Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 43 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 7.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for Money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 6.7
Sort by

Hildegard L. from South Africa
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Disappointing
Close to shopping and restaurants and decent size room
I was very disappointed with this hotel. It is a 5 star hotel but it is not as good as other, similarly priced 5 star hotels in Cape Town. I have also stayed in 3 and 4 star hotels in Cape Town better than this (and cheaper). Even though it is centrally located, it is in a very noise area with night clubs and restaurants across the street which is noisy until the early hours of the morning. Decor is very hotel chain like. Towels in the bathroom were worn and washed out. Turn down service is literally only turning down the linen (no slippers or lay out of bathrobe) and a bottle of water is provided, not even a mint, biscuit or chocolate. It has small self catering kitchen with a kettle, microwave, oven and toaster. However, except for two mugs, two teaspoons and 2 glasses, no crockery, glassware or cutlery is provided which makes the kitchen facilities useless. The tea and coffee facilities provided does not even include a rusk or biscuit which is usually standard with even 4 star hotels. Rubbish bin in the room was broken. The toilet had an unpleasant urine smell when I took occupation of the room and it remained for my whole stay. When ordering room service, they did not provide all the necessary cutlery for the meal and I had to reuse my soup spoon for dessert. Food was not bad but quite ordinary. Staff was friendly but the service wasn't great. I ordered toast at breakfast which never arrived and I eventually gave up waiting and when ordering tea, it arrived without milk and I had to prompt the waiter to bring me milk. In my opinion, the accommodation, food and the service are not 5 star quality but rather about 3 star.
Reviewed November 01, 2013

Jolene H. from South Africa
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Great City Hotel
The hotel is beautiful decorated, with friendly staff and secure parking
As a frequent visitor to Cape Town, I would never recommend anyone with families to stay in the city but it suited us for personal reasons to do so. The hotel is situated in a lively evening entertainment area so its very noisy and the base thumping of the music does penetrate the room, into the early hours of the morning. Also being 2 blocks from a Mosque we also heard the 5am call to prayer. However the hotel is beautifully decorated and the hotel staff are very friendly. Breakfast has the usual options and is best described as sufficient. The secure FREE parking was great as there was direct access to the hotel reception. The free Wi-Fi in the rooms also worked very well. A nice plus is also the in-house movie theatre were you can choose from a list of movies. The staff were working on have sport matches screened, so if they've got that sorted its another plus.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

CHERYLLANNE W. from South Africa
Business travelers
Stayed 5 nights in September 2013
Central location. Excellent staff. Lovely room
Staff , food, Internet
My stay at Pepperclub was absolutely superb. The hotel has excellent staff and the rooms are lovely. I enjoyed having a drink at the bar and the menu in the dining room was small, but very good. All in all a good experience. I requested a shuttle from the airport and this was confirmed the day before by email. This was a very nice touch. Taxis always readily available outside hotel, and very reasonably priced. I enjoyed the selection of newspapers and magazines that were replenished regularly. I would recommend this hotel anytime.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Cheryl H. from South Africa
Business travelers
Stayed one night in August 2013
Great hotel, comfortable and spacious rooms
WiFi, comfort & position
It was a great hotel. Hopefully will get back one day of more of a leisure stay and enjoy the attractions more.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Gayton M. from South Africa
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Absolutely relaxing
look and feel of the hotel, decor, most comfotable bed
Absolutely fantastic, my second stay was just as wonderful and relaxing as the first stay.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Keshen C. from South Africa
Business travelers
Stayed one night in July 2013
Great value for money hotel
Value for money, large bathroom, location.
Return visit to this hotel. Comfortable stay as usual. Location is good and good value for money rate.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Gayton M. from South Africa
Groups
Stayed one night in March 2013
relaxing / exciting / comfortable
fantastic food, gorgeous staff, fluffy beds
I wouldnt want to stay anywhere else when visiting Cape Town
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Gayton M. from South Africa
Groups
Stayed one night in March 2013
extremely comfortable, beautiful decor
room size, luxurious bathroom, fantastic food
Out of this world, it really is a luxury hotel, I would recommend any of my business colleages, close friends and family, even strangers, that hotel is absolutely gorgeous.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Werner W. from South Africa
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Expected more from a 5 star hotel
Good central location, nice rooms with fridge and coffee facilities.
My stay was good but had an incident of an item being removed from my room, please use the in room safe for valuables. I have had no feedback from the hotel regarding my lost item and it has been two months.
Reviewed April 09, 2013

Roman L. from Czech Republic
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Nice Hotel and good value
Location, reservation process, shuttle bus, friendly staff
Reviewed March 26, 2013