Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Porto Bay Rio Internacional

Avenida Atlântica,1500, Copacabana, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil 22020-020 (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Golden Tulip Rio Internacional Hotel
Area: Copacabana Number of Rooms: 117

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type




based on
108 reviews

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (108)
Sort by:
Bryndon B. Solo travelers United States of America, November 2, 2009
Average Hotel Experience

Clean. My room had a deck overlooking the ocean - very nice.
Good 3 star hotel in my opinion. Nothing outstanding in a good or bad way.
Report this review
Michael M. Couples Canada, October 27, 2009
Great Hotel

The view and location that is right on Copacabana beach and 1 block from the famous Copacabana Palace. The location can only be topped by the great service from the hotel staff. The Porto Bay prides itself on its service and the staff are courteous, helpful, friendly and go out of their way for the guests, they also try their very hard to communicate in English which is a little tough for some, but the effort is well appreciated.
We stayed at the Porto Bay Rio International hotel on 2 separate occasions on our trip to Brazil. The first time, when we arrived our room was not ready. The staff was very nice and courteous and offered the hotel facilities so that we could get changed. Our luggage did not make it with us and the hotel staff was keen at ensuring they follow up and kept us posted on its ETA. I suggest you stay in the balcony (deluxe/suite) rooms are amazing right on beautiful Copacabana Beach. The staff is very helpful in pointing out local hotspots and points of interest. If you want to go on tours in RIO, the hotel offers (hotel priced) tours and has private cars to take you anywhere throughout the city. The hotel is very secure with 2 guards at the front at all times. The second time we stayed, we stayed in another room that was little older than the first but still very nice. The cleaning service was not as good the second time, where the maid didnt really clean as much as she tidied up.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Your right on Copacabana and 1 block from the world famous Copacabana Palace hotel.
Report this review
Maritza B. Couples Canada, October 23, 2009
Porto Bay - Rio De Janeiro

All rooms have ocean views. The rooms are very modern and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and friendly.
Porto Bay is a very nice hotel in the Copacabana area of Rio as it is modern, the beds are comfortable and the rooms are kept clean. The negatives of the hotel is that the area can be dangerous at night, and that many items that I am used to as being free, must be paid for, and the amount to pay for these items, I feel that the hotel is taking advantage of the customers.
Restaurant Tip: The street along the south side of the hotel, close to the end of the block going west, is the only restaurant, and the food is great at a decent price.
Report this review
Charles W. Couples United States of America, October 11, 2009
Spectacular View from the room

Breath taking view from deluxe corner room, very friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast buffet
We had a wonderful stay, starting with campaign greeting during checkin. We had the corner room deluxe with King size bed. It has a spectacular 90 degree sweeping view of Copacabana beach, floor to ceiling windows that curve around. Room and hotel very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Elevators are small, but typical for South America. Breakfast buffet had large variety of breads, cheeses, meats, fruits and some hot foods. Would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel if you want to stay on the beach front.
Restaurant Tip: Very good Brazilian Steak Grill (with Sushi) just around the corner
Report this review
Sunil S. Couples United States of America, September 30, 2009
Porto Bay Rio Paradise

We were upgraded to a beach view of the copacabana beach which was excellent! Hotel staff were very helpful, polite and courteous. Amenities were excellent and we felt very secured during our stay.
Porto bay rio was one of the best hotels that i stayed. We were upgraded to a beach view once we checked in the hotel. Hotel staff were very helpful in giving recommendations about things to do in rio and gave us tips on what tos and not tos. Hotel is clean and security of the hotel was excellent. If i will come back to rio, i will definitely stay again at porto bay rio. And location of the hotel was excellent.
Report this review
Greg G. Couples United States of America, September 20, 2009
well worth it!

Very well located. Very helpful staff, you can use for free their beach chairs and towels on Copacabana beach. The room was very modern and had a side view of the beach and a balcony. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet. We do recommend it.
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is a very good value for money with all the features it offers: beach chairs and towels, a nice roof top swimming pool and fitness, very good breakfast buffet and very comfortable KING size bed. A good address in Copacabana.
Hotel Feature Tip: You can use for free their beach chairs and towels on Copacabana beach.
Report this review
Mitkumar P. Couples India, August 21, 2009
Porto Bay Rio International

Clean, modern rooms with friendly staff Good view Excellent breakfast and roof top pool/restaurant
Clean, modern rooms with friendly staff Good view Excellent breakfast and roof top pool/restaurant
Report this review
Fabio A. Couples Brazil, August 10, 2009
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Pool area, room. View from the room, champagne when entering the hotel.
Report this review
Justyna L. Solo travelers Poland, May 24, 2009
Great Hotel

location, location, location!!! Great breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, view from the 20 floor pool and bar amazing
Report this review
Blake Q. Couples United States of America, March 12, 2009
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Location. Friendly Staff
We stayed about 5 nights at the Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro. It was very nice, our tour company reserved a room with 2 twin beds and the hotel staff was very accommodating about getting us a room with a Queen bed in it. We gave up a balcony, but had a great window view overlooking the beach. Location was good, and the hotel morning buffet was excellent.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.