was the only drawback.