Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge

Portswood Road, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town, South Africa 8001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Restaurant Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Bar Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - The Deck Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Relax SPA Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Universal Bathroom Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Main Hotel Building with Cape Town Stadium in the background Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Universal Bathroom Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Main Hotel Building and Historical Conference Building Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Historical Building Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Exterior Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Fitness Room Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Reception Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Executive Lounge Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Reception Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Reception Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Recreational Facilities
Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Meeting Room Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Meeting Room Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Restaurant Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Buffet Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Lobby Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Restaurant Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Meeting Room Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Lobby Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Fitness Room Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Meeting Room Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Pub/Lounge Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Meeting Room
Area: V & A Waterfront Number of Rooms: 191
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

from 65 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
9.2
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (65)
Sort by:
Anne R. Couples United States of America, May 1, 2014
Clean and quiet hotel close to the action

Clean, comofortable bed, black out drapes
9.3
I slept really well here despite flying 30 hrs and a big time change from the U.S. I credit this to the black out drapes, clean room, comfortable bed, and clean bedding. We upgraded to an executive size room and it was very nice, modern and clean. It looked like it was recently remodeled. The bathroom was airy and not stuffy or stinky like most hotel rooms. It was a 5 minute walk to the waterfront action/restaurants. The only negatives I would say is that is a large complex combined with a business school so we always got turned around and usually had a bit of walking to do before we could find our room. Also, there are some very loud scary sounding seagulls in the area. I was worried about security as the exterior doors weren't locked and open to the public but they probably had security cameras and I didn't see any suspicious people. Make sure you push/pull your room door shut as well- ours did not close completely on it's own. We had a courtyard/interior room and I felt the price was very reasonable.
Report this review
Louie V. Families with young children South Africa, April 30, 2014
Very nice but to small for a family

Cleaness
6.7
Nice and a expriences friendlynes and cleannigess ok
Report this review
Mwembe S. Couples Zambia, March 30, 2014
Great Stay

Value for money; Very good location (at the Waterfront); and Friendly Staff
8.7
Everything about the hotel is excellent. Would highly recommend it.
Report this review
Dean R. Solo travelers United States of America, December 3, 2013
Gem of a hotel in a perfect location

Located right on the V&A waterfront; step out to the waterfront restaurants and shops, close to the wharfs for cruising, hop-on-hop trolly off right at the door
9.7
Staff was most professional and friendly; housekeeping was impeccable. A portion is in an old prison, so the prison corridors with guard walks are still there; but very much cleaned and attractive. Rooms are recently renovated (larger than the cells must have been !). Front door of the hotel faces away from the waterfront, but thru the back of the hotel you can pop down some stairs right to the action on the waterfront: Hop-on-hop-off trolly to anywhere in the city, the aquarium, sailing and diving excursions, exclusive shopping as well as more local shops in the artisan centers; excellent and wide variety of restaurants. Truly a perfect location for enjoying the city as well as stepping off to go outside the city, Cape Point (southernmost point), wine country, penguin colony, robbins island (where Mandela was imprisoned for 18 years) and many others.
Report this review
Sim S. Families with young children Singapore, November 29, 2013
Close to V&A waterfront

Walking distance to V&A waterfront shopping. Interesting Hotel to explore as it use to be a prison.Coin operated washing machines makes laundry very affordable and convenient in the hotel itself.
8.7
Room size is abit small but comfortable. Reception are friendly and efficient.
Report this review
Carol D. Solo travelers United States of America, November 20, 2013
Very comfortable, pleasant, short vacation

large room, close to V & A Waterfront, very pleasant staff
9
My granddaughter and I had a pleasant, comfortable stay at this hotel which was a very convenient walk to shopping, tours and dining.
Report this review
Misha A. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 5, 2013
Good, next to teh V&A marinaa

Location
8
My stay was good. as a member of Clipper race i wanted to SLEEP:-)
Report this review
Erica N. Groups Philippines, November 3, 2013
big room,centrally located

big new room, centrally located, good
7.7
spacious and new rooms, and very good location (near waterfront), only problem was the internet wasnt working in our room (had to go to the lounge) and our sink was clogged (but fixed after).
Report this review
Aaron H. Groups United States of America, October 28, 2013
Clean, modern and convenient hotel!

Room design, amenities, location.
9.7
Report this review
Stewart B. Couples Australia, September 27, 2013
A good hotel for isitiing the Waterfront

location cleanliness and price
7.7
This was my second stay at this hotel and would certainly stay there again
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - ExteriorProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - RestaurantProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - BarProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - The DeckProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Relax SPAProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Universal BathroomProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Main Hotel Building with Cape Town Stadium in the backgroundProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Universal BathroomProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Main Hotel Building and Historical Conference BuildingProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Historical BuildingProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - ExteriorProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Fitness RoomProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - ReceptionProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Executive LoungeProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - ReceptionProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - ReceptionProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Recreational FacilitiesProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Meeting RoomProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Meeting RoomProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - RestaurantProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - BuffetProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - LobbyProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - RestaurantProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Meeting RoomProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - LobbyProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Fitness RoomProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Meeting RoomProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Pub/LoungeProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Meeting RoomProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - RestaurantProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Nearby AttractionProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - ExteriorProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Meeting RoomProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - RestaurantProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Recreational FacilitiesProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Lobby


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C04