Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 347 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.9
  • Food/Dining 9.1

Bawenang P.
Indonesia
February 11, 2013
A nice and comfortable little place for its price
Nice and very helpful owner, cozy, great breakfast.
i've just got back home from my honeymoon with the missus at this home stay. i've got a mixed feelings about the place, but mostly good though. now for the cons first: 1. the location. it's very far from the airport, the beach, and the more lively cities like denpasar and kuta. so for domestic tourists or people who want to see things, buy stuffs, or want to do water sports, i don't recommend this place. but if you just want to relax, walking the not-so-crowded road, seeing the verdant scenery, this is the place. 2. the room. although very-very worth the price, there are some issues with it. the water can only go from 2 states, very hot and cool. there is a crack in the bath tub, and the bath tub itself is a little clogged up. no place to hang anything in the bath room. next one is the pros: 1. the people. the home stay is family-run. and they were very nice, friendly, and helpful. the father even escorted me and my wife to a kecak dance show himself. 2. the room. i didn't expect to get 2 double beds in my room with that kind of money. yet, i did. the room is cozy and quite nice. except for the bath room, the room itself is very-very worth the money. 3. the food. never had anything besides breakfasts in the home stay. but they were tasty and fulfilling. you can order fried rice or fried noodle for breakfast the night before. and i did. it's probably one of the tastiest fried rice i've eaten. the poached eggs were rather overcooked though.

HUI L.
Taiwan
February 06, 2013
Five star breakfast
Price and Breakfast
a little far away from shopping area. but the breakfast is amazing. the facilities are really basic with so cheap price. no air condition will be a problem to those who want cool sleeping.

Noah S.
United States
February 01, 2013
Biggest dump, friendliest people
Super friendly, family-run motel
It pains me to write this review, as the family that runs Praety Home Stay are amongst the friendliest people I have ever met. As someone who did "home stays" in Argentina, Japan, and Korea, I know a thing or two about what constitutes a good home stay family and what doesn't. Upon check-in at Praety Home Stay, I was welcomed with the sort of warmth that one might expect from a family who has just received the much-anticipated exchange student into their home for the next year. Unfortunately, this is where the positivity ended. My room, which was situated upstairs, facing the alley and above the building's entrance, was an absolute dump. I do not speak in hyperbole when I say that I've seen cleaner and more hygienic accommodation in homeless tents and subway platform boxes than what I found awaiting me in my room. Let's see: *Smashed, dead, massive cockroach on the floor? Check. *About 40 dead flies in the bathroom sink? Check. *Cobwebs (and a few active webs, spiders included) all over the place? Check. *3-4 geckos running up and down the wall, chirping all night? Check. *Pubic hairs all over the moldy bathtub? Check. *Stains on my sheets? Check. *No AC in a tropical climate? Check. *No hot water for the shower? Check. *A blackout soon after arrival that killed all the electricity on the premises? Check. *Ants crawling all over the place and into my luggage? Check. *Entrance light that didn't work (which mean ascending and descending stairs in pitch black darkness at night)? Check. *Rusty nail sticking out of a table that ripped my calf open as I walked by, thus necessitating a trip to the ER for a Tetanus immunoglobulin injection? Check. I could go probably go on and on with my checklist, but I think my brain has repressed the experience to avoid further emotional scarring. In short, unless you tickle in extreme masochistic pleasures, avoid Praety Home Stay like the plague....because you may very well end up with The Plague if you stay here.

Sangeetha G.
India
January 27, 2013
convenient place near the airport
friendly, helpful staff, location near airport
nice place: near the airport. very small rooms (just larger than the queensize bed), but clean/new rooms. very new hotel. we just stayed overnight as we had an early morning flight to catch. the pool looked very clean, but it is right in front of every room: not sure if everyone would be comfortable using it. staff are all young people. helpful, got us a cab for the early morning flight. but were not able to help us when we asked if they could cancel the breakfast booking we had made (which was not of use).

Dmitriy Y.
Russia
January 15, 2013
Home hotel, nice breakfast
Location, breakfast
Small home hotel (4-6 rooms only) with very friendly family stuf, good locations and breakfast. Internet is available in all the rooms. There is no restaurant but good restaurant is near the hotel. Rooms are very basic (no TV, fan instead of AC).

Maija A.
Latvia
January 15, 2013
Relaxing stay in busy Ubud town
Away of busy streets but still close to everything, very friendly family - feeling like at home
Booked online for 3 nights based on reviews, but in the end stayed for 5. Enjoyed my stay in Praety a lot. Simple, but comfortable rooms with hot shower, good fan, lots of space, little garden ( u can quietly watch family ceremonies too) and the best breakfast ever ( fresh fruit salad, balinese kopi and yummy banana pancake with coconut was my favourite ).

Jessica G.
Netherlands
January 05, 2013
Really nice family home stay!
Quiet, but close enough to city center, real bali family life
It was a real nice experience to be at such a lovely place at a really friendly family. The home looks like a little temple itself and the rooms are entered on a little courtyard. Except for some little animals in the room (lizards and a cockroach due to the open wooden windows) it was perfect. You have a mosquito net though to keep the mosquito's out. I would say, definitely a good experience.

Laura G.
United States
December 29, 2012
Lovely family, beautiful home, best breakfast!
Breakfast
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this accommodation. The family who run the accommodation are the sweetest family you have ever met and truly made our stay in Ubud thoroughly enjoyable. We had the upstairs level room which included our own private patio where our breakfast was bought to us every morning. There was a beautiful family temple directly next to our room as well. It is truly a beautiful setting. The breakfast was truly the best breakfast I have ever had!

Chun P.
Malaysia
December 18, 2012
lovely hotel
good value for money
This place is nestled amongst an authentic Ubud neighbourhood, with an full of orchids atrium from which the downstairs rooms are accessed. Rooms are very clean with a big bed incl "dutch wife" were we had the most comfortable sleep. Praety is run by a charming family who could`t have been more helpfull. You can rent bicycles, scooters and organize airport pick up from there as well. Praety is not far from places of interest and if you like walking all can be reached by foot. Riding a bicycle and exploreing the rice fields was great fun. There is a rooster next door but to us that just added to the charm ( he only crows on sunrise). We stayed in a downstairs room which was nice, breakfast was yum, the fruit salad looked like a work of art. Loved it, Thank you guys

Theodore K.
United States
December 15, 2012
Friendliest place in Ubud
Walking distance to main street in Ubud, very friendly and helpful family, breakfast
I stayed here for about a week in October, 2012, and I am the first to admit, I am a bit biased about this place. Such friendly people run the home stay and they make you feel very welcome. Unfortunately, I had an accident while I was walking in Ubud (dangerous sidewalks there). Well, when they saw me bleeding, they immediately offered to take me to the clinic, waited for me to get stitched up, then took me back to the guesthouse. They were some of the kindest people I have met in my travels. Also, as others have mentioned, the breakfast is amazing. I loved the layout of the place with the central courtyard and all of the flowers and plants. I had the single room with a fan and I was very comfortable there.