Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 1283 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1283 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 6.7
Sort by

anna P.
Malaysia
August 15, 2015
It was actually a great stay!
Cleanliness, Services, Ambience

Linda L.
Singapore
August 10, 2015
Stoll acceptable
Friendly staffs, good location, acceptable rate
Overall was quite pleasant except that banging of other rooms could be heard very loud. Basin is too small to have a face wash. Water all spilled out.

Petria M.
Australia
August 10, 2015
Great time in Melbourne
Location, Staff and Room/Courtyard
I travelled to Melbourne with 2 girl friends and stayed at The Pensione Hotel on 7th & 8th August 2015. With all of us being smokers we each had our own courtyard room which were side by side. The set up was great because the staff arranged for the connecting back gates to be unlocked so we could move between each court yard. We found the staff very friendly and extremely helpful. I could not give the food/dining a rating because we didn't eat there however we will certainly be staying at the Pensione again.

Ka L.
Hong Kong
August 10, 2015
good location, good service
The staff are nice and it is located in central area which is close to tram stations and train station.

Leonie K.
Australia
August 09, 2015
Showers and HOT WATER
convenience, atmosphere and price
Everything was ok except the first 2 days we didn't have hot water for our showers.

Les H.
United States
August 07, 2015
Convenient, Good Value, Great Location
Location, Cost, Room size and layout
We were pleasantly surprised with our stay there. It's a very convenient location and with prices being high in Melbourne, it was a good deal. The room size was quite adequate. There was counter space to unpack your luggage, even for a small room. It was a short walk to many eateries and shopping places.

julie W.
Australia
August 04, 2015
A short stay
The position, for us on this occasion was the priority and this was a good position for our purpose. It was well appointed ie the fixtures and fittings were of a good quality and it was clean
Our stay was an overnight stay which is why we were able to cope with the downsides of this venue. Our room was extremely small, in reality it was smaller than our own room at home. The room was also extremely new which meant that we could see things such as the very fresh grouting that had not been correctly finished as yet and the fact that there was almost no room between the bed and the en-suite. Not always a pleasant location for the toilet ... so close to your head when trying to relax. In fact this room is not one that I could have spent any real time in. As it was, my husband and I were there on business and we were not required to spend a great deal of time in the room, so it was sufficient to our needs on that occasion however if we had been in Melbourne for recreational purposes and the accommodation was as cramped and awkward as this we would have moved to a different room or hotel. The staff were very pleasant and efficient and though we did not eat at this hotel the facilities in that area looked pleasant enough and I am sure would have been acceptable. I have stayed in other hotels in Melbourne that have a four star rating and honestly this is really only three stars simply because the space was too tight I'm sorry but that is my honest opinion.

Jasmine L.
Malaysia
July 31, 2015
Cosy Little Romantic Spot in the Heat of Melbourne
Strategic location, Ambiance, Value for Money
We absolutely love that this hotel has a strategic location in the city, as it is just few minutes walk from the Southern Cross Station and also the Spencer street Tram. The room was extremely cosy for us honeymooners, with the plus point that there is a laundry room for guests to clean and clear their luggage while on a long trip. Overall, we would definitely recommend this hotel to stay while in the beautiful city of Melbourne.

Vincent A.
Australia
July 30, 2015
Warm welcome in a cold town
Staff, location and comfy bed.
Very enjoyable winter stay. All staff were friendly and professional. Highly recommended hotel.

Marc V.
Australia
July 27, 2015
good value
location,price and friendly service
No problems at all, rooms are a bit small but are nicely furnished, everything looks new and clean. Only gripe is that the Free Wifi is very slow. Location is great,only a 5 minute walk from Southern Cross Station. Reception staff is very helpful and friendly.