Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Permai Rainforest Resort

Pantai Damai Santubong, Jalan Sultan Tengah, Damai / Santubong, Kuching, Malaysia 93860

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.2

based on 250 reviews

194 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.0
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (250)
Sort by:
Chee L. Couples Malaysia, May 14, 2016
Could have been better
5
We loved the treehouse. It was a lovely stay. I liked the view and the settings of the treehouse. Waking up with the sea breeze definitely makes me feel a lot contended. However, I think it would be better if: 1. There will be staffs to help to transport our luggage with their kinda like Golf Cart vehicle. I believe we can request, but it would be best if it's an SOP services since the treehouse is not exactly very near to the receptionist. With the price that we pay, it should be made available. 2. No shampoo was provided, only bath soap. So please bring your own. 3. Cleanliness of the Feeding Tree cafe (for breakfast). The cups are all stained. But the food was lovely. It would be better if some fresh fruits were provided though. All in all, this place is lovely, but it can do better with the price they are charging. I will come back again if I'm returning to Kuching.
Report this review
Chong C. Couples Singapore, May 6, 2016
Par 1
1.3
Nothing to comment with this kind of service
Report this review
Juliana H. Families with older children Malaysia, May 2, 2016
Great Retreat especially to those who love natural
4.7
Surely will come back and introduce to friends
Report this review
Ting J. Families with young children Malaysia, May 1, 2016
Feel Relax
5.3
Staying at Cabin 2, luckily not far from the reception with elder and young kids, good place for relax and enjoy the greens, tree house the best view. breakfast was ok. staff was very friendly.
Report this review
Peter B. Couples United Kingdom, April 20, 2016
Two 50+ adventurers
5.3
We stayed in a cabin with a fan but air con would have made so much difference. We weren't looking for and didn't expect luxury but a degree of updating is definitely called for. Must say, we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of food both at breakfast and dinner. The marked trails were excellent but extremely demanding in the heat and humidity. The nearby beach was lovely to cool off.
Report this review
Andrew M. Families with young children China, April 7, 2016
Super holiday
6
I rented a cabin for 5 nights, and it had all that we needed. Comfortable beds, fresh linen and towels, and 24-hour hot water. The resort is inside the rainforest, just beside the sea, so at night it was a world away from our megacity apartment, with the only sounds being that of lapping water and insects and the odd animal. Expect to be woken by a chorus of birds, and greeted by Silver Leaf-monkeys and a variety of squirrels on the way to breakfast. Look for bumps on trees, and you might have a rare Maned Forest Lizard, a Flying Lemur or a Malay Eagle Owl. Breakfast was a delicious start to each day, and then there was a choice of any number of activities, such as hiking in the rainforest (look out for the resident Proboscis monkeys) , hiring a kayak and exploring the coastline, or just relaxing in the natural swimming pool. The restaurant offered a good choice of food for dinner. There is a small shop at Reception, and just a short walk up the road is a complex called Damai Central, with an ATM, a bar, a 7/11 and a food court offering a delicious choice of local food. The Sarawak Cultural Village (also at Damai) was well worth the visit too. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and will be back many times in the future. A very big thank you to Stan at reception for his friendliness and patience in answering all of my queries, and to Lyana in the shop for being so beautiful and sunny during our chats.
Report this review
John N. Couples Canada, March 24, 2016
Close to Nature
6
Loved the wildness of this place. All sound was from the forest and the sea. Man made noises were minimal. We saw monkeys, lemurs, squirrels, many birds, and even a snake. Nearby Sarawak Cultural Village was also fantastic. Food at the Feeding Place was good and reasonably priced. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Especially loved the fresh water pool.
Report this review
Linda B. Couples United Kingdom, March 9, 2016
Something for everyone

Staying in a tree house, the beautiful beach, the activities available
6.3
This was a gorgeous little adventure during a 10 day visit to Kuching. It's about an hour away from the city, in the jungle, overlooking the South China Sea. We stayed in a treehouse, it was basic, but comfortable and magical. We had a couple of issues as works men were fixing the roof of the one next door, noisy, saws and grinders, and we had gone there for relaxation after a very packed itinerary and before the long flight home. There were a couple of things didn't work in the room, but by the time we got back from a nature trail the chair was fixed, the aircon was sorted, and the workmen had been asked to stop. So we had a few hours relaxation and it was heaven. We paid extra for treehouse 10 to get the best sea view, but sadly the trees were very overgrown as it was low season and they hadn't been cut yet. I felt in the circumstances this should have been refunded but didn't push the point as didn't want to spoil the treat booked by my husband. Maybe they should consider a low and high season price, or make it clear the tress haven't been cut on check in and offer an alternative. Anyway, other than that we loved it, most of the staff were really nice, breakfast was very good, although our evening meal was one of the worst of our 4 week trip. We did tell them, but no alternative or apology was offered. There's enough activities to suit young groups, and a lovely relaxing outdoor pool and lush surroundings for couples just wanting to chill. The Sarawak Culture Village is a 10 minute walk away, there's also a 7 Eleven, and a small food court with cheap tasty food opposite the Cultural Village.
Report this review
Daria S. Solo travelers United States of America, March 4, 2016
Super.
6.7
Super
Report this review
Hiew B. Families with young children Malaysia, February 13, 2016
Good and nice natural resort

Tree house is natural, forest add to its value awith tatsy laksa meehoon.
7.3
Report this review
1 - 10 of 194 reviews Next page
Permai Rainforest Resort KuchingPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - Jungle PoolPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - BarbequePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - CabinPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - CabinPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - Jungle HallPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - CabinPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - Treehouse RoomPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - Treehouse RoomPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - Treehouse RoomPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - Cabin RoomPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - Treehouse RoomPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - BathroomPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - CafePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - CafePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - SurroundingsPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - PoolPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - ViewPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - ViewPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - SurroundingsPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - Pool


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B07