Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Ranweli Holiday Village

Waikkal,, Waikkal Beach, Negombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Ranweli Holiday Village Negombo - Deluxe Sea View Bungalow Ranweli Holiday Village Negombo - Deluxe Room Ranweli Holiday Village Negombo - Pub/Lounge Ranweli Holiday Village Negombo - Pub/Lounge Ranweli Holiday Village Negombo - Restaurant Ranweli Holiday Village Negombo - Restaurant Ranweli Holiday Village Negombo - Swimming Pool Ranweli Holiday Village Negombo - Exterior Ranweli Holiday Village Negombo - Swimming Pool Ranweli Holiday Village Negombo - Garden Ranweli Holiday Village Negombo - Exterior Ranweli Holiday Village Negombo - Surroundings Ranweli Holiday Village Negombo - Exterior Ranweli Holiday Village Negombo - Exterior Ranweli Holiday Village Negombo - Exterior
Area: Waikkal Beach Number of Rooms: 83

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.8

based on
188 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
7.9
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (188)
Sort by:
Tyler S. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 6, 2014
Ranweli

Location, location, location
8.7
Nilanthi G. Families with young children Sri Lanka, August 9, 2014
Wow fantastic experience with vary friendly staff

Location, Staff, Food
8.7
Gorgeous hotel
Tseng H. Solo travelers Taiwan, July 13, 2014
A perfect place to start my journey in Sri Lanka

Beach! Beach! Beach!
9
Ranweli has the most beautiful sunset I've seen! I love the swimming pool and the beach. It's a perfect way to end a day to drink beer at beach. I took hundreds of photos here and thought I was in the heaven. Definitely I will choose this hotel again and stay few more nights next time I visit Negombo.
Sally S. Couples Australia, May 22, 2014
Thoroughly disappointing

Well appointed and clean room
4.7
We chose the Ranweli Hotel for a one night stay at the end of our Sri Lankan holiday based on its proximity to the airport - 20 kilometers away. It wasn't until we arrived at the hotel that we realized that the hotel is only accessible by ferry or punt. Whilst this notion is quite romantic it is also extremely inpracticle when we had to leave the hotel at 4.30am for our early flight departure. The first villa we were given had a broken a/c system. After much ado we were finally moved to a different villa where the a/c worked at 30 per cent capacity. So once we were on the 'island' we were totally at the hotel's mercy - food and drink are ridiculously expensive compared to the rest of Sri Lanka. All menus only have prices listed in either Euros or GBP which is completely useless to the traveller who lives anywhere east of Russia. We had booked a wake up call at 4.00am and luckily we set our own alarm as they didn't bother to call us until 4.20am for our 4.30 departure. Of course, as we were at the mercy of the hotel, we booked a taxi through them to the airport - USD$30 for a 20 kilometer ride....! If you are looking for a hotel for a short stay avoid the Ranweli Hotel at all cost!!
Boris G. Families with young children Croatia, March 1, 2014
A great ending for our 7-day island-wide trip

It's a beautifully built, comfortable and enjoyable holiday resort
9
We only stayed for the last night of our trip, as it's relatively close to the airport (the rest having been half in the mountains, half in the south). Ranweli turned out to have been the most enjoyable stay of our holiday, and we wished we had spent at least half of our holiday there. The beach isn't that good (at least not for someone who just came from south Sri Lanka), and it didn't appeal to us to swim in the sea there; anyhow, the swimming pool was quite OK. But the place is just beautifully arranged, the Deluxe Sea View Bungalow was a great place to stay, and the staff were very nice and helpful. It's a great place for a relaxing holiday. If we'd return to Sri Lanka someday, we'd definitely stay in Ranweli again, this time for more than just one day.
Peter K. Families with young children United Kingdom, February 20, 2014
It was good, but not really suitable for infants

Staf brilliant, Food good, resort in general great for couple
7.3
No serious issues although not really suitable for very samll children. The local wild life enjoys sharing your room with you too !!! It is a great resort with very friendly staff, and i would recommend to anyone looking for a nice break away from daily routine.
Laura J. Couples United Kingdom, February 12, 2014
Lovely beach resort

Proximity to the beach, privacy (it's on an island), quality of rooms is excellent.
8.3
Great stay- a bit isolated from Sri Lankan culture (eg prices are written in euros!!) but if you want a very nice relaxing hotel- well designed and planned, this is a good one to choose. Room was most comfortable I've had in SL.
Kadri C. Couples Turkey, February 7, 2014
Clean hotel with pool & nature

Pool and rooms were good. Deluxe room was just renewed. We stay at 101 and it was so close to everywhere.
9.3
The location was wrong. Please check this point. This is it: 7.283281,79.840894 There were room to far away from center so try to get close pool. Sea was not clear as we expected but still we had fun.
Amy M. Couples Canada, January 2, 2014
An All-Inclusive with a TON of European Groups.

Close to airport, friendly staff, secluded property.
4.7
I would ONLY recommend this resort to people looking to visit an all-inclusive resort. There are a ton of tour groups and it's VERY similar to a resort in Dominican or Cuba. Price tag was REALLY high and we would not book again at Ranweli. No options to walk to any restaurants, bars etc. You are on a piece of property that is detached from mainland and you access the resort via a raft/ferry. Another note:When we arrived we were told our Seaview Bungalow was not available and we were given a TERRIBLE room which had the view of a brick wall. Once we finally moved into the seaview bungalow it was a beautiful room, but this resort definitely caters to large groups. There are WAY better options in Sri Lanka, especially given the price tag.
Barbara G. Couples Australia, August 25, 2013
Sri Lanka Beaches at its Best

Natural setting, comfortable and resort-feel
7
We are vegetarian and it has proved quite difficult to eat good local vegetarian without either something having gone off like the coconut milk everything swims in or doused in tons of salt.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Ranweli Holiday Village NegomboRanweli Holiday Village Negombo - Deluxe Sea View BungalowRanweli Holiday Village Negombo - Deluxe RoomRanweli Holiday Village Negombo - Pub/LoungeRanweli Holiday Village Negombo - Pub/LoungeRanweli Holiday Village Negombo - RestaurantRanweli Holiday Village Negombo - RestaurantRanweli Holiday Village Negombo - Swimming PoolRanweli Holiday Village Negombo - ExteriorRanweli Holiday Village Negombo - Swimming PoolRanweli Holiday Village Negombo - GardenRanweli Holiday Village Negombo - ExteriorRanweli Holiday Village Negombo - SurroundingsRanweli Holiday Village Negombo - ExteriorRanweli Holiday Village Negombo - ExteriorRanweli Holiday Village Negombo - Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3B02