Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Reliance Inn

Flat 7, Block B, 13/F, Chungking Mansion, 40 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Good

6.1

based on 63 reviews

117 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.4
Location
7.7
Staff Performance
6.3
Cleanliness
6.0
Room Comfort/Standard
5.5
Food/Dining
4.4
Solo travelers (63)
Sort by:
Yalimg G. Solo travelers China, January 31, 2016
byebye hk
4
nothing want to say
Edward N. Solo travelers Singapore, September 19, 2015
RELIANCE HOTEL RATINGS

LOCATION, CHEAP, CLEAN
6.7
Hotel was very tiny but clean and aircon was cold.The 2 lifts serving the building was seriously too small and too few. I had to wait for 4 batches before I can get into the lift. The next morning,I decided to walk 13 floors down.
Leon H. Solo travelers United States of America, July 8, 2015
Great bargain room

Clean, compact, great price
6
Overall, I found it to be a nice place. The room was clean and neat, and the staff friendly and helpful. The room was very small, but had it's own bathroom with shower, had AC, a TV screen, and WIFI with a strong signal. For one person for one night, it worked out great. For someone who would be spending a lot of time in the room, stay multiple nights, and/or have a lot of luggage, it might be good to find a bigger room. Still, it was a good place to get some rest and privacy at a price that was hard to beat.
Andrew G. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 7, 2015
1 night stay

location
3.7
The hotel didn't actually have a vacancy so they placed me at a different guesthouse in Mirador mansions. Even for Chungking and Mirador guesthouses the space was small. However the worst aspect was that it was behind the reception desk so other guests thought it was the reception office and were knocking on the door throughout the night. It was also noisy.
Edsel R. Solo travelers Philippines, April 3, 2015
You can get a better hostel for this price

Strategic Location, Money Changers with the Best Rates Nearby, Cheapest Price in HK
3.7
I know for the cheap price I must not expect a pleasant stay but I discovered a better hostel in Mongkok with the same price so I give this hostel a thumbs down. Yes the location of Reliance Inn (Kowloon) is great because the location is a shopping haven, it's just walking distance to the Victoria Harbour, and you'll just cross the street for the bus stop going to the airport. But the room is smelly, bed sheet has stains, toilet is really small, building is quite old, wi-fi is erratic, elevator is always crowded, and staff is always missing in action. I can never recommend this hostel when you're in Hong Kong.
Shihan S. Solo travelers Singapore, January 3, 2015
Good location, but beware of bedbugs!

Location.
5
Stayed for only a night. Surroundings, elevator wise, and staff are okay. Wifi was bad though. Didn't managed to sleep as it was noisy outside. Probably not sound-proof walls. Gotten itchy bites all over so thought the blanket was dirty and removed it. Neck got itchy as well so I got up to check. Found and killed at least 5 big fat bedbugs on the pillow itself. Couldn't find anyone outside so I removed the pillows and blanket and waited till the counter guy came back. Moved to a new room at Block C, level 17. (You have to climb a level up as the elevator only stops at level 16) Was assured that this place is new (2 months?) and clean, linens bleached and stuff. The wifi is fast and good. Asked for towel (to hopefully wash off the itchiness!) and waited for at least an hour but neither the person nor his friends/staffs returned. Tried to sleep with lights on but spotted one bedbug from the pillow after a short period of time. Dumped the pillow outside of course! Then spotted baby/tiny/unfed bedbugs coming from probably the bed. No one was outside nor at the counter, and I'm not going to climb down the stairs to take the elevator to walk to Block B from C and take another elevator up to press the bell and wait since I no longer have the key to scan to find the guys (if anyone is there), and it's 5am, so yeah. Was trying to sleep when banging of doors started around 6am, by the counter guy or another. They looked similar. I banged my door too, and the banging stopped. It was till about 9am when asked and received the towel. Check-out time was 11.30am and I left around 11am. No one was at the counter, as usual. So if you're looking for a cheap and near to MTR place to stay, well, definitely not this inn. Unless they are sure that they've gotten rid of all the bedbugs. There are plenty of guesthouses in ChungKing Mansion. Choose slowly, read ALL reviews properly first.
Joshua J. Solo travelers Australia, November 6, 2014
Nice stay

Location, clean, good staff
6.3
Lana L. Solo travelers United States of America, September 23, 2014
Terrible. Do not stay.

Close to MTR
2
Do not stay here. This place is disgusting, unsafe, and not worth your money. Don't stay at any place in Chungking mansion it is extremely unsafe especially at night it is awful. The elevator takes forever with these distrusting people trying to hit on you and looking you up and down. You feel violated. it is completely unsafe especially if you consist of mainly female travelers. The room itself was tiny we got a twin room and the room was definitely meant to be a single. The bathroom smelled, the sheets still had hair and filth from the previous person and I got bed bug bites the next day. So spend your money elsewhere not at reliance inn and definitely not in Chungking Mansion. Stay away.
David L. Solo travelers Malaysia, September 20, 2014
Super dirty and no staffs standby
2
No staff when i there and the worst thing is they lied. Never stay in that place anymore. Dirty, not safe.
Johannes A. Solo travelers Netherlands, August 12, 2014
Hard to find

Location, Location, Location
5
Not very pleasant as it's hard to find and the environment does not feel safe at all.
1 - 10 of 210 reviews Next page
Reliance Inn Hong Kong - Double RoomReliance Inn Hong Kong - BathroomReliance Inn Hong Kong - BathroomReliance Inn Hong Kong - BathroomReliance Inn Hong Kong - Room Door with LicenseReliance Inn Hong Kong - CorridorReliance Inn Hong Kong - EntranceReliance Inn Hong Kong - Fridge and Microwave ProvidedReliance Inn Hong Kong - Guesthouse SafetyReliance Inn Hong Kong - Guesthouse SafetyReliance Inn Hong Kong - Guesthouse SafetyReliance Inn Hong Kong - ExteriorReliance Inn Hong Kong - Nearby AttractionReliance Inn Hong Kong - Nearby AttractionReliance Inn Hong Kong - Nearby AttractionReliance Inn Hong Kong - ShopsReliance Inn Hong Kong - Reception AreaReliance Inn Hong Kong - InteriorReliance Inn Hong Kong - Triple RoomReliance Inn Hong Kong - Twin RoomReliance Inn Hong Kong - Double RoomReliance Inn Hong Kong - Triple Room


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A03