or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel

20 Maude Street, Corner of Rivonia Road, , Sandton, Johannesburg, South Africa 2146 (Show on map)

Book now!

Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Bull Run Restaurant Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Crown Court Lounge Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Lord’s Bar Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Lord’s Bar Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Cambridge Conference Room Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Oxford Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Reception Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Balalaika Pool Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Colony Restaurant Terrace Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Lobby Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Club Room Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Oxford Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - The Oval Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Balalaika Pool Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Gardens Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Banqueting Pre-assembly
Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Business Center Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Swimming Pool Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Lobby
Area: Sandton Number of Rooms: 330
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
176 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (176)
Sort by:
Hezlee E. Business travelers Malaysia, June 26, 2014
5 star hotel with 3 star price

Great location, Great Staff and Great Room
9.3
Melissa P. Couples South Africa, May 18, 2014
Great. So Central!

Centrally located, Restaurant is wonderful, helpful staff
7.7
Lewis D. Business travelers Kenya, May 10, 2014
Good except ot the last minute embarrassment

Promity to Sandton City
7.7
We had a bad experience whilst having our breakfast in the dining room the waitress came up to us and asked for our room number she then went on to say in the presence of other diners that we had only booked the room for one person and one breakfast which i denied and said that is not true then why did you give me room for two people later another person from reservations came and confronted us again demanding that we we pay the surplus amount all this in the restaurant in the presence of people i went up to the reception and they too confirmed it was for only one person which i denied i told them to check their records which they did and this confirmed room for two and breakfast for two people a very embarassing situation I demand a written apology from either you their staff should have checked before this embarassing situation arose I do not think i will book with you again!
Hanne M. Families with older children Denmark, April 30, 2014
This time we had a very good experience

Garden, Pool and location
7
Hotel is perfectly situated in walking distance to Nelson Mandela Square and Sandton City Mall.
Hanne M. Business travelers Denmark, April 29, 2014
Great if one compares with the price.

Price in that area, nice bar and restaurants on site, closet to Sandton City Mall
7.7
It was good. Nice to have a hotel that is not to expensive close to Nelson Mandela Square and Sandton City Mall. 1-2 minutes on foot then you are in the middle of the Square.
Ramesh C. Families with older children Australia, April 28, 2014
Cosy little boutique hotel in a nice location

Has all the bells and whistles of any 4+ star hotel. Tucked away in a nice corner. Great staff
8
Great. We were well looked after. Good spread for breakfast. Friendly staff, always willing to help.
Carole L. Couples South Africa, April 28, 2014
Very comfortable

location location location
8
Comfortable
Ramesh C. Families with older children Australia, April 23, 2014
We had a great stay in Protea Balalaika

Great breakfast, friendly staff, convenient location
8
Our stay was very pleasant. Enjoyed it thoroughly.
John G. Couples Australia, March 28, 2014
Safe, Comfortable and good value for money

The Bull run restaurant, Location in the safer area of Sandton, Good access to other restaurants and facilities, train etc
8.3
As first time visitors to Jo'burg and having read all of the horror stories we needed a place to stay that was secure, comfortable and close to transport, but still value for money. The Protea Balalaika delivered on every count. We really enjoyed our stay there and in fact attempted to stay longer, but they were booked solid. A very affordable place to stay that we would definitely stay at again. Don't forget to go to the Bull Run Restaurant !! I am fussy about my steak and it was excellent. I believe that they should offer an airport transfer service though, especially since we arrived after dark.
Minya L. Business travelers United Kingdom, March 17, 2014
Comfortable and stress free stay

Location breakfast staff
8.3
Satisfactory and comfortable stay. Ideally located with attentative staff. However 500MB wifi restriction low

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Protea Balalaika Sandton Hotel JohannesburgProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Bull Run RestaurantProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Crown Court LoungeProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Lord’s BarProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Lord’s BarProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Cambridge Conference RoomProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - OxfordProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - ReceptionProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Balalaika PoolProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Colony Restaurant TerraceProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - LobbyProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Club RoomProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - OxfordProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - The OvalProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Balalaika PoolProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - GardensProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Banqueting Pre-assemblyProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Business CenterProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Swimming PoolProtea Balalaika Sandton Hotel Johannesburg - Lobby


AS-AGWEB-3A02