or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Palace on Ganges Hotel

B-1/158, Assighat, Assi Ghat, Varanasi, India 221001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Hotel Exterior Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Guest Room Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Bathroom Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Bathroom Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Bathroom Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Guest Room Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Restaurant Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Heritage Room Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Writing Table Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Art Gallery Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Bathroom Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Guest Room Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Facilities Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Guest Room Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Interior Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Guest Room
Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Guest Room Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Library Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Interior Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Interior Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Exterior Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Library Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Menu Cards Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Library Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Floor Plans Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Lobby Palace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Interior
Area: Assi Ghat Number of Rooms: 42
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Acceptable

0.0

based on
129 reviews

Value for Money
0.0
Location
0.0
Staff Performance
0.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
0.0
Room Comfort/Standard
0.0
Food/Dining
0.0
All reviews (129)
Sort by:
Margaret K. Families with older children Canada, January 8, 2015
Over Priced

Staff did try to resolve issues, close to the Ganges, close to morning Puja
6
This hotel is simply over priced. The hotel is dated and is badly in need of an up grade if they continue to charge the current price. We were disappointed in our room and decided to check out the following morning however a refund for our second night was not possible. The staff up graded us to a slightly larger room which was also not as stuffy and close as our first room. Our adult daughter who travelled with us was given a mattress on the floor - no roll away cot available. However when she went to bed we discovered that the mattress smelled very mbadly of mildew.. Staff took the mattress away and pulled a mattress from another hotel room for her to use. Actually that was slightly puzzling because they could have just given her that room since no one else would be using the room now that the mattress was missing. One plus for this hotel is that it is right on the Assi Ghat, a good starting place for walking along the ghats and watching the morning puja.
Michelle J. Solo travelers United States of America, January 6, 2015
Noise Noise Noise

checking out
5.7
Do not stay here. When we arrived we were given a room on the first floor near the reception. The first thing I wanted to do was take a shower. To my horror there was no hot water. They only have hot water from 5am-11am then 5pm-9pm. The room was freezing cold. We were exhausted so we got in bed to take a nap, then the banging started, then people started congregating out side our room, Talking loudly, there must be no insulation in the walls, it was so loud I got up and went to reception and demanded to change rooms. We were moved to the second floor. The room was better but now the construction noise was worse as we were closer to the roof. The room was freezing and the space heater had to be at least 30 years old, we were to afraid to leave it on while we were sleeping. We could hear our neighbors in the next room it was especially loud in the bathroom. Our window had a view of a brick wall. The TV was broken, It took 3 different TVs before we got one that worked. Frankly this hotel is a nightmare. Stay elsewhere
James N. Couples United Kingdom, November 29, 2014
Great location but tried to scam us on check in

Location
6.7
On check in the manager said Ogoda called and you need to pay extra 1500 Ruppees to me, I obviously told him this was not going to happen, he feigned a phone call then said no worries it's all ok...
Lynda L. Solo travelers United States of America, August 18, 2014
Pleasant Hotel in a good location

Pleasant Hotel with a friendly staff
8.3
Barbara H. Solo travelers Australia, April 27, 2014
Well located, clean secure rooms and helpful staff

The central location - handy to all major Ghats but quieter than the busier Ghats
8
Really enjoyed the stay here. Location is really handy and feels more relaxed than the main Ghat areas. Rooms are each different and the standard of the upgrade to the building is high. Comfortable bed although linen was badly pilled. I'm sure if I had asked it would have been replaced - but wasn't important enough to worry about. Rooftop area nice - although no views when sitting having meals. Met other interesting travellers at breakfast because tables can be communal. Highly recommend for both it's charm generally and it's excellent location.
Catherine W. Families with older children Australia, April 1, 2014
Clean and comfortable, right on Assi Ghat

Location to ghats, helpful staff, themed rooms clean and comfortable.
7.3
We stayed for one night only, as a group of 4 adults and 4 teenagers. Concierge helpful and English good. Great spot with view over Ganges on rooftop restaurant. Clean and comfortable in a grubby city with touts and beggars as soon as you walk out the door. Staff organised boat tour and taxi back to airport at reasonable price. Would recommend to others.
Ravind S. Couples South Africa, February 27, 2014
run down hotel .not good value for money.

good location only great thing about the hotel
4.3
This hotel was run down and a dissapointment. Definately not value for money.The location was freat though- right on th ebanks of the Ganges.
Andre M. Groups Brazil, February 25, 2014
Clean hotel

Clean hotel, ok food, good location.
7.7
Good, but you can find better restauants in the city or in other hotels along the ganges. The restaurant was empty and it took 1.5 hours to do a simple pasta.
Stanford S. Couples United States of America, January 24, 2014
Not worth the money

Location on the ghats; free Internet
5.7
Most of the rooms don't look out onto the outside, but have small windows looking onto an airshaft. Breakfasts were skimpy; no fresh juices, no brown bread in a city famous for healthy eating. The rooms are small. The hotel is clean and aesthetic, but not worth a night.
Elizabeth J. Solo travelers Australia, January 21, 2014
comfortable and easy access to all attractions

location, helpful staff, easy access
10
I throughly enjoyed my stay at the Palace, the staff were welcoming and very helpful. The hotel is in such a good location, taxi right to the door and the ghats are right there. Loved walking along the ghats for hours. Was in room 107 had a window no view just a white brick wall which didnt bother me the action is outside and very quiet. The room was very clean and nicely decorated in warm colours. I highly recommend this hotel right on the ganges and would stay here again.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Palace on Ganges Hotel VaranasiPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Hotel ExteriorPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Guest RoomPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - BathroomPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - BathroomPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - BathroomPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Guest RoomPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - RestaurantPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Heritage RoomPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Writing TablePalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Art GalleryPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - BathroomPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Guest RoomPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - FacilitiesPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Guest RoomPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - InteriorPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Guest RoomPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Guest RoomPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - LibraryPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - InteriorPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - InteriorPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - ExteriorPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - LibraryPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Menu CardsPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - LibraryPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Floor PlansPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - LobbyPalace on Ganges Hotel Varanasi - Interior


AS-AGWEB-3B07