Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton

20 Maude Street, Sandton, Johannesburg, South Africa 2146 (Show on map)

Book now!

Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Swimming Pool Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Pub/Lounge Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Entrance Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Recreational Facilities Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Restaurant Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Restaurant Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Garden Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Business Center Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Recreational Facilities Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Coffee Shop/Cafe Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Lobby Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Garden Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Lobby Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Meeting Room Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Meeting Room Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Balcony/Terrace
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Interior Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Meeting Room Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Meeting Room Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Swimming Pool Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Restaurant Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Garden Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Restaurant Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Swimming Pool Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Swimming Pool Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Meeting Room
Area: Sandton Number of Rooms: 330
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
182 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (182)
Sort by:
Richard H. Couples United States of America, September 11, 2014
Great location for visiting joburg

Hotel within walking distance of convention center and Mandela Center. Very nice interior gardens, pool and dining rooms.
8
Overall we enjoyed our stay. Staff were helpful and friendly altho housekeeping staff response to requests were slow. Major criticism was poor lighting and hard to locate electrical switches. The hairdryer was hard wired to the desk outlet of all places! You can only use it while sitting at the desk. At least there was a mirror over our desk. Our friends' room had no mirror. The breakfast buffet was very good with lots of choices and great fruit. Negative was the coffee which tasted like instant.
John M. Couples Zimbabwe, August 17, 2014
3 day stay at protea balailaika

a) staff friendliness and assistance b) comfortable room c) shuttle service
8.3
It was great, I will be back.
Milesh M. Couples South Africa, August 4, 2014
Absolutley Amazing

Friendly, Romantic, Perfectly Suituated
10
Absolutely Amazing
Lidwine C. Business travelers France, July 27, 2014
food at bullrun excellent and much affordable

food at bullrun, in between sessions food at conference, quality of mattress
6.7
Fine
Hezlee E. Business travelers Malaysia, June 26, 2014
5 star hotel with 3 star price

Great location, Great Staff and Great Room
9.3
Melissa P. Couples South Africa, May 18, 2014
Great. So Central!

Centrally located, Restaurant is wonderful, helpful staff
7.7
Lewis D. Business travelers Kenya, May 10, 2014
Good except ot the last minute embarrassment

Promity to Sandton City
7.7
We had a bad experience whilst having our breakfast in the dining room the waitress came up to us and asked for our room number she then went on to say in the presence of other diners that we had only booked the room for one person and one breakfast which i denied and said that is not true then why did you give me room for two people later another person from reservations came and confronted us again demanding that we we pay the surplus amount all this in the restaurant in the presence of people i went up to the reception and they too confirmed it was for only one person which i denied i told them to check their records which they did and this confirmed room for two and breakfast for two people a very embarassing situation I demand a written apology from either you their staff should have checked before this embarassing situation arose I do not think i will book with you again!
Hanne M. Families with older children Denmark, April 30, 2014
This time we had a very good experience

Garden, Pool and location
7
Hotel is perfectly situated in walking distance to Nelson Mandela Square and Sandton City Mall.
Hanne M. Business travelers Denmark, April 29, 2014
Great if one compares with the price.

Price in that area, nice bar and restaurants on site, closet to Sandton City Mall
7.7
It was good. Nice to have a hotel that is not to expensive close to Nelson Mandela Square and Sandton City Mall. 1-2 minutes on foot then you are in the middle of the Square.
Ramesh C. Families with older children Australia, April 28, 2014
Cosy little boutique hotel in a nice location

Has all the bells and whistles of any 4+ star hotel. Tucked away in a nice corner. Great staff
8
Great. We were well looked after. Good spread for breakfast. Friendly staff, always willing to help.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton JohannesburgProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Swimming PoolProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Pub/LoungeProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - EntranceProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Recreational FacilitiesProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - RestaurantProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - RestaurantProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - GardenProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Business CenterProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Recreational FacilitiesProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Coffee Shop/CafeProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - LobbyProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - GardenProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - LobbyProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Meeting RoomProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Meeting RoomProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Balcony/TerraceProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - InteriorProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Meeting RoomProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Meeting RoomProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Swimming PoolProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - RestaurantProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - GardenProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - RestaurantProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Swimming PoolProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Swimming PoolProtea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg - Meeting Room


AS-AGWEB-3C07