or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Phuket Backpacker Hostel

165, Phuket Town, Phuket, Thailand 83000 (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : phuketbackpacker

Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Guest Room Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Interior Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Guest Room Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Interior Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Interior Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Interior Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Pub/Lounge Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Restaurant Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Coffee Shop/Cafe Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Bathroom Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Pub/Lounge Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Garden Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Interior Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Restaurant Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Interior Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Guest Room
Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Guest Room Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Guest Room Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Standard Air Conditioning Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Standard Air Conditioning Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Standard Air Conditioning Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Bathroom Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Bathroom Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Standard Air Conditioning Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Standard Air Conditioning Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Dormitory with fan, sharing 4 beds & sharing bathroom Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Dormitory with fan, sharing 4 beds & sharing bathroom Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Dormitory with fan, sharing 4 beds & sharing bathroom
Area: Phuket Town Number of Rooms: 20
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
51 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (51)
Sort by:
Halmi Y. Solo travelers Malaysia, January 22, 2013
average hostel

located near the market
7
its an average hostel, suitable if you just looking for a place to stop for a while before continuing your travelling. but very clean and neat.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: its located in walking distance to phuket old town. and buses to the beaches and other places stop right beside the hostel.
Matthew R. Couples United Kingdom, January 13, 2013
A great Backpackers, all you could need!

Reasonably prices, did everything they said they would but they need to keep the restaurant open later!
7.7
We enjoyed out time here enroute to Phi Phi (as most are I guess). We had a double room, close to the reception area. They helped us hire a bike to explore the Island and also had lots of DVDs and Games to play when looking to Kill time.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Head to the Sunset point, at Sunset! Is a lovely headland and often gets spectacular sunsets!
Terry B. Groups Australia, November 29, 2012
Good position for ferry travellers

Clean, great travel desk; 10 minutes to ferry; central position close to markets, shopping, some nightlife, transport to other Phuket locations.
8
Phuket Backpackers has an ideal position for people landing in Phuket and wishing to catch a ferry south. It is only a few km from the pier, has an excellent travel desk that manages to sell ferry tickets considerably cheaper than at the pier (go figure) and the price includes free van transfers to the pier. The central position within Phuket town is pretty good too – adjacent you have the fresh food markets, the songthaew (small public bus) stops for the beaches and most other Phuket island destinations, a 7/11 and several budget priced Muslim general and vegetarian restaurants. General shopping and some night-life venues are pretty close. I’ve stayed many times in Phuket Backpackers squeaky clean budget backpacking dorms but this is the first time I’ve used their double rooms. These used to be in a small garden setting behind the backpacker area but it seems recently they have purchased and refurbished a hotel about 3 places north on the street which has given them an extra 20 units minimum. Our room was clean, spacious, king bed pretty firm but not the killer some Thai beds can be. Quiet aircon and fan no hanging areas for clothes. Okay bathroom with good hot water, towels, toilet tissue but no soap. All rooms are set back from the street so miss the market set up noise that begins maybe 4am.
Hotel Feature Tip: -Your security door electronic disk works on the entrance to the backpacker section which is handy if you want to access the free computers, movies on the big screen or hot water/cooking facilities in the small kitchen. -The backpacker section has a new bar/reception area streetside – your taxi/shuttle will drop you here. If you are staying in the backpacker dorms it might pay to ask for one not close to the street to avoid the bar’s noise plus traffic and market set up stuff which begins before sunrise. -The market is a terrific source of fresh and cooked food. The cheaper section is across the road up a small lane. There are also some good budget clothing places up there. -There is a bar/restaurant playing cool live music within 10 minutes – turn right out of PB, walk 80m to big roundabout, turn left, walk another 80m or so.
Hedi B. Solo travelers Romania, November 14, 2012
Simple,but clean and comfortable rooms

Great social life in the lobby,bar
7.3
-helpfull friendly staffs -nice lobby area and bar with great chance to meet nice people -all the necessary servises provided -phuket town is not soo great,best thing in it was the hostel with it's people
Hotel Feature Tip: Great place to meet people if you are solo traveller
Caroline H. Groups France, October 8, 2012
Great hostel but poor location

