Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Rayfont Downtown Hotel

No.7 Zhao Jia Bang Road, Xintiandi and Huaihai Rd, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Summit Xuhui Hotel
Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Recreational Facilities Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Fitness Room Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Fitness Room Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Playground Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Surroundings Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Surroundings Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room
Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Kitchen Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Kitchen Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room
Area: Xintiandi and Huaihai Rd Number of Rooms: 1000

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.0

from 1623 reviews

Value for Money
7.6
Location
7.9
Staff Performance
6.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
6.9
Food/Dining
6.0
All reviews (1623)
Sort by:
Derek L. Business travelers Hong Kong, July 18, 2015
Not clean

Good location, reasonable price, restaurants nearby
5
Not clean, housekeeping not doing good job. Long line up not enough workers at front desk. Good location.
Report this review
Paula G. Solo travelers Canada, July 17, 2015
Reasonable price but no service

location near to metro
5.3
The hotel needs a lot of attention. The wallpaper in the rooms is peeling, mildewed. The room cleaning is basic. Found previous guest items under the bed. The towels are rough and old. Also put a 200yuan incidental on my credit card, thought it was a hold but on check out I was told that they would reverse the charge the next day. That was 3 days ago and I am still waiting.
Report this review
Thomas V. Families with young children Netherlands, July 15, 2015
Good location

Location, value for money, swimming pool.
7.3
I have been at this hotel several times, so happy with it in general. Three remarks: better internet pls, the coffee shop is expensive and there is some kind of taxi cartel (so walk 100 meter away before getting one).
Report this review
Wei H. Business travelers Singapore, July 13, 2015
Feedback

Comfort of the room, ambience, cleanliness
6.7
Comfortable stay. The wifi is terrible. I couldn't connect to the wifi most of the time. I suggest the hotel to improve their wifi coverage so as not to lose more customers. Business travelers liked me will need the wifi to make important overseas call.
Report this review
Paula G. Couples Canada, July 8, 2015
ok hotel but not great.

Jackie at the concierge desk is the best thing about Rayfont, he is friendly, very helpful and good english skills. Being close to the subway and mall with extensive food court is a plus too.
6
Fair. Front desk staff not very helpful. Fridge in room did not work. Called desk, they sent maintenance who came looked at it and left. Next day I told the desk in person. Got a new fridge but only the light came on. Gave up. The towels are old and hard and the pillow was impossible to sleep on. In general the rooms need some care. My night table was coming off the wall.
Report this review
Natalie C. Couples New Zealand, June 30, 2015
You get what you pay for.

Location, affordability, washing machine
4.7
This is definitely not a 4 star hotel! This is the first hotel we have ever been to where we had to clean the kitchen before using it. We booked an executive suite at a good price and while there was plenty of room, the rooms were dirty, with mould around the bath, cracked wall tiles in both kitchen and bathroom, peeling wallpaper, extremely dirty kitchen with no utensils and the fridge had never been cleaned. There was no hair dryer, hotel directory or even a welcome note. The staff spoke little English or chose not to and finding the pool was very difficult, it was at another site and when we got there were refused entry because we didn't have a swimming cap. The staff could not tell us where to get a swimming cap either. When we did get into the pool, the pool area, changing area and general surrounds were absolutely filthy with mould and hair everywhere, very unappealing and despite investing 28RMB on a pointless swimming cap, did not go near the pool again. Be aware of the advertising for trips in the lobby the advertised prices despite being in English are for Chinese visitors only, a 130RMB trip to Sanzhou turns into 850RMB for westerners! We were offered no explanation for this. You can do the trip yourself by train for 40RMB return. The hotel demands a deposit for 'supplementaries' but will not take your credit card, we had to hand over 500RMB which was returned at checkout. As we were heading to the airport we had to change this to dollars again costing us an extra 50RMB plus a very poor exchange rate. Credit cards are not widely accepted in Shanghai except high end stores. The location was very good, close proximity to Dapuquio metro station but the positives end there and I would never stay in this hotel again. Traveller tip; be aware of people asking to take their photograph, they will then engage you in conversation then take you to a teahouse for some extraordinarily expensive tea!
Report this review
Jennifer R. Groups United States of America, June 28, 2015
Find another budget hotel

The cleaning ladies were friendly, the location is good.
3
I don't usually waste time writing reviews, but feel its necessary in this case. When I first arrived I asked for an upgrade, apparently they thought moving to the 33rd floor was an upgrade. It was not, and the floor I was on made no difference to me . I spent most of the first night having to work that out with a very surly and unhelpful staff. Later into the stay my air-conditioning was out. I went down to the front desk and they said they'd have someone come check it out and I went about my business. Later that evening when I came back my air-conditioning was still out so I called the front desk who told me that all of the units were out and we'd all have to wait until tomorrow because the repair guy had gone home (two things to note, 1.) there was no confusion in the conversation as I speak Chinese and 2.) what hotel in the middle of summer is not able to get a repair guy immediately if the entire air-conditioning is out?). The next morning I went back down to address this again and I was told I could switch rooms... Hold up, if the entire building is out, what does that matter? Apparently that was just the story to be told the night before to shut me up. I didn't want to move, but they did find me a room on the same floor so it was convenient enough under the circumstances, but when I told them I'd rather have them just fix my room, they said they couldn't. Maybe they could've told me that the day before without me having to spend a sweltering Shanghai summer night in an un-airconditioned room. I do know that these are "first world" problems and I should be thankful for what I have, which is why I do not often write reviews, BUT for those of you thinking of the Rayfront as a decent budget hotel, I would look elsewhere. Although it is a budget hotel, I still expect a certain decency as a guest, which was entirely lacking in this staff who had zero English skills.
Report this review
Ruwan L. Business travelers Sri Lanka, June 27, 2015
Best value for money

Location, very fast check in and check out, comfortable rooms
8.7
Very good. Ideal and convenient location for business travellars.
Report this review
Aik C. Business travelers Malaysia, June 27, 2015
Worth it

Comfortable, reasonable and convenient
7.7
If you have to be in Puxi side of Shanghai, this hotel is really great. 2 metro station are within 7minutes walk. Dapuqiao station has a great food court with loads of different choice to cater to even the most discerning food critics. Egg tart at Lilians bakery and japanese take away just at the entrance of the food court is a must try. Room is really clean with nice comfy beds. Shower can be a drawback from room to rooms. Shower head are usually place at a decent geight for dwarfs. Though they have poor functioning rain shower to justify their stupidity. Well overall I love the place. Great price, great location. I teared after having to leave after staying there for a month
Report this review
Poh Y. Couples Singapore, June 25, 2015
Good location

1. near to key shopping area (Huaihai street). it takes less than 5 min by taxi from hotel to Huaihai. 2. free wifi in room. but the wifi speed is slow. fairly decent room for the price that you pay.
5.7
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Rayfont Downtown Hotel ShanghaiRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Recreational FacilitiesRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - PlaygroundRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - SurroundingsRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - SurroundingsRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - LobbyRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - LobbyRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - BathroomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - BathroomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - KitchenRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - BathroomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - KitchenRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - LobbyRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - KitchenRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - BathroomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomRayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom

Customer Reviews - Rayfont Downtown Hotel, Shanghai

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A02