or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge

Portswood Road, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town, South Africa 8001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Hotel Elevators Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Reception Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Lounge Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Exhibition Hall Foyer Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Gym Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Restaurant Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Restaurant Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Restaurant Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Restaurant Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Bar Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Restaurant Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Business Center Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Lobby Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Spa Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Universal Bathroom Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Main Hotel Building
Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Universal Bathroom
Area: V & A Waterfront Number of Rooms: 191
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
59 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
9.2
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (59)
Sort by:
Ron V. Business travelers Canada, September 11, 2014
Protea Breakwater

Location, contemporary feel of the room, breakfast
7
Weifeng C. Business travelers China, September 1, 2014
good location

Location, Location, Location
7.3
The hotel is in good location and the staff is friendly.
Riyaad G. Families with young children South Africa, August 18, 2014
Awesome service, and great location

Location, location and location
9.3
It was a excellent stay, really enjoyed it , clean, staff were very helpfull, v&a, red tour busses and aquarium right outside the hotel was so convenient , could walk at night to the waterfront , all that was missing was a shuttle service to and from the airport , table mountai and maybe to sellective beaches 😄 lol because the cabs are expensive 🙈
Andrew T. Couples United Kingdom, May 10, 2014
short stay but found hotel perfect for us.

location, price, views from lounges.
9.3
Had great stay & only fault I had was that I love cooked tomatoes on toast for breakfast but tomatoes were not on breakfast buffet. I didn't ask for tomatoes & maybe if I had they would have been provided. otherwise everything was good.
Anne R. Couples United States of America, May 1, 2014
Clean and quiet hotel close to the action

Clean, comofortable bed, black out drapes
9.3
I slept really well here despite flying 30 hrs and a big time change from the U.S. I credit this to the black out drapes, clean room, comfortable bed, and clean bedding. We upgraded to an executive size room and it was very nice, modern and clean. It looked like it was recently remodeled. The bathroom was airy and not stuffy or stinky like most hotel rooms. It was a 5 minute walk to the waterfront action/restaurants. The only negatives I would say is that is a large complex combined with a business school so we always got turned around and usually had a bit of walking to do before we could find our room. Also, there are some very loud scary sounding seagulls in the area. I was worried about security as the exterior doors weren't locked and open to the public but they probably had security cameras and I didn't see any suspicious people. Make sure you push/pull your room door shut as well- ours did not close completely on it's own. We had a courtyard/interior room and I felt the price was very reasonable.
Louie V. Families with young children South Africa, April 30, 2014
Very nice but to small for a family

Cleaness
6.7
Nice and a expriences friendlynes and cleannigess ok
Mwembe S. Couples Zambia, March 30, 2014
Great Stay

Value for money; Very good location (at the Waterfront); and Friendly Staff
8.7
Everything about the hotel is excellent. Would highly recommend it.
Dean R. Solo travelers United States of America, December 3, 2013
Gem of a hotel in a perfect location

Located right on the V&A waterfront; step out to the waterfront restaurants and shops, close to the wharfs for cruising, hop-on-hop trolly off right at the door
9.7
Staff was most professional and friendly; housekeeping was impeccable. A portion is in an old prison, so the prison corridors with guard walks are still there; but very much cleaned and attractive. Rooms are recently renovated (larger than the cells must have been !). Front door of the hotel faces away from the waterfront, but thru the back of the hotel you can pop down some stairs right to the action on the waterfront: Hop-on-hop-off trolly to anywhere in the city, the aquarium, sailing and diving excursions, exclusive shopping as well as more local shops in the artisan centers; excellent and wide variety of restaurants. Truly a perfect location for enjoying the city as well as stepping off to go outside the city, Cape Point (southernmost point), wine country, penguin colony, robbins island (where Mandela was imprisoned for 18 years) and many others.
Sim S. Families with young children Singapore, November 29, 2013
Close to V&A waterfront

Walking distance to V&A waterfront shopping. Interesting Hotel to explore as it use to be a prison.Coin operated washing machines makes laundry very affordable and convenient in the hotel itself.
8.7
Room size is abit small but comfortable. Reception are friendly and efficient.
Carol D. Solo travelers United States of America, November 20, 2013
Very comfortable, pleasant, short vacation

large room, close to V & A Waterfront, very pleasant staff
9
My granddaughter and I had a pleasant, comfortable stay at this hotel which was a very convenient walk to shopping, tours and dining.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - ExteriorProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Hotel ElevatorsProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - ReceptionProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - LoungeProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Exhibition Hall FoyerProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - GymProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - RestaurantProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - RestaurantProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - RestaurantProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - RestaurantProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - BarProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - RestaurantProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Business CenterProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - LobbyProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - SpaProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Universal BathroomProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Main Hotel BuildingProtea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town - Universal Bathroom


AS-AGWEB-3C04