or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge

14 Palm Boulevard, Umhlanga, Durban, South Africa 4001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Lobby Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Reception Waiting Area Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Sitting Area Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Deli Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Hotel Bar Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Restaurant Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Business Center Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Lounge and Deli Area Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Coffee Shop/Cafe Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Conference Facilities Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Conference Facilities Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Meeting Room Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Reception Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Meeting Room Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Meeting Room Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Bedroom
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Lounge Area Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Guest Room Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Standard Room Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Bedroom Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Guest Room Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Guest Room Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Room Interior Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Standard Room Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Bedroom Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Guest Room Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Suite Room Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Guest Room
Area: Umhlanga Number of Rooms: 205
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.3

based on
30 reviews

Value for Money
7.6
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
8.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (30)
Sort by:
Rudy B. Couples South Africa, July 7, 2014
Amazing!

Location, Great service of the staff, Big rooms
8.7
Jeremiah M. Families with older children South Africa, June 7, 2014
Marvelous

cleanliness, luxurious, great breakfast
10
Rekesh S. Couples South Africa, December 14, 2013
Comfortable

Breakfast , room and tidiness
7.7
It was comfortable and relaxing. I always stay at Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge when i'm in Umhlanga.
Minnie M. Couples South Africa, June 17, 2013
unpleasant

walk away from shopping centre
3.7
very unpleasant and uncomfortable, no proper shower drainage in the room which was very unhygeinic.
Aarti S. Families with young children South Africa, June 9, 2013
Pleasant

1. Staff acted promptly to checking error. An upgrade was provided.
8.3
Shaday H. Couples South Africa, June 2, 2013
Good but not great

nice rooms , very easy access to the mall and really modern
7
Our stay was ok, the reason why I say this is when we arrived it took approximately 40 mins to check in as the hotel didn’t have the correct dates and had not booked us in for 2 nights. I had to show my proof of payment and the confirmation that I had paid for a 2 night stay instead of 1 night. I was promised someone would call me is the morning to resolve the matter, needless to say no one did. I had to get in the morning and go down to sort out the problem. This was tiring considering that this should have been a simple process. I was also taken back by the attitude of one of your day guards that was on duty on the 01 Jun 2013 round about 14.30pm at the parking entrance I had told my husband to bring the car around and I would wait for him at the entrance of the parking as I had to go to the shop before, my mistake was I had not noticed that there where separate entrance and exit to the parking and I was waiting at the entrance. I was getting burnt in the sun and so I stepped out of the sun into the shade of the parking but was not passed the chain at the entrance The guard then came and asked me to leave and I explained that I was waiting for my husband and was a guest of the hotel The man was so aggressive as he believed I was shouting and I was not. He then went onto pointing at me and saying “Hey don’t scream at me” and started walking towards me in a very intimidating manner I was so shocked and extremely worried that he misinterpreted my reply in terms of advising him that I was not going in but merely standing at the entrance. I do have to say that the ladies who helped check us out were brilliant and were extremely friendly Its sad to say but Protea Umhlanga Ridge would not be my hotel of choice on my next visit
Du P. Business travelers South Africa, May 16, 2013
Clean and comfortable, but too expensive.

Location to airport, friendly staff & Close to restaurants
7.3
David A. Couples United Kingdom, April 8, 2013
Spoilt by pop concerts on Sat and Sun

Excellent secure underground carpark. Housekeeping staff very good. Family suite had large fridge and excellent bathroom and bed.
8
Moved to a family suite as first room polluted by smokers and penetrating persistent noise from pop concert across the road at the swimming pool area of the Gateway Mall. Used second bedroom to avoid penetrating bass "music" on Saturday and the main bedroom on Sunday to avoid noise from the enormous stage set up at the other side of the hotel. The weekend rate was cheap!!
Shahrukh S. Solo travelers Pakistan, March 19, 2013
Comfortable stay at Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge

The hotel was very close to one of the biggest and high end shoping mall in South Africa. The Gate Way mall is on a walking distance from the hotel. Moreover lots of eating places nearby
7
My stay at Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge in Durban was quite comfortable. It is a nice, clean and comfortable hotel situated quite close to the shopping mall. Lots of eating places available in the close proximity of the hotel. View from my room was beautiful as a park is situated next to the hotel. Internet connection was however on a slower side. Only 100 Mb data download per day was free which was on quite a lower side. Overall good value for money i got.
Kalyani P. Couples South Africa, March 16, 2013
was comfortable and served the purpose

size, location, cleanliness
6.3

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge DurbanProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - LobbyProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Reception Waiting AreaProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Sitting AreaProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - DeliProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Hotel BarProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge RestaurantProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Business CenterProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Lounge and Deli AreaProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Coffee Shop/CafeProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Conference FacilitiesProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Conference FacilitiesProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Meeting RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - ReceptionProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Meeting RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Meeting RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Bedroom Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Lounge AreaProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Guest RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Standard RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - BedroomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Guest RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Guest RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Room InteriorProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Standard RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - BedroomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Guest RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Suite RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Guest RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Guest RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Swimming PoolProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Swimming PoolProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - SurroundingsProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - SurroundingsProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - ExteriorProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - InteriorProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Nearby AttractionProtea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge Durban - Nearby Attraction


AS-AGWEB-3B01