Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge

Portswood Road, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town, South Africa 8001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Exhibition Hall Foyer Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Exhibition Hall Foyer Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Restaurant Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Bar Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - The Deck Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Transit Lounge Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Relax SPA Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Universal Bathroom Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Main Hotel Building with Cape Town Stadium in the background Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Universal Bathroom Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Main Hotel Building and Historical Conference Building Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Historical Building Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Exterior Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Fitness Room Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Reception Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Executive Lounge
Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Reception
Area: V & A Waterfront Number of Rooms: 191
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

from 65 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
9.2
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (65)
Sort by:
David F. Couples South Africa, March 20, 2015
Reasonable stay over establishment.

Location. Ease of access.
7.7
Gerhard V. Business travelers South Africa, February 16, 2015
Comfortable

Location service cleanliness
8.3
Perfectly comfortable
Frode M. Business travelers Norway, January 23, 2015
5 nights

location, parking,service
7.3
Derek G. Couples United Kingdom, January 9, 2015
Protea Breakwater

Location, price, room facilities
7.3
Very good hotel. Within safe walking distance from the V&A Waterfront and with excellent room facilities.
Tebello M. Couples South Africa, January 2, 2015
Breakwater review

Only the location
5.3
Disappointment. On arrival, we were checked into a deluxe room instead of the booked executive suite. The suite wasn't nice anyway. Staff attitude is very poor. Room service didn't come with salt and pepper and the calamari was undercooked. We had to call in twice for our iron request to be honored.
Ron V. Business travelers Canada, September 11, 2014
Protea Breakwater

Location, contemporary feel of the room, breakfast
7
Weifeng C. Business travelers China, September 1, 2014
good location

Location, Location, Location
7.3
The hotel is in good location and the staff is friendly.
Wong Q. Couples Singapore, September 1, 2014
Spacious and comfy room, wish we could stay longer

Clean and spacious, helpful staff, short walk to V&A
9.3
As we arrived before the check-in time, the staff was helpful in holding our luggage while we sight-see. Unfortunately, there was an oversight (unsure if it's on agoda's or Protea's part) and the double rooms were fully booked out even though I indicated the preference for it upon reservation. A bit of a bummer as we were on our honeymoon. Nevertheless, the staff kindly arranged two twin beds into 1 large bed for us (had to be careful not to hit our heads on the bedside light in the middle). Room is very spacious with a comfy settee for our shopping & it's generally very clean (yes even the bathtub) so we decided to just stay put in that room throughout our stay. Kudos to the staff for passing us cardboard boxes as emergency packing material for our wooden giraffe!
Riyaad G. Families with young children South Africa, August 18, 2014
Awesome service, and great location

Location, location and location
9.3
It was a excellent stay, really enjoyed it , clean, staff were very helpfull, v&a, red tour busses and aquarium right outside the hotel was so convenient , could walk at night to the waterfront , all that was missing was a shuttle service to and from the airport , table mountai and maybe to sellective beaches 😄 lol because the cabs are expensive 🙈
Andrew T. Couples United Kingdom, May 10, 2014
short stay but found hotel perfect for us.

location, price, views from lounges.
9.3
Had great stay & only fault I had was that I love cooked tomatoes on toast for breakfast but tomatoes were not on breakfast buffet. I didn't ask for tomatoes & maybe if I had they would have been provided. otherwise everything was good.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - ExteriorProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Exhibition Hall FoyerProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Exhibition Hall FoyerProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - RestaurantProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - BarProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - The DeckProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Transit LoungeProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Relax SPAProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Universal BathroomProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Main Hotel Building with Cape Town Stadium in the backgroundProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Universal BathroomProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Main Hotel Building and Historical Conference BuildingProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Historical BuildingProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - ExteriorProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Fitness RoomProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - ReceptionProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Executive LoungeProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Reception


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

SG-AGWEB-6B07