Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.5
Based on 9056 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 9056 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for Money 7.2
  • Food/Dining 6.6

Dong L. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Pleasant stay
Room, Location and cleanliness
Overall, the stay is pleasant. There is a few areas people can consider to stay at this hotel. I would say the location is pretty much the main selling point of this hotel. For travellers from other country, travelling around Singapore in the heart of the city is essential, which this hotel provide one of the best place for tourist to stay, travel or shop. The hotel is walking distance to the City Hall MRT, where traveller or tourist can access the CityLink to Marina Square or Esplanade. Travellers can also extend their journey to Marina Bay Sands, Singapore River or Suntec city from Esplanade. The room have good decor and clean for travellers or tourist to stay. The staff is obvious that they been through customer service courses as they are polite and careful the words they choose when conversing. Even though the hotel may not seen as "new" as other hotel, it is still pretty fine and comfortable to stay in. The not so pleasant area in the hotel would be the slight old decor and the building surrounding. I did not use the facilities therefore I can't rate on it. However, you can view the swimming pool from the lobby and it seems small and nothing impressive about. I did order meals to dine inside the room and, the food is warm but not as hot as I thought. the food price is a little steep, and I request for a medium rare for my steak where they serve me as medium well. The building surroundings is filled with shops that is relatively old and it makes me feel that it is not that luxury. The hotel did provide amenities but the coffee and tea is relatively "budget". Why I would think that the hotel fits to be 4 star is the location, the comfort, cleanliness, and service. If travellers or tourist just wish fulfil your trip in Singapore by sight seeing and not to pursue high quality stay like those 5 star hotel, I think Peninsula Excelsior may provide you a wonderful staycation.
Reviewed August 03, 2015

budiono K. from Indonesia
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
OK
clean, save and strategyc
OK
Reviewed August 03, 2015

Tandiono T. from Indonesia
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Nice hotel but staff works very slow
comfortable room and good location
Overall, our stay was good. The only thing was the check-in procedure. It took almost an hour to do the check-in. The staff worked extremely slow. Some of our room keys did not work, so we needed to go back to the front office to fix them.
Reviewed July 31, 2015

MARIA R. from Philippines
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
a place to stay again and again
location, staff are good, cleanliness of the room
best
Reviewed July 30, 2015

Luki S. from Indonesia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Easy to go to Clarke Quay or City Hall
Location, spacious room, value for money
I always love this hotel as it is super convenient to walk to either City Hall MRT or Clarke Quay MRT to go almost everywhere in the city. Reasonable price and spacious room, but things are starting to look 'old' so I hope they renovate or do better cleaning/upkeep.
Reviewed July 30, 2015

Tun A. from Myanmar
Business travelers
Stayed 6 nights in July 2015
Bad Customer Service
location location location
Reception staffs treat the customers like their salaries have nothing to do with customers's money. In short, not a customer service you will expect at that kind of hotel, most of them are not helpful, patient and with robot faces esp the male stuff at the reception.
Reviewed July 29, 2015

Philip B. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
The Peninsula Excelsior is better than a 7.5
Location/Staff friendliness/Value
A stay at the Peninsula Excelsior is always an easy choice; I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Singapore. Its convenient location makes getting anywhere easy, being on a well-serviced taxi route, and/or just yards from the City Hall MRT.
Reviewed July 29, 2015

Erwin L. from Philippines
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Peninsula Excelsior Experience
3 best things are location, free wi-fi and cleanliness.
Not that good because of competence of reception staff, can't sleep well because of the plumbing (you can hear water flowing everytime someone flushes the toilet), long wait to check-in. The plus factors are, the hotel is close to Funan and the City Hall MRT station. The rooms are clean and well maintained, the rooms are always freshly made when we return at night. These positive factors offset the negative factors
Reviewed July 28, 2015

MANISH R. from India
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
good hotel to far from marine bay
view bathroom and reception
Reviewed July 28, 2015

ignacio V. from Ecuador
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Location ...Location
very good located hotel ..very near to shops restaurants and some of the main Singaporean attractions. .
Good .profesional and friendly staff ..good size for the room and very clean ..you can walk from here to see Orchard road, the river and the Marina Bay Hotel .
Reviewed July 27, 2015