Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Redwall Hotel

No. 31 North Sha Tan Street, Dongcheng District,, Wangfujing Street & Forbidden City, Beijing, China (Show on map)

Book now!

Redwall Hotel Beijing - Guest Room Redwall Hotel Beijing - Guest Room Redwall Hotel Beijing - Guest Room Redwall Hotel Beijing - Guest Room Redwall Hotel Beijing - Guest Room Redwall Hotel Beijing - Guest Room Redwall Hotel Beijing - Guest Room Redwall Hotel Beijing - Guest Room Redwall Hotel Beijing - Guest Room Redwall Hotel Beijing - Bathroom Redwall Hotel Beijing - Bathroom Redwall Hotel Beijing - Standard Royal Garden Chinese Style
Area: Wangfujing Street & Forbidden City Number of Rooms: 191

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.9

based on
606 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
6.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.6
Room Comfort/Standard
6.9
Food/Dining
6.0
All reviews (606)
Sort by:
Edwuar E. Families with older children Indonesia, August 6, 2013
great and comfortable

location, room, comfortable
7
the bed was hard but i think that's chinese standard. The hotel itself is located at the back/ the exit gate of Forbidden City, so that is not really convenient. The nearest MRT station is Dongsi station, but it's still faraway from the hotel. If you get off at the Tiananmen exit, the hotel is still far. If you walk i think it'll take 15 to 20 minutes. Don't be surprised with the smell! I find the smell quite familiar as I've spent pretty much 5 years going to my chinese teacher house, but for those of you who didn't grow up in Chinese household, the smell can be a bit overwhelming. Beijing is dirty! The toilets smell bad! The people is not exactly friendly. It is better to not to join the city tour. They will take you to silk museums/ tea houses, they do warn you to only buy if you want to buy them. If you really want to join city tour for convenience sake, make sure you tour with western foreigners and not with the local chinese tourists as they can be annoying. Traveling with mom, dad, and one sister. My parents can only speak c Chinese and can't read/ write, I can speak, write, and read a little bit.
John M. Business travelers New Zealand, August 5, 2013
My worst ever in China

Location, location, location
3.3
After 4 years of spending 4 months each year in China, this was the worst hotel that I have ever stayed at. On arrival I was offered a room on the 3rd floor with no elevator. To change this cost almost as much per night as the original room rate. The room was dirty, the staff were rude and unfriendly and spoke no English, and even the printer in the business center had run out of ink.
Marija V. Couples Slovenia, August 4, 2013
great location, city center, bad wi-fi connection

centrally located, cle to city sights,
7.3
Lyon B. Groups Australia, July 28, 2013
location was A1

location, large rooms, helpful bellboys
6.7
overall good. cleanliness standards are medium. bathtub flooded the bathroom when I had a bath and fridge was not efficient at all. cigarette smoke through the air con vents is a big negative.
Ian C. Couples Australia, July 25, 2013
For location and price you will not do better

Location , Local food readily available
8.3
The English language was an issue for some staff. And with many of them juniors lacking experience was a small issue. We had small dispute over a dirty towel that we had to pay for and their word is law and would not enter into any discussion. The house manager would not speak to us just left it to Staff. Lesson do not have an accident and spill anything in your room or break the rules.
Raffy D. Solo travelers Philippines, July 21, 2013
Value for money

Location, price and cleanliness
9
It was a good hotel to rest after a tiring day touring the city.
David H. Couples Australia, July 20, 2013
Affordable, centrally-located hotel

Clean, Affordable, Central
8
I really enjoyed my time at the Redwall Hotel. The staff were attentive, spoke decent English and were always ready to help (by way of directions, recommendations, etc.). The superior room was moderately sized and clean. Facilities were average. Highly recommended due to it's centrality and easy access to attractions such as the Forbidden City, Wangfujing Shopping Street and San Li Tun area.
Mia K. Couples Philippines, July 20, 2013
Okay

The staff were nice and helpful.
6
Booked to stay at Redwall Hotel for 5 nights from July 18-23 and ended up leaving after the second day (only because we could not leave after the first as they were charging us for the second day). We got a full refund for the 3 other nights' stay, of course. This hotel was okay; but we just needed one that was way closer to the subway station. It takes around 20 minutes to walk from the hotel to the subway station(as opposed to the 10 minutes that they say)- so it's really annoying when it's late and really dark at night and you have to walk all the way back. The carpet was kind of dirty and there was no wi-fi in the room (which sucked 'cus we almost always need it haha)... We had to pay as a deposit since we were not having breakfast at the hotel (it costs otherwise). We thought that this was strangely high considering the quality of the room. On the plus side, the staff were very attentive and helpful. If you're only looking for a place to rest, are not bothered with not having wi-fi in the room and the hotel's location, go for Redwall.
Graham W. Couples South Africa, July 17, 2013
Pleasant value for money accommodation

location, affordability, access to public transport
7.7
Pleasant stay. Centrally located, on North East corner of Forbidden City, walking distance to some sightseeing attractions. Jingshan Park also within walking distance. Bus stop is a 100 metres from hotel, nearest subway station (Dongsi - Line 6) a few minutes walk. Great value for money and affordable for travellers on a budget.
Joel T. Business travelers India, July 15, 2013
Coneniently & Centrally llocated,

Good Equiped Rooms, Freindly staff, Excellent ambience
8.3
Enjoyed every bit of my stay, I felt it was a home away from home. The Coincerge Patric offered good advice of how to get arround in the City. Lucy from the travel desk was very helpfull and very communicative. Location is close to Forbidden City and with a good 30 minuite walk you can reach the Tinamen Square. Lot of shopping possible, but you need to mark down the price by more than 70% of what is first quoted. All in all a very enjoyable stay and will definitely be there at the Redwall hotel in future.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Redwall Hotel BeijingRedwall Hotel Beijing - Guest RoomRedwall Hotel Beijing - Guest RoomRedwall Hotel Beijing - Guest RoomRedwall Hotel Beijing - Guest RoomRedwall Hotel Beijing - Guest RoomRedwall Hotel Beijing - Guest RoomRedwall Hotel Beijing - Guest RoomRedwall Hotel Beijing - Guest RoomRedwall Hotel Beijing - Guest RoomRedwall Hotel Beijing - BathroomRedwall Hotel Beijing - BathroomRedwall Hotel Beijing - Standard Royal Garden Chinese Style

Customer Reviews - Redwall Hotel, Beijing

AS-AGWEB-3B02