Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Pine Breeze Hotel

No.174,Quarter,Thittaw Street , Kalaw, Kalaw, Myanmar

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.5

based on 35 reviews

71 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.6
Location
7.9
Staff Performance
9.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.8
Food/Dining
7.8
Solo travelers (35)
Sort by:
Aurelie B. Solo travelers France, January 19, 2016
Good stay
5
It was a good stay at Pine Breeze Hotel - however the first room I had booked on the ground floor had a terrible smell that I had to change for the following night and as the ground floor was full, I had to pay for a first floor room that was slightly more expensive (probably due to the balcony). The second room was much better, no odd smell, comfy bed and blankets (it was cold in January!). The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was absolutely great with a lot of food (nice pancakes!) - it's worth mentioning that the wifi is only available in the lobby area and is slow with small outages too but that was fine!
Report this review
John U. Solo travelers United States of America, April 4, 2015
Nice rooms, good breakfast + rooftop view

Nice rooms, good breakfast + rooftop view
8.7
Its not going to be the cheapest accoms in Kalaw but its probably the best guest house I have stayed at (only one night) in Myanmar as the rooms are clean and in very good condition. There's also a pretty good breakfast available on the roof (nice view) + they took care of my onward van tickets to Inle Lake. Note that the location is on a hill - maybe a 15-20 minutes walk from the train station. Don't bother trying to walk it with alot of heavy luggage or wheeled but w/o heavy luggage its an easy walk. You can walk to the market area where the buses or rather vans depart for Inle Lake + where there are some restos for tourists to eat at. The Wi-Fi did not work when I arrived but then it worked later in the day - this is typical for Myanmar. To be honest, there's not much to see in Kalaw and at the end of the dry season, the scenery is not exactly spectacular. For me, it was a good place to spend a night to break up a trip from Yangon to Inle Lake.
Report this review
Tamra S. Solo travelers Canada, February 25, 2015
Overall not bad

Great breakfast, good view from the top of a hill, bit chilly on our little deck but nice to have one...
7.3
The hotel looks very nice, and the staff are wonderful! The guy who served us a big breakfast of perfectly cooked eggs, crepes, toast, fruit, fruit juice, and tea or coffee also took us to the Shwe Oo Pyin Caves and the bamboo Pagoda for I think $15 using the hotel car in the morning. The only problems we had is the pine attracts ants, so we had black ones in the bathroom and on the living room window sill, then in the morning we had a swarm of tiny red ones come out of the provided thermos, and run up my arm, I guess they were drinking the water that was still in the spout from when we had hot water for tea and coffee the night before. The staff brought bug spray and asked if we'd like them to spray but we didn't want to breath it in while we were packing. They also gave us a wifi password but didn't inform us that it only works in the lobby so I wasted a few hours trying to get online, and failing after a brief connection. For some reason they turn off the elevator without telling you so take the stairs. We did ask for help with our bags so we didn't have to carry them down 3 flights of stairs the next morning.
Report this review
Keith L. Solo travelers United Kingdom, February 5, 2015
Above the rest

location, views, rooms
8.7
Nice views over Kalaw from this hotel, with good rooms, everything working except the wifi. Hot showers. Friendly staff. An elevator. What more do you want? Breakfast OK, with morning views over the town.
Report this review
Wai M. Solo travelers China, January 1, 2015
Wonderful place, wonderful staff

Clean room, heater available, great service
8.3
It was totally remarkable
Report this review
Heather H. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 18, 2014
Great hotel

Staff, room, views.
10
Really enjoyed staying here. Staff were friendly, helpful and spoke very good English. Lovely room with balcony. It was not cold in the room at night. Hot water worked. Breakfast was very nice and served up top with great views. Wi fi didn't work in the room but that's just Myanmar at the moment. Walk up the hill to hotel was fine for me. Happy paying $35 for the room.
Report this review
Patrick F. Solo travelers Canada, December 4, 2014
Pine Breeze Hotel

View, staff
7.7
Be aware the hotel is about an 800 metre hike from main road and uphill if you are dragging bags. However view from breakfast area spectacular in am. Staff great, breakfast good, but pretty basic accommodation.
Report this review
Federica G. Solo travelers Italy, August 19, 2014
perfect hotel

staff, location very quiet, services, breakfast
9.7
very pleasant, services perfectly working, i would recommend it and surely be back again, breakfast incredible good with a nice view of the valley from the top floor restaurant.
Report this review
Iris A. Solo travelers Germany, February 15, 2014
Good quality for the money

Location, cleanliness,
7.7
I enjoyed my stay. The room was quite big and clean, the hotel staff attentive and helpful.However - as with most hotels in Myanmar - the bathroom was the weak point. The whole floor gets wet when showering, ventilation is not very strong, so it gets humit and smelly.
Report this review
Sandra B. Solo travelers Australia, February 9, 2014
Hilltop views

Hilltop and town views from balcony, quiet location, breakfast room
8.7
This hotel is up a hill a few hundred metres out of the central town area and has wonderful views across the township and hills from the room balconies and from the top floor breakfast room. It is this location and the views - especially in the early morning when it is still misty - that made this hotel such a good place to stay in Kalaw. The room amenities otherwise are of a reasonable standard and the staff were very helpful with arranging onward travel and providing advice on walking around the town and the different food options available.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 107 reviews Next page
Pine Breeze Hotel KalawPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - Guest RoomPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - Superior with balconyPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - Guest RoomPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - Guest RoomPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - BathroomPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - BathroomPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - LobbyPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - RestaurantPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - View to downtownPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - Sunrise view from BreakfastPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - The best Sunrise View From DiningPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - Mountain and Panorama ViewPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - LobbyPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - ExteriorPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - ViewPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - ExteriorPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - RestaurantPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - Guest RoomPine Breeze Hotel Kalaw - Guest Room


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A02