arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
All reviews (5353)

Business travelers (92)

Couples (2616)

Solo travelers (665)

Families with young children (751)

Families with older children (523)

Groups (706)

Excellent
8.1
based on 5353 reviews
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Facilities
7.8
Location
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Staff Performance
8.2
Value for Money
8.2
Food/Dining
7.6

10 Mary G.
Ireland
December 06, 2012
Great location , fantastic room
Pool side room was amazing, very clean
We really enjoyed our stay here, everything was so clean and peaceful. The staff were very pleasant. Ideal location just a short walk to shops and Bangla road.

8 mark P.
Canada
December 07, 2012
Lovely Hotel and location but some bored staff
location, bedding
the hotel is set back about 100 metres off the street which makes it safe and quiet. seem to have been recently renovated ... for example the breakfast area has a brand new roof (next to pool). pool has a nice waterfall and 3 elephant statues shooting water into the pool. pool and breakfast staff were great but some disinterested staff hanging out at the reception ... no warm sawadee's upon arrival. we stayed 6 weeks in thailand, stayed at about 10 hotels/resorts and this one had one of the most unfriendly welcomes everytime you entered the hotel. but we loved our stay.

6 Vincent O.
Singapore
December 06, 2012
Not a bad hotel but far from bangla and jungceylon
all the facilities is here: pool, gym, dining, bar etc.
The hotel stay is great. Stayed in a villa with a friend. Although its slightly old, but its Clean! They have all the facilities you want. Staff are not very friendly but not of my concern. They wouldn't help you to call and book taxi. In the end walk out to main street for a taxi. WIFI is very crappy! keep on disconnecting. Ask for the main username and password for stable connection. Walk to bangla and jungcelyon is far! Imagine drinking alot at night and walking back to hotel (15mins)!!!

8.7 allen L.
Malaysia
December 05, 2012
Excellent stay
Well located hotel. Clean, spacious and well-appointed room.
The bathroom was clean, large and pleasing to the eye. The only grouse was the slow water drainage in the shower cubicle which caused some overflow out of the cubicle. Staff were polite and helpful. The security was good - non-guests were not allowed to rooms unaccompanied. All-in, highly recommended and would definitely be the hotel of choice for our next visit.

7.7 Ben M.
New Zealand
December 09, 2012
Great pool and clean rooms
Pool
Great pool and room. Recommend the pol access room

7.3 YINGXIAN M.
China
December 31, 2012
great location and service with a smile
great location
It is located in patong beach, which is convenient for shopping, meals, beach, and good service with smile. As such a middle class resort, I can't believe it has a amazing swimming pool. But breakfast is a bit simple. They only provice one wifi acct and pw which can't log in for two ppl at the same time. I hope it will have more choice in breakfast, better wifi and cleaner room.

8.7 Peter T.
Australia
December 09, 2012
Enjoyable and relaxing, great staff
Good swimming pool, friendly helpful staff, comfortable room with good aircon.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Palmyra and will certainly come back again. The room was pleasant, bright and airy, with a good air con. The bed was very comfortable, the staff extremely helpful. I went out of my way to try and learn and use a little Thai, which the staff seemed to like and helped me with. The pool is good, 1.4 m deep throughout, but long enough for decent lap swimming. I swam every day after breakfast, even in the rain. The restaurant has a range of European and Thai dishes, everything I ate there was good. Bangla Road (nightlife)is an easy 8 minutes walk from the hotel, and Jungceylon shopping center just 10 minutes away. The hotel itself is set well back from the road and very quiet, a peaceful haven away from the nightlife noise and bustle. The tour agent is helpful, every tour she recommended was good. You need to pay for tours in cash however, no credit facilities and it is independent of the hotel, so budget appropriately. Down sides: Wifi can be slow, so not the hotel for you if you need serious fast internet while on holiday. Best speed is early in the morning. Breakfast buffet is a bit limited in range, but quality is generally good. 'Ham is Pork' and 'Bacon is Pork' sounds a bit strange until you realise many of the guests are Thai, and many Buddhists don't eat pork or beef. Overall, a great place to stay and very relaxing.

6 Joyce K.
Singapore
December 10, 2012
Good location
Very merticulous about small items and not very helpful
We are a family with very young toddlers. Partial of the hotel was under renovation but they weren't considerate enough to give us our rooms right where the renovation blocks are and a very high floor with no lift service. But they allowed us to change to a family villa on the ground floor after we request. ( but the manager was stern n not quite willing to do so). We asked if they can help us call a cab to go out because of heavy rain but they refused. Alot of Mosquitos too at the premise and the villa is quite run down... Overall the pool is nice. Breakfast so-so. Patong is not as friendly as we experienced the last visit..

8 seri S.
December 06, 2012
good location,near the beach
good hotel for relaxation
the hotel with good service and facility,not far from the beach just 10-15 min.walk,with a lot of seafood local restaurants on opposite side,suit for who looking the hotel nearby the beach

4 Azhan F.
Malaysia
December 08, 2012
Nice hotel but poor service
look good but a lot of problems
Reception was not friendly and rude. Does not speak good English and never smile. Room was ok. The corridor get wet and slippery after rain. When I had breakfast it rain so heavily I'm unable to get to the room. Luckily a waiter lend us an umbrella. During check out we waited so long to settle everything. A few of the guest also complaint about receptionist being rude.