arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.1
Based on 5383 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 5383 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 7.6

Kimberley T.
Australia
February 07, 2013
Not the best, but does the job
Happy hour
Palmyra was great for our two night stay and has the amenities that you need, i.e. pool, wifi, restaurant, fitness centre, travel agent, good location. The only thing is the staff seemed to be pretty lost. My boyfriend and I arrived early and our room wasn't ready so reception sent us to the pool to wait, which was fine for us as we grabbed some food and a few drinks and used the wifi. It was just strange when we arrived, no one came around to offer a menu or see if we wanted anything, so we went to the bar, and still, all the staff looked so confused at us looking at the menu, as though they didn't know what we were looking at. Eventually I think they understood what we wanted.... Once we went back to reception they sort of pretended we weren't there, even though they knew we were waiting for our room, didn't offer us a seat or tell us it would be 5 mins. It was just kind of strange as we just stood there, everyone looking confused.... We came to the conclusion that this may be a relative new hotel (formerly called Chiba Villa), so perhaps the staff a new too and don't seem strong in English or confident in general. In a dinner context, the staff saw that we had finished our meal and stacked up our plates ourselves, but they didn't take the plates away, or offer dessert. They seriously appeared too shy to approach. I had to motion for them to clear the table. Happy hour was a bonus though, 5pm-7pm . Like I said, it was fine for a two night stay, but it was just a bit weird and I was glad to be out of there, wouldn't stay longer. Definitely lacking in customer service. Wouldn't highly recommend, probably wouldn't return.

Huihui Y.
Canada
February 05, 2013
lovely hotel
location
it is very close to downtown.the room is clean. i especially like the welcome drink. since i only stay the hotel one night, i do not have much comment. one thing i should point out is that the bed is really narrow, only for one person.

Jai K.
Australia
February 03, 2013
Nice clean hotel nearby walking street
location, cleanliness
Enjoyed our stay here with a relatively quiet crowd allowing for a relaxing time. Located within walking distance from Bangla street, the rooms were clean and a spacious bathroom was provided. The amenities were above average with a nice pool to cool yourself and relax by and reasonably priced cocktails during the day.

Billy T.
Canada
February 02, 2013
Everything is pretty good
clean, convenience, room is big
This resort is pretty good. The price is decent, and the services are pretty good. The customer services are excellent, and it's in the center of a lot of entertainments (bars, spas, massages etc.). The breakfast is pretty good, has a lot of choices.

Brian E.
Australia
January 30, 2013
great hotel very quiet and freindly staff
pool & breakfast very good
nice large modern rooms with large bathroom (shower & seperate large bath very pleasant

Lee L.
Malaysia
January 24, 2013
Lovely hotel and service with a smile
The room clean.
Hotel staff's was very friendly and the room is quite clean and bright. About 15min walk to bangla rd, the centre of attention in patong.

Lee L.
Malaysia
January 24, 2013
Lovely hotel and service with a smile
nice price and value
nice and cosy rooms.nice price and value .clean and quiet. breakfast a bit poor and the same every day but for the value its ok .

Donovan O.
Singapore
January 23, 2013
Simple quiet comfortable hotel
Within walking distance (15mins) to the patong beach, bangla street and jungceylon yet Quiet
The hotel is within walking distance to the patong beach, bangla street and jungceylon. Along the way,there are various seafood stall, shop selling clothes, massage shops.so can shop,relax while walking to your destination. There's free wifi in the hotel room. The spread of the buffet is not huge but sufficient for all. The swimming is not huge but good enough. The hotel is quiet and cosy and just nice for us as we are light-sleeper. The hotel staff are friendly.In all, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

Michelle W.
Australia
January 22, 2013
Good Happy Hour prices that last most of the day
Good location for partying and the hotel food at good prices and the drinks are good as well
We were fortunate enough to get upgraded into a pool access room. The hotel only has 4 or 5 of these rooms. So that was lovely. The rooms are fine as are the bathrooms. The beds are hard just like over most of Thailand but the pillows are comfy. We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was just ok. Nothing special but it wasn't bad either. The pool isn't that big and they have few deck chairs so I was lucky to have deck chairs outside our room. Had a couple of problems with the air con - It was leaking from the roof and made all the celling wet and leak water onto a tiled floor. I advised the front desk of this issue and the said was "its ok" I expalined to them that the water on the floor was a little dangerous as the floor was slippery. They said just to be careful. At this hotel pool towels have to be signed in and out and if you don't retun a towel by 8pm your room is charged. I asked if I could use a pool towel to clean it up I was told only if I paid bht. I rang house keeping and asked for an additional towel (again to clean the water up which was now running out under the hotel door) I was told we have two towels for 2 people.... I ended up using the bath mat then I was asked why it was so wet?? The hotel only gave us one key to the room - which meant that we were locked into doing things together on a time frame or one person kind of had to hang around the hotel so the other person could get back into the room. - That was annoying! The location of the hotel is fine, however its more of a place would view as a to use as a base to go out and party all night and sleep most of the day.

Mark T.
Australia
January 21, 2013
Great location & good value for money
great location, good pool area, friendly staff
Hotel is well situated just outside the centre but easy walking distance. Rooms comfortable and of a good size. Hotel facilities good staff are friendly. Breakfast has a wide range of options, Western and Asian. Not 5* but its good value for price and rating.