or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Regent Lodge

172, Riverdale Road, Anniewatta, Kandy, Sri Lanka 20000 (Show on map)

Book now!

Regent Lodge Kandy - Standard Room Regent Lodge Kandy - Exterior View Regent Lodge Kandy - Lobby Regent Lodge Kandy - Interior Regent Lodge Kandy - Exterior Regent Lodge Kandy - Restaurant Regent Lodge Kandy - Guest Room Regent Lodge Kandy - Interior Regent Lodge Kandy - Suite Room Regent Lodge Kandy - Suite Room Regent Lodge Kandy - Lobby Regent Lodge Kandy - Lobby Regent Lodge Kandy - Interior Regent Lodge Kandy - Sitting Area Regent Lodge Kandy - Interior Regent Lodge Kandy - Lobby Area
Regent Lodge Kandy - Interior Regent Lodge Kandy - Garden Regent Lodge Kandy - View of the Surroundings Regent Lodge Kandy - Suite Room Regent Lodge Kandy - Garden Regent Lodge Kandy - Garden Regent Lodge Kandy - Garden Regent Lodge Kandy - Lobby Regent Lodge Kandy - Interior Regent Lodge Kandy - Interior Regent Lodge Kandy - Interior Regent Lodge Kandy - Interior
Area: Anniewatta
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.5

based on
53 reviews

Value for Money
8.1
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
8.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.8
Room Comfort/Standard
8.8
Food/Dining
8.9
All reviews (53)
Sort by:
Tove M. Couples Sweden, January 17, 2014
An elegant guest house with style

The location, the room and the atmosphere
9
The atmosphere in Regents Lodge is personal and intimate in a good way. The owner and his wife is very helpful and will do there best to make your stay in Kandy as good as possible. Kandy is a messy and busy town so it is a release to take a tuk-tuk 15 minutes up on the hillside to the guesthouse.
Sze U. Couples Singapore, December 26, 2013
Friendly and attentive staff, nice hotel

Friendly and attentive staff, good food, nice design
8.3
Kenneth W. Solo travelers Australia, May 8, 2013
Lovely quiet location with a great host

Food pleasant host
9.7
The Regent Lodge is situatied in a quiet location. The lodge has been well cared for. Dudley the manager is a wonderful host. You feel like you are staying at his house as a valued guest. Dinners were superb. Thoroughly recommended.
Yee M. Groups Singapore, March 21, 2013
Great

People are friendly, helpful and kind.
6.3
Joshua B. Solo travelers United States of America, March 13, 2013
Dudley (and staff) make the difference

Food, the staff, quiet location
7.7
ComfortaBle place outside the "main city of Kandy. All things are walk able or a very short tuk tuk ride away. What really makes this place special is the owner Dudley. He genuinely loves having people stay, and there is nothing he will not do to be helpful or accommodating. He helped me plan the rest of my trip and helped me make whatever arrangements I needed to make. His staff is equally kind and wonderful and the food is exceptionally well done if you don't stay, definitely go for breakfast or dinner. highly recommend!
Virginia W. Solo travelers United States of America, February 23, 2013
Charming retreat with real home feel

Quiet, no hassles or sells, amazing food!
8
This is a lovely home run by a man who's been in the hotel business for years, and who really has a knack for making you feel at home. Sri Lanka can be rough on the solo woman traveler, and you get none of that "swarminess" here. If you elect to have dinner, or breakfast for that matter, you will not be disappointed! The cuisine is excellent, a little pricey at $16 for dinner but well worth the chance to have fine, home-cooked Sri Lankan food. It is a bit out of the city center, about a 10 min. tuck tuck ride, but if you're not on the lake anyway you'll likely have to take a tuck tuck anywhere you go, and it's a couple of dollars max to get from the hotel to the city center.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Tuck Tucks-- There's a lot of bait and switch going on with drivers, so if you can, specify your exact destination before you get in the tuck tuck as well as the price. Ask someone else, like the proprietor of the hotel, approx how much a tuck tuck should be to x destination. Then try to take 500 rupees off of that and negotiate. Tell them "fixed price" and stand your ground, with a smile of course! : ) Also, if you are a woman traveler under oh, let's say 60-- be wary of the "too friendliness"-- keep your boundaries, you will not be getting something for nothing.
Jamie L. Couples United Kingdom, January 2, 2013
Wonderful place to stay in Kandy

Service and help, food, view
10
Wonderful spot high on the hill overlooking the hills around Kandy, quite tricky to find but well worth the effort. A great house with open spaces and high ceilings and very welcoming guest house with emphasis on the home and being part of the house. We were welcomed by Dudley and his wife and were promptly made a fuss of and made some tea and biccies, very nice. Dudley was a wealth of information and help, hoping that all was well and offering advice. Our room was nice and spacious and opened on to the garden. Over the next 4 nights we stayed, we dined in twice and had the best food by far in Sri Lanka at Dudleys home. Tasty, light not heavy like curry can be at times, 4 courses - really amazing! Well worth a night dining in! All in all, excellent and well worth a visit, a great base to visit and explore Kandy from.
Virginia J. Solo travelers United States of America, December 28, 2012
Lovely family-run guest house

the extremely friendly and helpful owners and the delicious meals
10
Regent Lodge was my favorite hotel in all of Sri Lanka. The owners are gracious and made me feel at home right away. Dudley drew me maps, suggested things to see, helped me with train tickets, always making sure I had everything I needed. The meals are superb - a delightful and bountiful array of freshly cooked, interesting Sri Lankan dishes, all beautifully presented and explained. By far the best food I had during my trip. I wish I could have stayed longer!
Martin S. Couples United Kingdom, December 19, 2012
Airy Guest House with Great Views, Service

Design, View, Friendly Service
9
Lovely guest house tucked away in the hills behind central Kandy. Open plan, airy, with nice views. Personable, engaging owner, Dudley, took time to ensure everything was to our satisfaction. All in all perhaps the friendliest place we stayed during our trip to Sri Lanka - would heartily recommend to others.
Kiran G. Solo travelers Australia, December 15, 2012
Gorgeous, peaceful location

decor, friendly owner, lovely peaceful surroundings
9.7
Wonderful. Lovely people, great breakfast, super comfy room and gorgeous bush outlook.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Regent Lodge Kandy - Hotel exteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - Standard RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - Exterior ViewRegent Lodge Kandy - LobbyRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - ExteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - RestaurantRegent Lodge Kandy - Guest RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - Suite RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - Suite RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - LobbyRegent Lodge Kandy - LobbyRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - Sitting AreaRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - Lobby AreaRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - GardenRegent Lodge Kandy - View of the SurroundingsRegent Lodge Kandy - Suite RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - GardenRegent Lodge Kandy - GardenRegent Lodge Kandy - GardenRegent Lodge Kandy - LobbyRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - InteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - LobbyRegent Lodge Kandy - Guest RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - Guest RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - BathroomRegent Lodge Kandy - Guest RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - Guest RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - Guest RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - Guest RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - Guest RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - Guest RoomRegent Lodge Kandy - Sitting areaRegent Lodge Kandy - Lobby areaRegent Lodge Kandy - RestaurantRegent Lodge Kandy - Hotel exteriorRegent Lodge Kandy - Lobby areaRegent Lodge Kandy - Bedroom viewRegent Lodge Kandy - Double room


AS-AGWEB-3C03