Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Ranweli Holiday Village

Waikkal,, waikkal, Waikkal, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe Sea View Bungalow Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe Room Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Pub/Lounge Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Pub/Lounge Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Restaurant Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Restaurant Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Exterior Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Swimming Pool Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Garden Relaxing area Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - View from the Swimming Pool Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Surroundings Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Exterior View Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Beach Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Beach Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe Sea View Bungalow Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe Sea View Bungalow
Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe Sea View Bungalow Bathroom Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe Sea View Bungalow Amenities Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe Sea View Bungalow Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe Sea View Bungalow Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe Sea View Bungalow Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Standard Room Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Standard Room Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Standard Room Amenities Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Standard Room Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Standard Room Bathroom Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Standard Room Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Dining Facilities at Hotel
Area: waikkal Number of Rooms: 83
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

from 197 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
7.9
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (197)
Sort by:
Anthony S. Families with older children Australia, May 2, 2015
Bar staff lazy.

Bar staff lazy after being told twice about broken glass near pool didn't care until a supervisor was informed and addressed the issue.
6
Our stay was very avarage as they also charge in Euros or English pounds.
Report this review
Hazel C. Families with older children Singapore, December 14, 2014
Beautiful Beach Resort

Beautiful beach, nice ocean front bungalow and well-manicured & clean surroundings
7.7
We were advised by our guide to stay our last night at Negombo to be near the airport so that it would not be so rush to catch our flight the next morning and we didn't regret it. It was quite an experience for my children to cross the muddy & sinister-looking river on the wooden raft and then to arrive at the resort which has a beautiful stretch of beach and has fantastic view of the ocean. We stayed at the seaview bungalow and it was very therapeutic to hear the sound of the waves. The room is clean enough but the TV reception was really bad. At night, we were pretty bored as there was no wifi in the room and no TV programmes to watch. But I guess if you are looking for a lazy holiday and just to sunbath, this will be the resort. On the whole, it was very pleasant to end our trip with a nice stay at Ranweli.
Report this review
Cameron S. Couples Australia, November 16, 2014
Not a bad pre-flight location

The best thing about this place was the pool, the comfy bed and the extensive buffet breakfast
8
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, although we found it charges inflated European prices for everything. This would be completely fine, however there are no other options for food around this place due to its remote location, forcing you to dine at the hotel.
Report this review
Tyler S. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 6, 2014
Ranweli

Location, location, location
8.7
Report this review
Kevin R. Couples Canada, August 20, 2014
Amazing sunset view.

Private beach. Sunset. Friendly reception
7.7
We stayed only for one night so we could be close to the airport early the next morning. Seeing we'd have to leave at 4:00AM to catch our flight, we'd miss our breakfast.... which was included in the room rate. We asked if we could switch the meals and have dinner instead of the breakfast and the hotel manager, upon consideration of our request, agreed ;-)This was a very welcoming on his part. We were placed in a newly renovated room of the hotel and the room was modern and clear, yetlacked any feel of being in Sri Lanka. The beach area is very nice and the sunset was stunning. The beach bungalows, even though older, have more charm than the new rooms and are more private which are right on the beach. A fine stay for either first or last night in Sri Lanka. Only negative point...far too many loud tourist there for our liking ;-)
Report this review
Nilanthi G. Families with young children Sri Lanka, August 9, 2014
Wow fantastic experience with vary friendly staff

Location, Staff, Food
8.7
Gorgeous hotel
Report this review
Di X. Solo travelers China, August 8, 2014
transfer

location
4
The switch couldn't be used,so that the room was out of electricity and no one helped me solve this problem.
Report this review
Tseng H. Solo travelers Taiwan, July 13, 2014
A perfect place to start my journey in Sri Lanka

Beach! Beach! Beach!
9
Ranweli has the most beautiful sunset I've seen! I love the swimming pool and the beach. It's a perfect way to end a day to drink beer at beach. I took hundreds of photos here and thought I was in the heaven. Definitely I will choose this hotel again and stay few more nights next time I visit Negombo.
Report this review
Sally S. Couples Australia, May 22, 2014
Thoroughly disappointing

Well appointed and clean room
4.7
We chose the Ranweli Hotel for a one night stay at the end of our Sri Lankan holiday based on its proximity to the airport - 20 kilometers away. It wasn't until we arrived at the hotel that we realized that the hotel is only accessible by ferry or punt. Whilst this notion is quite romantic it is also extremely inpracticle when we had to leave the hotel at 4.30am for our early flight departure. The first villa we were given had a broken a/c system. After much ado we were finally moved to a different villa where the a/c worked at 30 per cent capacity. So once we were on the 'island' we were totally at the hotel's mercy - food and drink are ridiculously expensive compared to the rest of Sri Lanka. All menus only have prices listed in either Euros or GBP which is completely useless to the traveller who lives anywhere east of Russia. We had booked a wake up call at 4.00am and luckily we set our own alarm as they didn't bother to call us until 4.20am for our 4.30 departure. Of course, as we were at the mercy of the hotel, we booked a taxi through them to the airport - USD$30 for a 20 kilometer ride....! If you are looking for a hotel for a short stay avoid the Ranweli Hotel at all cost!!
Report this review
Boris G. Families with young children Croatia, March 1, 2014
A great ending for our 7-day island-wide trip

It's a beautifully built, comfortable and enjoyable holiday resort
9
We only stayed for the last night of our trip, as it's relatively close to the airport (the rest having been half in the mountains, half in the south). Ranweli turned out to have been the most enjoyable stay of our holiday, and we wished we had spent at least half of our holiday there. The beach isn't that good (at least not for someone who just came from south Sri Lanka), and it didn't appeal to us to swim in the sea there; anyhow, the swimming pool was quite OK. But the place is just beautifully arranged, the Deluxe Sea View Bungalow was a great place to stay, and the staff were very nice and helpful. It's a great place for a relaxing holiday. If we'd return to Sri Lanka someday, we'd definitely stay in Ranweli again, this time for more than just one day.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Ranweli Holiday Village WaikkalRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe Sea View BungalowRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe RoomRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Pub/LoungeRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Pub/LoungeRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - RestaurantRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - RestaurantRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - ExteriorRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Swimming PoolRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Garden Relaxing areaRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - View from the Swimming PoolRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - SurroundingsRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Exterior ViewRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - BeachRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - BeachRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe Sea View Bungalow Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe Sea View Bungalow Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe Sea View Bungalow BathroomRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe Sea View Bungalow Amenities Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe Sea View Bungalow Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe Sea View Bungalow Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Deluxe Sea View Bungalow Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Standard RoomRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Standard RoomRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Standard Room AmenitiesRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Standard RoomRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Standard Room BathroomRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Standard RoomRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Dining Facilities at HotelRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Hotel Beach and Lagoon Ariel viewRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Swimming PoolRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Swimming Pool ViewRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Ferry Ride to the HotelRanweli Holiday Village Waikkal - Dining on the Beach


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C01