Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 80 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 8.3
Sort by

Kwong T.
Singapore
June 24, 2013
Great stay, breakfast was fabulous
Deign, room, convenience

Yang W.
China
April 15, 2013
Traditional luxury hotel in the heart of the city
friendly staff, central location, international
Hotel room is spacious considerting its central location. Lots of western eateries close to the hotel. Great Bathroom accessories. The hotel staff are all very friendly. The only thing I am concerned with this place is that the lobby is always crowded and the front door parking seems massy.

William P.
United States
December 14, 2012
Good location.
Good location, good staff service
Not up to Ritz Carlton standards in my opinion. Some rough edges.....smelly toilet, mold in shower. Staff service great. Good prices at times on Agoda. Expensive but good eating facilities outside of hotel.

Li A.
Singapore
September 05, 2012
Love this place!
Just about everything
Great location to get to the office. Service was impeccable with a good standard of English. Room was beautiful, and the food was good too. It is everything you expect from a Ritz Carlton.

TENG K.
Singapore
November 13, 2011
lovely hotel and service with a smile
best features of the hotel
I thought thru your company we will get cheaper price, but we found out that thru your company we have to pay more expensive than booked directly to the hotel.

Rose K.
Philippines
November 03, 2011
Good location, superb service!
location , everybody speaks English well
Ive travelled the world and has stayed at different types of hotels but the Portman has by far the most friendly, attentive and helpful staff ever. My husband and I took the red eye flight from Singapore to Shanghai so we were there by 7am. Not only did they allow us early check in (free of charge), we were also upgraded!!! It was fanstastic!

Masaru K.
Japan
September 28, 2011
Good location and nice view from room.
Neat room and service with smile
During our stay, staffs are always in front of elevator hall at the entrance and salute with smile. In the hotel, there is jim and we enjoyed massage. When taking taxi , always a man is taking care customers. we appreciated it.

chong M.
Hong Kong
July 16, 2011
good commercial centre
amenities of guest room
after customers checking in, the front desk should get someone to help them to take the luggages to guest rooms, even those are hand carries.

Nicholas C.
United Kingdom
May 20, 2011
What's gone wrong?
Location, rooms, check-in, concierge
5 star hotels in China are notoriously subject to staff fluctuations (train them and they leave) with the result that the service often bears no relation to the global brand image. The Portman RC must be going through a bad patch; service was more than usually incoherent and the friendly staff seemed at times flummoxed by the RC systems. Sorting out minor administrative issues became a challenge. Room service food poor and at the prices they charge, they must try harder.

Alison Q.
Australia
April 27, 2011
Good location with interesting people watching
Location and service
Perfectly functional for business...a tad dull perhaps.