My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Rainbow Hotel

2000 Yanan Road West, Chang Ning District, Changning - Hongqiao & INTEX, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Garden Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Reception Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Facilities Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Executive Lounge Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Executive Lounge Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Facilities
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Facilities Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Rainbow Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant
Area: Changning - Hongqiao & INTEX Number of Rooms: 640

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
96 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
7.6
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.3
Solo travelers (96)
Sort by:
Larry A. Solo travelers United States of America, January 6, 2014
Great rooms with very comfortable beds!

Beds, bathrooms, and location
8.7
I have stayed at this hotel before. The beds are extremely comfortable. When I was in Chengdu the hotel room bed at a different hotel was horrible, so I selected this hotel in order to rest up and recuperate from that experience. The only issue I have with this hotel is that when you order the American breakfast, they attempt to charge you for additional coffee versus it being part of the meal as stated. Each day I had to direct them to take this off. On some days, for the three of us, this was as much as $60 more they wanted that had to be taken off. Each day they did take off, yet it seems they should have improved their systems and stopped this after the first day.
The N. Solo travelers Australia, November 11, 2013
better located and featured hotels elsewhere

great bbq skewer place close to the uni nearby
4.7
WiFi only in the lobby. Rooms looked dated with stained carpets and dirty taps. Unless you need to be in this area choose another one
Colin C. Solo travelers Australia, October 6, 2013
Good location for what I wanted and well priced

Location, Concerge, facilities
8.7
I was lucky to get my room for a very good price at short notice. I moved out of another hotel to stay here because the location suited my search for long term rental accommodation.
Hang L. Solo travelers Hong Kong, May 25, 2013
Metropolitan

Convenient location, clean and comfortable, reasonable price, plenty of sports and recreation facilities, exotic design, friendly employees
7.7
Good location (near airport), clean and comfortable
Ha L. Solo travelers South Korea, April 2, 2013
Nice but lacking

bed, concierge,
5.7
I stayed at Rainbow Hotel for 4 nights. The check in process was quick but the front desk staff were not very welcoming nor friendly. The first thing that they said to me was "Passport." But the other hotel staff (concierge, room service) were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is fairly big with 30 floors and there are also several restaurants. There is no wifi acess in the rooms which was a bit uncomfortable, but there was wifi available in the lobby. The room was okay, clean and spacious but it seems like the hotel needs a little renovation. I could tell the rooms were a little outdated. However, the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is very small and the showerhead was lacking as the water pressure was not very strong. The hotel is not very close to most of the city's site seeing places. I got to places by taxi and it cost about 30 rmb to get to Xin Tian Ti. There is a metro station about 10 minutes away by foot. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Rainbow Hotel but I would not say this is a four star hotel
Ha L. Solo travelers South Korea, April 1, 2013
Comfortable room but need renovation

Comfortable bed, nice staff, spacious room
6
I stayed at Rainbow Hotel for 4 nights. The check in process was quick but the front desk staff were not very welcoming nor friendly. The first thing that they said to me was "Passport." But the other hotel staff (concierge, room service) were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is fairly big with 30 floors and there are also several restaurants. There is no wifi acess in the rooms which was a bit uncomfortable, but there was wifi available in the lobby. The room was okay, clean and spacious but it seems like the hotel needs a little renovation. I could tell the rooms were a little outdated. However, the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is very small and the showerhead was lacking as the water pressure was not very strong. The hotel is not very close to most of the city's site seeing places. I got to places by taxi and it cost about 30 rmb to get to Xin Tian Ti. There is a metro station about 10 minutes away by foot. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Rainbow Hotel but I would not say this is a four star hotel.
Ha L. Solo travelers South Korea, March 31, 2013
Nice but lacking

bed, concierge
6
I stayed at Rainbow Hotel for 4 nights. The check in process was quick but the front desk staff were not very welcoming nor friendly. The first thing that they said to me was "Passport." But the other hotel staff (concierge, room service) were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is fairly big with 30 floors and there are also several restaurants. There is no wifi acess in the rooms which was a bit uncomfortable, but there was wifi available in the lobby. The room was okay, clean and spacious but it seems like the hotel needs a little renovation. I could tell the rooms were a little outdated. However, the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is very small and the showerhead was lacking as the water pressure was not very strong. The hotel is not very close to most of the city's site seeing places. I got to places by taxi and it cost about 30 rmb to get to Xin Tian Ti. There is a metro station about 10 minutes away by foot. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Rainbow Hotel but I would not say this is a four star hotel
Wong Y. Solo travelers Hong Kong, March 10, 2013
nice 4* hotel at economic cost

room, city view, location
7
stayed on higher floor which could have a very nice city view of the elevated roads. big windows. it's an old 4* design but everything is as standard as an int'l 5* hotel. location is convenient, within 15mins taxi to all major areas.
Wil M. Solo travelers Canada, January 12, 2013
Decent hotel with great gym but modest rooms

The gym was excellent
6.3
The hotel is easy to taxi in and out but the nearest metro is about a 15 minute walk away. The room is tastefully decorated but the bathroom is a bit tired. No breakfast is included nor is there free wifi in the rooms. When front-desk was asked about wifi in the room, the were somewhat rude and unhelpful, but housekeeping staff could accomodate through the use of a wifi modem. Checkin staff seem rather uninterested in making a positive impression but housekeeping staff were quite helpful.
Restaurant Tip: Good restaurant choices around Metro Line 2 - about a 15 minute walk away from hotel
Sunghoon K. Solo travelers South Korea, December 20, 2012
great price... convinient location

clean, good price, good traffic
7.7
great for quick in and out... rooms are bit tiny if you are from US. No WIFI in room, so many red eye people at hotel lobby around 2AM.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Try double decker bus.. it is great.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Rainbow Hotel ShanghaiRainbow Hotel Shanghai - GardenRainbow Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolRainbow Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomRainbow Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomRainbow Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRainbow Hotel Shanghai - ReceptionRainbow Hotel Shanghai - FacilitiesRainbow Hotel Shanghai - LobbyRainbow Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorRainbow Hotel Shanghai - Executive LoungeRainbow Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomRainbow Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomRainbow Hotel Shanghai - Executive LoungeRainbow Hotel Shanghai - BathroomRainbow Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRainbow Hotel Shanghai - FacilitiesRainbow Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantRainbow Hotel Shanghai - FacilitiesRainbow Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantRainbow Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantRainbow Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRainbow Hotel Shanghai - BallroomRainbow Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomRainbow Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomRainbow Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRainbow Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorRainbow Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomRainbow Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantRainbow Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantRainbow Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/CafeRainbow Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant


AS-AGWEB-3B06