or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Protea Hotel Umhlanga

Protea Mall, Corner Lighthouse Road & Chartwell Drive, Umhlanga, Durban, South Africa 4320 (Show on map)

Book now!

Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Double Bed Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Room Interior Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - King Room Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - King Bedroom Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Standard King Bed Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Standard Twin Bed Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Standard Twin Bed Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Bathroom Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Exterior Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Hotel Interior Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - View From Room Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - View From Room Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Umhlanga Coast Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Lounge Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Lobby Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Meeting Room
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Swimming Pool Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Double Room Interior Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Exterior Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Reception Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Reception Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - The Lighthouse Breakfast Restaurant and Bar Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Conference Area Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Swimming Pool Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Exterior Protea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Exterior
Area: Umhlanga Number of Rooms: 120
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
22 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
9.5
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
6.1
All reviews (22)
Sort by:
Vanessa C. Couples South Africa, June 2, 2014
Bad customer service

The rooms are also self-catering with microwave, crockery and cutlery, close to nice local restaurants, beds were comfy
6
I got lost on my way to the hotel (while my husband was running the Comrades and getting close to the finish. When I got to reception they had no record of our booking so I had to go back to the car and get my husband's laptop with the e-mail confirmation. By this time I was really frustrated. I showed the e-mail to the receptionist lady and she asked me to e-mail it to her. When I asked if I could use the hotel's Wi-Fi, she said I could only make use of it once we have been checked in. I then tried but had to enter a password which I had to get from my husband while running the race. After the e-mail was sent I still had to wait about another 20minutes to finally get a room. Nobody bothered to help me with my luggage and later when I asked the same receptionist for a list of restaurants in the area she just scribbled a couple of names on a piece of paper, no contact details. The information she gave me I could have gotten myself on the internet. The rooms were nice, we booked a double but we got two twins pushed together. Do not think I will go back there in future. Not sure if I should blame Agoda or the Protea Hotel staff.
Mark T. Groups United Kingdom, May 17, 2014
Excellent experience, comfortable, good location

Location, proximity to beaches, restaurants, airport
7.7
No complaints at all. Small niggle in that the bathroom windows opened on to passageway and felt not very private. Walking distance to the lovely restaurants and shops of Umhlanga Rocks.
Alan P. Couples South Africa, May 15, 2014
Great position in Umhlanga

Room, Location, Staff
8.7
The initial room allocated was unacceptable due to the noise from refurbishment (drilling knocking Etc). The replacement room was superb - full suite with comfortable furnishings and close to the lift. If the refurbishment is to continue then Protea should not allocate rooms where the noise is above an acceptable level. Protea made a mistake but recovered from it very well.
Brian S. Families with young children South Africa, May 5, 2014
Great location near beach and restaurants

Near beach, restaurants and friendly staff
8.3
Wonderful
Neil G. Solo travelers South Africa, April 1, 2014
Enjoyable and great atmosphere

Safety, Luxury, View
7
Overall I have no complaints and would recommend it to others. Few issues like slow internet with little daily data allowance and not great value for money, rooms were overpriced. If the rates included unlimited internet access and breakfast, I would easily visit this hotel again.
Dawn A. Couples United Kingdom, December 3, 2013
Very comfortable but an issue was not handled

location, clean & comfortable bed
7
we had 4 nights on the first morning I told the girls in reception that the fridge was not working. very thing was warm and the ice had melted. She said it was dealt with. But it was not the milk turned into cottage cheese and smelt awful. On check out the guy at reception took the hot stuff comment card from me I again told him how disappointed I was about the fridge and he said he would get it changed straight away. But there was no apology and we had complained about it 2 or 3 times. Very disappointing....
Lloyd M. Couples South Africa, December 1, 2013
The stay was superb- great indeed.

Clean, big and comfortable
9
No issues we really enjoyed our stay and the staff was friendly
Ella M. Couples South Africa, July 8, 2013
Frustrating my request was ignored

The bath room, the kitchenette
4
I was given a room in the smoking area and I had requested to be located on modern side and was given the old side and considering that when I booked I phoned them directly and made my request and they agreed to do it but when I got there nothing was organised. I was very frustrated when I landed in the smoking area as I hate smoking and now had to re-locate to a non smoking side. The whole exercise was frustrating.
Ambigay N. Solo travelers South Africa, March 27, 2013
Comfortable

Staff were frendly and helpful
9.3
Rionah N. Solo travelers South Africa, March 24, 2013
nice stay

location view and privacy
6.7
Nice, but the pool is small and the tv didn't have a remote due to it being a replacement to a repair

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Protea Hotel Umhlanga DurbanProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Double BedProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Room InteriorProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - King RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - King BedroomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Standard King BedProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Standard Twin BedProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Standard Twin BedProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - BathroomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - ExteriorProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Hotel InteriorProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - View From RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - View From RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Umhlanga CoastProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - LoungeProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - LobbyProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Meeting RoomProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Swimming PoolProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Double Room InteriorProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - ExteriorProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - ReceptionProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - ReceptionProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - The Lighthouse Breakfast Restaurant and BarProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Conference AreaProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Swimming PoolProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - ExteriorProtea Hotel Umhlanga Durban - Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3A03