Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Permai Rainforest Resort

Pantai Damai Santubong, Jalan Sultan Tengah, Damai / Santubong, Kuching, Malaysia 93860

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.6

based on
60 reviews

178 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.3
Food/Dining
6.9
Couples (60)
Sort by:
Theresa Q. Couples United Kingdom, January 25, 2016
Adventure in Treehouse

Situated in forest. Friendly and helpful staff. Sea View
8
I must start by saying I would definitely return. The accommodation by its very nature is basic but comfortable - good size bedroom and bathroom. Balcony facing the sea, kettle etc. for making drinks. The aircon was a godsend as it was very hot whilst we were there although we did find that opening the windows so that the breeze blew through worked well. All windows have fly screens so don't have to worry about the mosquitoes. This is an eco resort and was very popular with youth groups as well as us more 'senior' travellers. At the time of our visit I have to be honest and say that the tree houses could do with some maintenance and upgrading. The linen and towels had seen better days (but they were clean) and the fridges need replacing. That said, it did look like work was being started on some of them. The staff were great in advising regarding trips and particularly helpful when a crisis back home meant assisting us with phone calls.
Report this review
Jose R. Couples Australia, January 6, 2016
Review of Permai Rainforest Resort - The Tree Hous

The location and the seaview.
5.7
We were disappointed with the Tree house mainly because they needed maintenance and were tired looking. The bed sheets were badly stained and old looking and the pillows were moldy. Part of the roof on the balcony was falling apart. The air conditioning was very effective and made it more comfortable and the showers were adequate.
Report this review
Shya W. Couples Malaysia, December 21, 2015
A night at the treehouse

The privacy of treehouse, the sunset and the sound of waves.
7.3
It was annoying at first when the key doesn't match the room. But after that was resolved, it was a bit magical, being away from the busy city and inside a jungle beside the beach. Serenity and tranquility. One of the best stay to rewind.
Report this review
Mandy H. Couples United Kingdom, October 3, 2015
permai rainforest lodge

Tree house/jungle location/beach location
8
Report this review
Michelle W. Couples Malaysia, September 13, 2015
Great stay in The natural

water heater, balcony, breakfast place
7.3
i stayed a night in tree house number8 with my friend. The tree house is much more better than my expectation, equipped with water heater and air-con. The balcony is authentic and has a view to the sea(may block by trees) . The room is quite clean, just some corners crawl with ants still okay for me. There is a breakfast on the morning, the feeding place is facing the sea, awesome view. Definitely will stay at there again if comes here again.
Report this review
Adam R. Couples United Kingdom, August 29, 2015
Lovely stay, helpful staff

The staff, the treehouse and the setting
8.3
Great stay, great treehouse accommodation. One night we saw the local wild monkeys at eye level playing in the trees. A lot of creepy crawlers around but it's in middle of a rainforest so you have to expect. Restaurant sells no alcohol so bring your own, v helpful staff organised bags taxis etc when needed with no issues Bit far out from Kuching, hour drive but taxis so cheap it's ok. So stay there for 2-3 nights not just one to take in the local area. Really close to national park and walks so great
Report this review
Robert M. Couples Australia, August 4, 2015
Treehouse comfort

Location, treehouse, excellent staff performance
8.3
From the moment we arrived we were treated very professionally, the treehouse exceeded our expectations, the restaurant's food was delicious, and ALL the staff were excellent.
Report this review
Meera C. Couples New Zealand, March 18, 2015
Location, views, perfect

Awesome location, cabin in the forest, lovely views
9
Lovely place - really enjoyed our stay. The cabin set in the forest is quite comfortable and the restaurant has awesome sea views. Loved the location, walks down to the beach awesome.
Report this review
Tay Y. Couples Malaysia, March 16, 2015
Best Vacation in Sarawak Forest Hotel

Outdoor sports game in nature, near beach and near cultural village
9.7
Staying in the Tree House with view to the beach blend with natural forest tree was fantastic. Surrounded by squirrels and monkeys nearby hotel, the hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. Convenient to walk to nearby Seafood Restaurant and Food Court. Price is reasonable too. Highly recommend for family vacation, lover's vacation and Newly Wedding Couples for Honeymoon. You will fall in love with this place.
Report this review
William M. Couples United States of America, February 23, 2015
Beautiful place to stay

Scenery, Privacy, Comfort
7.7
I always love staying at Permai, the treehouse rooms are amazing. Great views of the South China Sea, plenty of beach activities to do in and around the area, and private enough to still enjoy a romantic time with your better half.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 231 reviews Next page
Permai Rainforest Resort KuchingPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - Jungle PoolPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - BarbequePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - CabinPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - CabinPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - Jungle HallPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - CabinPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - Treehouse RoomPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - Treehouse RoomPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - Treehouse RoomPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - Cabin RoomPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - Treehouse RoomPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - BathroomPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - CafePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - CafePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - SurroundingsPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - PoolPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - ViewPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - ViewPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - TreehousePermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - SurroundingsPermai Rainforest Resort Kuching - Pool


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A03