Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Regent Lodge

172, Riverdale Road, Anniewatta, Kandy, Sri Lanka 20000

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.6

based on
62 reviews

30 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.2
Location
7.6
Staff Performance
8.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.9
Room Comfort/Standard
8.9
Food/Dining
9.0
All reviews (62)
Sort by:
Chesha W. Couples Netherlands, September 22, 2015
Regent Lodge - 20 years later

Location, friendliness of owners and staff, simplicity
10
I had been at the regent Lodge many years ago and it was somewhat nostalgic to be back there. Nothing had really changed and it is still a charming place - perfect for a quiet and relaxing stay. It does not have any of the decedance of the modern hotels neither is it a low-budget hostel. It is a home-away-from home that I love. I spent many of my childhood years in Kandy and Rgent Lodge brings back all the goodness of a fast-disappearing, old-worl Kandy. I recommend it whole-heartedly to anyone who wants to experience a truly Sri Lankan experience.
Report this review
Yifei L. Families with older children China, September 8, 2015
wonderful experience

warm host, delicate food, comfortable room
9.7
it's the most unforgettable experience in Sir Lanka. The host is so warm and patient with us. He gave us many recommendations in Kandy. He always very polite and has a kindly smile ~ And we also had a nice dinner here. Even with the beautiful music. Feel here like home ~ so great
Report this review
Legh D. Couples United Kingdom, April 5, 2015
Good position but highly overated

The quiet position, the cook.
6.3
The owner was absent for most of our stay which we were glad as we found him rather overpowering. The Wi Fi didn't work at all in our room and hardly ever anywhere else and the bathroom was old with faulty equipment and a torn plastic shower curtain. Very poor value and I wouldn't recommend it.The only saving grace was a sweet woman who looked after us in the owners absence.
Report this review
Wang J. Couples Canada, August 12, 2014
Super!

Service, food, nice and clean room
9.7
We have great 2-night stay in Regent Lodge. Really nice design of the house. Owner was really kind and provided a lot of information. Service was super,the best experience in Sri Lanka, feel like home. Delicious food. We will definitely come back to Regent Lodge!
Report this review
Tove M. Couples Sweden, January 17, 2014
An elegant guest house with style

The location, the room and the atmosphere
9
The atmosphere in Regents Lodge is personal and intimate in a good way. The owner and his wife is very helpful and will do there best to make your stay in Kandy as good as possible. Kandy is a messy and busy town so it is a release to take a tuk-tuk 15 minutes up on the hillside to the guesthouse.
Report this review
Sze U. Couples Singapore, December 26, 2013
Friendly and attentive staff, nice hotel

Friendly and attentive staff, good food, nice design
8.3
Report this review
Kenneth W. Solo travelers Australia, May 8, 2013
Lovely quiet location with a great host

Food pleasant host
9.7
The Regent Lodge is situatied in a quiet location. The lodge has been well cared for. Dudley the manager is a wonderful host. You feel like you are staying at his house as a valued guest. Dinners were superb. Thoroughly recommended.
Report this review
Yee M. Groups Singapore, March 21, 2013
Great

People are friendly, helpful and kind.
6.3
Report this review
Joshua B. Solo travelers United States of America, March 13, 2013
Dudley (and staff) make the difference

Food, the staff, quiet location
7.7
ComfortaBle place outside the "main city of Kandy. All things are walk able or a very short tuk tuk ride away. What really makes this place special is the owner Dudley. He genuinely loves having people stay, and there is nothing he will not do to be helpful or accommodating. He helped me plan the rest of my trip and helped me make whatever arrangements I needed to make. His staff is equally kind and wonderful and the food is exceptionally well done if you don't stay, definitely go for breakfast or dinner. highly recommend!
Report this review
Virginia W. Solo travelers United States of America, February 23, 2013
Charming retreat with real home feel

Quiet, no hassles or sells, amazing food!
8
This is a lovely home run by a man who's been in the hotel business for years, and who really has a knack for making you feel at home. Sri Lanka can be rough on the solo woman traveler, and you get none of that "swarminess" here. If you elect to have dinner, or breakfast for that matter, you will not be disappointed! The cuisine is excellent, a little pricey at $16 for dinner but well worth the chance to have fine, home-cooked Sri Lankan food. It is a bit out of the city center, about a 10 min. tuck tuck ride, but if you're not on the lake anyway you'll likely have to take a tuck tuck anywhere you go, and it's a couple of dollars max to get from the hotel to the city center.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Tuck Tucks-- There's a lot of bait and switch going on with drivers, so if you can, specify your exact destination before you get in the tuck tuck as well as the price. Ask someone else, like the proprietor of the hotel, approx how much a tuck tuck should be to x destination. Then try to take 500 rupees off of that and negotiate. Tell them "fixed price" and stand your ground, with a smile of course! : ) Also, if you are a woman traveler under oh, let's say 60-- be wary of the "too friendliness"-- keep your boundaries, you will not be getting something for nothing.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 30 reviews Next page
Regent Lodge Kandy - Hotel exteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - Standard RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - Exterior ViewRegent Lodge Kandy - LobbyRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - RestaurantRegent Lodge Kandy - Guest RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - Suite RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - Suite RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - LobbyRegent Lodge Kandy - LobbyRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - Sitting AreaRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - Lobby AreaRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - GardenRegent Lodge Kandy - View of the SurroundingsRegent Lodge Kandy - Suite RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - GardenRegent Lodge Kandy - GardenRegent Lodge Kandy - GardenRegent Lodge Kandy - LobbyRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - LobbyRegent Lodge Kandy - Guest RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - Guest RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - BathroomRegent Lodge Kandy - Guest RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - Guest RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - Guest RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - Guest RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - Guest RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - Sitting areaRegent Lodge Kandy - Lobby areaRegent Lodge Kandy - RestaurantRegent Lodge Kandy - Hotel exteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - Lobby areaRegent Lodge Kandy - Bedroom viewRegent Lodge Kandy - Double room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B07