My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Queen's Hotel

No. 4, Dalada Veediya, Kandy Lake Front, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard Room Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard Room Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard Room Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard Room Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard Room Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard Room Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard Room Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard Room Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard Room Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard Rooms Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard Rooms Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard Room View Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard Room Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard Room Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard Room Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard Room
Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Hotel Interior Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Pub/Lounge Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Lobby Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Welcome Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Lobby Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Hotel Interior Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Ballroom Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Restaurant Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Balcony/Terrace Queen’s Hotel Kandy - View from the lake front rooms Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Shops inside the Hotel Queen’s Hotel Kandy - Hotel Interior
Hotel Area: Kandy Lake Front Number of Rooms: 64

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

7.6

based on
819 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (819)
Sort by:
Lesley W. Couples United Kingdom, April 3, 2014
Old Colonial base for exploring wonderful city

Location, atmosphere, quaint charm
9
This is a beautiful colonial building right in the centre of Kandy. The enormous lobby is stunning and we were made welcome with drinks. We were escorted to our room in the west wing which is connected to the main building by a long corridor. When we entered our room we gasped at the size of it - it was about 12m by 12m and had three balconies! Each had full length drapes and there was a ceiling to floor curtain around the head of the bed. We could see the lake and, in the other direction, the Buddha on the hill. The floor was of polished wood and the furniture was dark and heavy. We had a table and four chairs and two armchairs and low table, in addition to a wardrobe and dressing table. The adjoining bathroom was a good size with black and white floor tiles and the original bath, though modern plumbing and a shower had been installed. It would have been useful to have shelves or a table on which to put wash bags. The wiring in the bedroom was pretty ancient and there was only one socket which had an adaptor so that modern appliances could be used. There were only wall lights so it was impossible to read in bed. We loved the quaint charm of the place, but felt that some concessions to modern life need to be made. More power sockets are required and a ceiling light over the bed and bedside lamps would improve the lighting. Traffic noise could be a problem for some as the horns start at about 6.30, but we slept well. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and felt that service could be improved. We noticed that on other nights there was a buffet arrangement. Breakfasts were very good with a wide choice from the buffet and food prepared to order. We really enjoyed being able to relax and cool off in the hotel pool after a day's sightseeing, though on one day we went down at 6pm and were unable to obtain towels as the cupboard had been locked. In our information booklet in our room it said the pool was open until 7pm.
Marie G. Couples Canada, April 3, 2014
We only stayed one night but everything was perfec

the location, the personnel, great breakfast
7.7
everything was perfect
Tatsiana C. Couples Belarus, March 29, 2014
cozy stay in the hotel with history

historical ambience, wooden furniture and floor, on the entrance to Buddha Tooth temple
9.3
it was super cozy stay in the historical building one step from Buddha Tooth temple. the room was simple but it was clean and with old wooden furniture. The food was various both international and local, the live music at dinner made our evening. Also we enjoyed the swimming pool.
David C. Solo travelers Australia, March 25, 2014
It is a great location and good value.

Location, historial building and comfort.
8
Overall good. Disappointed with the buffet for breakfast, lunch AND dinner. It is catering more for the tour groups rather than single and couple travellers. I'd go back in a flash though!
Antonia B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 25, 2014
Short stay in Kandy

Location, pool, atmosphere
8
Great location for a short trip to Kandy, loved the pool and bar. The faded grandeur of the hotel really appealed. On the whole a lovely experience.
Dominik K. Couples Germany, March 22, 2014
Colonial-style hotel in the heart of Kandy

The hotel is centrally located in Kandy and offers a nice breakfast buffet. Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful.
8.7
The rooms were clean and comfortable, even though they also are a bit old fashioned (as you expect from a colonial style hotel).
Dean Q. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 15, 2014
Expensive, rundown, very friendly staff

The location, staff and pool
6.3
My room was facing the pool and very quiet but I imagine those facing the road to be extremely noisy. The staff were very friendly and helpful which the owners need to justify paying for this delipidated, no frills hotel. A lot of work needs doing all round: bathroom taps looked like a hotch-potch of 3 different sets with paint flaking off, the shower soap dish was hanging off of loose screws... maintenance is desperately needed.
Kenneth S. Couples United Kingdom, March 13, 2014
old world charm and comfort with attentive staff

old well cared for hotel, central location, helpful staff
10
Nihal F. Couples Canada, March 11, 2014
Generally good

location, breakfast and staff
9
Genarally good, friendly staff and go out of the way to help you.
Kathrin B. Couples Germany, March 11, 2014
great central location

local,pool,old building
7
The stay was nice, the staff very friendly and helpful. Location is greyt but its better to have a room towards the pool, we had it!the hotel is very old and you hear everything, its very loud. Breakfast is ok, but not special.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Queen’s Hotel KandyQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard RoomQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard RoomQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard RoomQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard RoomQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard RoomQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard RoomQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard RoomQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard RoomQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard RoomQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard RoomsQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard RoomsQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard Room ViewQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard RoomQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard RoomQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard RoomQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Standard RoomQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Hotel InteriorQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Pub/LoungeQueen’s Hotel Kandy - LobbyQueen’s Hotel Kandy - WelcomeQueen’s Hotel Kandy - LobbyQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Hotel InteriorQueen’s Hotel Kandy - BallroomQueen’s Hotel Kandy - RestaurantQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Balcony/TerraceQueen’s Hotel Kandy - View from the lake front roomsQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Shops inside the HotelQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Hotel InteriorQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Hotel ExteriorQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Hotel InteriorQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Hotel InteriorQueen’s Hotel Kandy - ReceptionQueen’s Hotel Kandy - RestaurantQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Hotel ExteriorQueen’s Hotel Kandy - FacilitiesQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolQueen’s Hotel Kandy - View from the lake front roomsQueen’s Hotel Kandy - ReceptionQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Balcony/TerraceQueen’s Hotel Kandy - StairwayQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Hotel ExteriorQueen’s Hotel Kandy - EntranceQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Hotel ExteriorQueen’s Hotel Kandy - DiningQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Pub/LoungeQueen’s Hotel Kandy - GardenQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Hotel InteriorQueen’s Hotel Kandy - LobbyQueen’s Hotel Kandy - BathroomQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Guest RoomQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolQueen’s Hotel Kandy - LobbyQueen’s Hotel Kandy - RestaurantQueen’s Hotel Kandy - RestaurantQueen’s Hotel Kandy - Restaurant

Customer Reviews - Queen's Hotel, Kandy

AS-AGWEB-3C03