Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Protea Hotel Umhlanga

Protea Mall, Corner Lighthouse Road & Chartwell Drive, Umhlanga, Durban, South Africa 4320 (Show on map)

Book now!

Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - King Bedroom Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Standard King Bed Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Standard Twin Bed Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Standard Twin Bed Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Bathroom Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - View From Room Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - View From Room Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Umhlanga Coast Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Lounge Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Swimming Pool Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Double Room Interior Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Reception Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Exterior Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Conference Area Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Swimming Pool Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Exterior
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Exterior Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - School Room Style Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Restaurant Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Exterior at Night Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Swimmin Pool Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Reception Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Boardroom Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Separate Bath & Shower Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Reception Foyer Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Exterior Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Reception Foyer Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Bar area
Area: Umhlanga Number of Rooms: 120
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

from 27 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
6.2
All reviews (27)
Sort by:
Susan H. Groups United Kingdom, January 24, 2015
Did not like paying for parking!

Locality. Staff. Rooms
7.3
Except for a very noisy air conditioner in our room, and the fact we had to pay R50 per day for parking in the hotels own parking, everything was fine
Report this review
Safiyya M. Couples South Africa, December 22, 2014
Convenient location

Neatness, well located, Friendly staff
8
Report this review
Shaun U. Couples Canada, December 7, 2014
Clean but very basic

clean, friendly staff, cannot think of a third
5.7
Power outages frequently but not the hotel's fault. They did not, however, respond well to the outages - exits were locked and getting back to the rooms via the stairway was difficult, as there is no handle on the door to enter the hallways from the stairwells. Staff were also "locked out" by this omission and would knock on the door to the stairway for us to open the door. It was also quite noisy during the day, due to hotel construction. If you plan on being in your room during the day, it may be best to ask if the construction has been completed. If not, it is not worth booking. The rooms are small but clean. The sofa in the room had clearly seen better days (I hope) - we chose not to sit on it. Has a safe and kettle but no fridge. Overall it was fair but not a place I would recommend, given the other options around. It was quite a bit like the Protea Edward in Durban - a hotel that looks dated, tired.
Report this review
Rose B. Families with young children South Africa, October 7, 2014
Great Value

The Location is just so convenient - literally a walk away from everything; The staff at Protea Umhlanga are just so wonderful - were very helpful in directing us to places of interest, etc.
8.7
I usually stay at this hotel when in Durban and have yet to have any let down. The place is just so conveniently placed to all the places were want to visit. The staff are wonderful (from the front desk to the housekeeper and maintenance crew) and very knowledgeable on the area and tourist places. Thank you for making our stay so pleasurable. Can't wait for the next visit!
Report this review
Zakeu L. Groups South Africa, September 21, 2014
i had a great time with my friends at the hotel

overall service, food/dining, location
8
Excellent!!!
Report this review
Vanessa C. Couples South Africa, June 2, 2014
Bad customer service

The rooms are also self-catering with microwave, crockery and cutlery, close to nice local restaurants, beds were comfy
6
I got lost on my way to the hotel (while my husband was running the Comrades and getting close to the finish. When I got to reception they had no record of our booking so I had to go back to the car and get my husband's laptop with the e-mail confirmation. By this time I was really frustrated. I showed the e-mail to the receptionist lady and she asked me to e-mail it to her. When I asked if I could use the hotel's Wi-Fi, she said I could only make use of it once we have been checked in. I then tried but had to enter a password which I had to get from my husband while running the race. After the e-mail was sent I still had to wait about another 20minutes to finally get a room. Nobody bothered to help me with my luggage and later when I asked the same receptionist for a list of restaurants in the area she just scribbled a couple of names on a piece of paper, no contact details. The information she gave me I could have gotten myself on the internet. The rooms were nice, we booked a double but we got two twins pushed together. Do not think I will go back there in future. Not sure if I should blame Agoda or the Protea Hotel staff.
Report this review
Mark T. Groups United Kingdom, May 17, 2014
Excellent experience, comfortable, good location

Location, proximity to beaches, restaurants, airport
7.7
No complaints at all. Small niggle in that the bathroom windows opened on to passageway and felt not very private. Walking distance to the lovely restaurants and shops of Umhlanga Rocks.
Report this review
Alan P. Couples South Africa, May 15, 2014
Great position in Umhlanga

Room, Location, Staff
8.7
The initial room allocated was unacceptable due to the noise from refurbishment (drilling knocking Etc). The replacement room was superb - full suite with comfortable furnishings and close to the lift. If the refurbishment is to continue then Protea should not allocate rooms where the noise is above an acceptable level. Protea made a mistake but recovered from it very well.
Report this review
Brian S. Families with young children South Africa, May 5, 2014
Great location near beach and restaurants

Near beach, restaurants and friendly staff
8.3
Wonderful
Report this review
Neil G. Solo travelers South Africa, April 1, 2014
Enjoyable and great atmosphere

Safety, Luxury, View
7
Overall I have no complaints and would recommend it to others. Few issues like slow internet with little daily data allowance and not great value for money, rooms were overpriced. If the rates included unlimited internet access and breakfast, I would easily visit this hotel again.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - King RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - King BedroomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Standard King BedProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Standard Twin BedProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Standard Twin BedProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - BathroomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - View From RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - View From RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Umhlanga CoastProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - LoungeProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Swimming PoolProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Double Room InteriorProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - ReceptionProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - ExteriorProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Conference AreaProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Swimming PoolProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - ExteriorProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - ExteriorProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - School Room StyleProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - RestaurantProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Exterior at NightProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Swimmin PoolProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - ReceptionProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - BoardroomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Separate Bath & ShowerProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Reception FoyerProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - ExteriorProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Reception FoyerProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Bar areaProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Sunrise at Umhlanga beach mere 5 min away from hotel


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C03