or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Pan Guesthouse

Mekong Road, Khong District, Don Khone, Muang Khong, Laos (Show on map)

Book now!

Pan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Guest Room Pan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Guest Room Pan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Guest Room Pan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Guest Room Pan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Guest Room Pan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Guest Room Pan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Bathroom Pan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Bathroom Pan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Exterior Pan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Garden view Pan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Surroundings Pan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Surroundings Pan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Surroundings
Area: Don Khone Number of Rooms: 11
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
126 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (126)
Sort by:
Yu Z. Solo travelers China, September 29, 2012
Great room and nice owner

spacious riverside room, good service and nice people
10
The room is just at the side of Mekhong river, and spacious and quite clean. The atmosphere is very quiet and sweet. The owner, Pan's family, is super kind and helpful. Just feel like staying in own family and talk with friends. Additionally, the restaurant has also nice cuisine in the island.
Chris C. Couples New Zealand, September 15, 2012
Cute bungalows on the river

Hammock outside the room
10
Clean, bit dark, but comfy Bathroom a little dingy
Restaurant Tip: Amazing restaurant can't remember name. Go up pathway from room to main street take a left there is A restaurant there with low tables has wifi and great breakfast and all meals yum. Great happy shakes too but beware takes 30 mins to work!!!
Alexander T. Solo travelers Germany, August 17, 2012
Nice and clean bungalows

clean, air con, great location, helpful owner
7.7
The guesthouse is located on the more quiet island of Don Khon. Bungalow was very nice and clean. Every bungalow has a hammock to chill out on the porch. The owner Pan is very helpful and his little restaurant just across the street serves decent food. There are several other restaurants close by as well as bike rentals. By bike it is a 10 minute ride to the more lively part of Don Det.
Tristan P. Groups United Kingdom, July 18, 2012
A cozy bungalow on the river

location, restaurant
7.7
Pan’s is a lovely and relaxing place to stay, it’s a bit shabby around the edges but at the time we stayed they were renovating some of the other bungalows – we stayed in a bungalow overlooking the Mekong River. The bungalow was perfect for relaxing. The island was extremely quiet as it’s the low season and although it was monsoonal at times (with electrical cut outs), we didn’t mind as we used it as an excuse to laze about on the hammocks and deck chairs on the veranda. Pan’s also by far has the best restaurant on the island. The only thing that let the place down was the wifi – it’s only accessible via the restaurant but throughout most of our stay there were faults and we were forced to go to another restaurant to use their wifi which was frustrating.
Travel tip: choose a river view - its well worth the extra.
Neill T. Groups United Kingdom, July 8, 2012
Simple accommodation overlooking the Mekhong River

Beautiful location so relaxing in the hammock!
9.3
Mr Pan speaks excellent English which is very useful if you need help with anything. Pan's resturant serves great food. The bungalows are very simple indeed but clean and confortable. They are situated right on the Mekhong River so brilliant views from your hammock. To get hot water to not take the shower off its stand! This is a very relaxing chill out place - you will really unwind here!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Take bikes or walk to the local waterfalls definitely worth a see. Don Det is much more built up with some bars if you are looking for nightlife.
Ian M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, June 28, 2012
Lovely bungalows on the riverfront.

Peace and quiet, great place to chill out.
7.3
The staff and owner were very friendly although some of the staff's grasp of english was very limited this added to the sense of adventure. Whilst rooms are basic were always clean and very quiet. Was lucky to get bungalow facing the river and enjoyed many afternoons lazing in the hammock on the terrace.
Katharine M. Couples United Kingdom, June 17, 2012
Relaxing stay with a lovely view

Well equipped bungalow, lovely balcony and view
7.7
Had a great stay here, the bungalow was well equipped and fairly smart compared to many on the islands, with fan, aircon, good bathroom etc etc. Lovely view from the balcony to watch the world drift by. Comfortable bed. Possibly a bit expensive but it was good quality. Restaurant across the road does fine food, although breakfast wasn't included. We had lovely dinners further down the road at the Sala don Khone. All in all a great stay, in a lovely spot.
Shaun C. Groups Singapore, May 12, 2012
Modern guesthouse yet close to island life

Huge rooms, Wifi at restaurant
7.3
Pan offers 2 accommodation types, garden view and mekong view. Medkong view offers the best sunset view, garden view is like a bungalow on stilts. You can expect to see water buffalo or chickens right outside your door in the middle of the night. We experienced a night with multiple generator failure due to the thunderstorm but the blackout was short. Location is good, not too far from the waterfalls and from neighbouring Don Det which has 'happy' menus. You can easily cycle to Don Det and around the Don Khon island, or rent a scooter. Many restaurants to choose from. An advisory for those who fear bugs, when night falls, bugs come in the thousands to any light source, you may even have some in your food too. But food and drinks (Beer Lao) is cheap and fresh, Pan's also provide mosquito nets in the rooms and hot water for shower. So you're experiencing life on an island, but with modern infrastructure like Wifi, and the guesthouse is expanding.
Travel tip: An island for relaxation! If you want to be uncontactable for days, the perfect location!
Mara E. Solo travelers United States of America, May 5, 2012
basic rooms, good food

restaurant, location
6.7
These were basic but fine, I had a garden view, would have preferred river but was too expensive. I got an ok deal on Agoda plus fees, other people walking in paid a bit more. I think the river views they were charging not sure how that compares with other places. The room was a little noisy, I was near family of owners or staff not other guests. The food at the restaurant was good but the restaurant is not on the riverside as most of the others I noticed. Wi-fi available in restaurant, I could sometimes get in my room. When I checked in there was no showerhead on my shower but they fixed right away. I also did not have a hammock on my deck but they got me one when I asked. were helpful when available.
David T. Groups Australia, May 3, 2012
Amazing bungalow by the river

Great location, peaceful, clean and comfortable
10
We really enjoyed our three night stay at Pan Guesthouse. We were lucky enough to recieve a Bungalow facing the river which was awesome. lt was very hot during our stay, so we were able to take a quick dip in the river just metres away, then lie in the hammock on our verandah as we dried out. lt was so peaceful. Our room was fairly new, and although basic was lovely and very comfortable with a very effective AC. At night, it was calm and quiet, with sound of the water river and the view of stars in the sky. Next door you can rent bicycle and there is a mini mart very close by down the street. Mr Pan is friendly and also owns a restaurant opposite the guesthouse, which serves delicious very cheap food.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Pan Guesthouse Muang KhongPan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Guest RoomPan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Guest RoomPan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Guest RoomPan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Guest RoomPan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Guest RoomPan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Guest RoomPan Guesthouse Muang Khong - BathroomPan Guesthouse Muang Khong - BathroomPan Guesthouse Muang Khong - ExteriorPan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Garden viewPan Guesthouse Muang Khong - SurroundingsPan Guesthouse Muang Khong - SurroundingsPan Guesthouse Muang Khong - Surroundings


AS-AGWEB-3C05