Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2261 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 8.1

Liliane D. from France
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in October 2012
"Home away from home"
location,friendlyness and efficiency of the whole staff,good money value.
As it's my favorite hotel after trying some others in the area,the title is really true.It's always a warm "welcome back" when I arrive and when registering if the room is not the one I requested,they will always manage to give me the equivalent. I love Rex Hotel !!
Reviewed October 19, 2012

glenda B. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in October 2012
Great Hotel staff excellent service first class
Friendly staff, good service, good location.
The staff were excellent, very polite and helpful. Room was good with king size bed and very clean. Position very good, walking distance to most things we wanted to see. Day trips well catered for using hotel car and guides. Couldn't be happier with the overall package
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Nicholas N. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in October 2012
Great nostagic hotel with lots of old world charms
Location, overall service, breakfast and best vietnamese coffee in saigon hotels, bed and pillows, and spacious room
Previously, we usually stayed at the Sheraton whenever we came to Saigon. However, we picked the Rex this time because of the revamp of the hotel and great rate on offer. Overall, we were extremely happy with the Rex and decided to come back for a longer second stay after Nha Trang and Hoi An. Overall the hotel scored 9.5/10 for us.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Aaron W. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Great location with friendly staff
Great location
The hotel is right in the heart of the city, all tourist attractions are within walking distance. Staff are very attentive and helpful. The Governor Suite is spacious and in excellent condition.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Anna M. from Russia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in October 2012
Disappointment
Location
In the room it was a message that during the day time from 10 to 6-30 pm it may be very noisy and loud due to repairs nearby. It was not noisy, excepting a night time, due to signing in the Rez bar on the same floor. Staff did not directly ask for tip but made it obvious they want it and waited to get it. A room was very spacy for 3 people (suit). Breakfast - I heard they are best in Saigon and expected a wonderful one: not really, 3-star breakfast and most of fruit was unedible (although I can eat any fruit). No seafood at all, good choice of juices. Steam bath was not working - staff said they saved electrcity (for 200USD/night for a room!). They were unwilling to give towels (more than 1 towel for 3 people near the pool)! A feeling of a dirty pool was felt (as well as in the WC - towels from yesterday were still in the same bins the next day). A pool has a cold water - and it was not pleasant at +25 degrees outside. Anybody can go to the bar at 5th floor which makes a hotel a market, they were always people around my room (which couls easily get into the room due to poor lockers, a boy from staff warned). Not really happy - and bobody cared if we liked the hotel, when we left, no question asked, no wish wished
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Alan T. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2012
Great hotel they even remembered us
The room size and the service.
Lovely hotel great location, friendly staff all in all a great stay.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Philip P. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Great hotel, central location, exellent service
Suites are luxurious and comfortable,historic Hotel
This is the third time we have stayed in the Rex Hotel in Ho Chi Minh as it is our favourite choice. The suites are elegant, large, reasonably priced and comfortable. There are 2 rooftop swimming pools with a fantastic bar that has a great city view. The service is incredible - everyone is so obliging, friendly and professional and nothing is too much trouble. We had a breakfast option included which is good value as the buffet offers a mixed selection of fresh local cuisine.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

jacqueline T. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2012
lovely hotel
good for shopping
I am always satisfied with this hotel, for the service with always smile and staff very helfull. i would recommened for traverler this hotel , it will welcome you like family home
Reviewed October 09, 2012

Alison B. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Great hotel but would never book with agoda again
Hotel beautiful, lovely staff and facilities
The stay was marred by my constant attempts to get in touch with Agoda to rectify the booking error they had made at the time of booking online via trip adivsor. Despite multiple emails from myself and the hotel both before and throughout my stay to get them to amend the incorrectly issued voucher they never got back to me to rectify their error which ended up costing me an extra couple of hundred dollars on top of my "pre-paid" booking (OUCH!!). Beware anyone using Agoda. Once they have your credit card details they are no longer available for any after sales follow up. I would never book with them again and will be advising everyone I know to do avoid them too.
Reviewed October 08, 2012

Carmen G. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
Wonderful stay with great service
clean & great staff
Just came back from 4 nights at the Rex Hotel. We stayed in the new wing and our room didn't disappoint. We had beautiful views from the front of the hotel. Right in the heart of the city and shopping centres in abundance. Breakfast was great. Staff were always very helpful and courteous. Highly recommend.
Reviewed October 07, 2012