Very clean, friendly staff, everything that you need
8.7
If you plan on going to the beach or partying at night, don't stay in Phucket town, but rather Patong... Better yet take a ferry to Koh Phi Phi. There is nothing to do in Phucket town, where the hostel is, and travelling to or from Patong at night can only be done with cabs, which will cost you.
Nindy N. Solo travelers Indonesia, September 21, 2012
great location & place to know other travelers

i like the location because easy to get Songteaw(which is cheaper than tuk tuk)
6.7
I love when i was staying here. I met travelers from other country and the food stalls near hostels sold a lot of cheap foods. but it is not comfortable when you bathing because the some bathroom they just close it with curtain from plastic. i recommend to walking around the streets near the hostels also eventhough i got lost after that i'm really thank to lady who gave me lift went back to hostel. in phuket town we can see chinatown thai version, tai hua museum(if i'm not wrong), some famous restaurants such as natural, suay, and blue elephant restaurant. near central local street food .
Nightlife Tip: i went to a bar near the chinatown here and it is not bad. actually, it was my first experience went to bar and drunk the most famous thai beer Chang..:p
Lei Z. Solo travelers China, June 5, 2012
Clean place to stay, good location in Phuket town

very close to bus station to all the beaches.
8.7
it was nice,but the dorm are seperated by plastic, some roovies of it are not cover, so you should take a earplug keep away from noise. it is a clean hostel, and there is a big tv and hundreds of movie disks in the public area.i had a very nice time there.
Hotel Feature Tip: The hostel very near to bus station to all beaches of phuket island.
Eugene C. Couples Singapore, May 24, 2012
Helpful simple hotel

helpful service and can communicate well in english
8
i only had a night stay there. although getting a room at a different place from the hostel location (jus one shop away, the room was simple(kinda dusty) and adequate for the night. Great help and advice from the staff there;) Very near to the market area...
Hiep L. Solo travelers Vietnam, May 15, 2012
Great location but small dorms

Great kitchen
8
good place at phuket town, near bus stop to beaches. thai airway is in front. ranong road is easy access to main attraction of phuket town. the dorm is clean but narrow and feel like a bit hot box. i have seen rooms are good, these rooms face to garden. good garden to relax. great kitchen. good enough for solo traveler. big tv and free internet. staff is good and friendly, some like phuket style no smile!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Buy on buses 25Baht to any beach. Ranong road is closed to Thai airway and market.
Ee S. Groups Singapore, April 16, 2012
Lovely hotel, great facilities

Convenient location, many facilities available for use
9.3
Conveniently located along Ranong Road, the hostel is easily accessible, and along Ranong Road you can also flag one of the numerous buses that head to the other beaches. The facilities provided in the hostel are lovely, from hot showers to a lovely lounge with computers for use and a TV with DVD player (and a huge selection of movies). There is a bar right under the hostel, and the staff are lovely and helpful. You can also book your tours/ packages through the hostel staff, and they do offer discounts. Rooms are very basic, and although the room doors cannot be locked from the outside, lockers are provided for storing your valuables. There may be a lack of power sockets in your room, so do check with the staff for power strips if you need to power up your gadgets. Limited space in the rooms, so make use of the common areas to lounge around (seats and beanbag chairs are available!)

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Our entrance signPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Guest RoomPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - InteriorPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Guest RoomPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - InteriorPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - InteriorPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - InteriorPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Pub/LoungePhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - RestaurantPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Coffee Shop/CafePhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - BathroomPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Pub/LoungePhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - GardenPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - InteriorPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - RestaurantPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - InteriorPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Guest RoomPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Guest RoomPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Guest RoomPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Standard Air ConditioningPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Standard Air ConditioningPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Standard Air ConditioningPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - BathroomPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - BathroomPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Standard Air ConditioningPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Standard Air ConditioningPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Dormitory with fan, sharing 4 beds & sharing bathroom Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Dormitory with fan, sharing 4 beds & sharing bathroom Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Dormitory with fan, sharing 4 beds & sharing bathroom Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Dormitory with Air Conditioning, sharing 4 beds & sharing bathroom Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Shared BathroomPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Shared BathroomPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Shared BathroomPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Shared Bathroom EntrancePhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Dormitory living AreaPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Dormitory living AreaPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Dormitory living AreaPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Shared KitchenPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - EntrancePhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - EntrancePhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - InteriorPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Books CornerPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - LobbyPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Our living roomPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Our living roomPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Our reading cornerPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - ReceptionPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - ReceptionPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Entrance DoorPhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Self Service Laundry Phuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Our cafePhuket Backpacker Hostel Phuket - Our cafe


AS-AGWEB-3C06