Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Rex Hotel Saigon

141 Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, District 1 - City Center, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Show on map)

Book now!

Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Lobby Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Lobby Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Guest Room Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Guest Room Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Bathroom Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Buffet Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Buffet Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Fitness Room Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Swimming Pool Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Buffet Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Coffee Shop/Cafe Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Bathroom Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Reception Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Guest Room Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Guest Room Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Guest Room
Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Bathroom
Area: District 1 - City Center Number of Rooms: 286
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

from 2174 reviews

Value for Money
7.6
Location
9.2
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.9
All reviews (2174)
Sort by:
Pauline C. Couples Singapore, August 14, 2011
Avoid the old wings

Centrally located
4.7
The rooms at the old wing were priced very closely to the rooms at the new wing. I had the impression that they could not be very far off from each other and  booked a room at the old wing. We entered into a spanking new and modern lobby but were led to old and musty hallways, which reminded me of a horror movie. When we entered the room, we were very disappointed to find it old and dim. Housekeeping was using air freshener as we entered the room and we soon understood why. The room smelled bad. There was hardly any windows and it faced a small courtyard where one saw only air conditioning condensers. What really took the cake was the mildew carpet with years of grime and dust. I soon became congested by the dust and hardly slept a wink during the night. The next day I contacted Agoda to upgrade me to the new wing and it was really day and night. The rooms in the new wing was new, clean and definitely worth the extra $20. Please note that my rating for this hotel is based on the rooms in the old wing.
Report this review
Anthony H. Couples Australia, August 13, 2011
Great location but very small rooms.

Excellent breakfast and great central location.
8
we very much enjoyed our stay at the rex hotel, however found the room very ordinary. like that you would find in a two star motel. there was not enough room for a bedside table on one side of the double bed, as the bed was up against the wall. you had to get into bed from the bottom of the bed. the bathroom was also very sad with cheap and bad tiling - also two star. tbe room however was very clean with a great bed and fluffy towels. the location however was excellent, being right in the middle of the city. service could not be faulted and the same with the breakfast, having a great range of foods from around the world. we would stay there agian, but would try other hotels first.
Report this review
Charles S. Couples United States of America, August 13, 2011
Great location and great service

room was spacious and comfortable. staff was friendly and helpful.
9.3
we had stayed at another hotel in ho chi minh city before moving to the rex. the extra expense for the rex was well worth it. the breakfast buffet was delicious and the staff was attentive. i would definitely stay at the rex the next time i am in hcmc.
Hotel Feature Tip: Make sure your door is locked when you leave the room. The hotel has old locks that do not lock automatically.
Report this review
Christopher B. Couples Ireland, August 13, 2011
Really big room, exactly as advertised

Pool was great after a day of travelling
9
Overall this was one of the best hotels we stayed at while in Vietnam. Some if the staff seemed a bit put out when asked for info but can't fault the hotel itself. The casino is good fun and the drinks were free while we played.
Shopping Tip: There is a local shop near the hotel where drinks are really cheap. Take a left out of the hotel and left again
Report this review
Kim K. Groups Australia, August 11, 2011
Fantastic location, gorgeous rooms, awesome skybar

Rooms, location, staff, services
9.7
fantastic historic luxury but still affordable hotel in the perfect district 1 location! fabulous sky bar with great food & cheap cocktails (definately try a saigon iced tea) relaxed weloming atmosphere & super friendly staff! great buffet breakfast from fresh fruit & juices, fried noodles & pork buns, cooked breakfast to french pastries every morning! i ordered a rex suite so 3 x 30 yr old girls could share & the booking made a mistake & only had 1 king bed (we were expecting a double & a single) so they upgraded us to a beautiful 2 bedroom suite with a king & double bed! there are 2 pools... not huge but still great especially as no one minded that we would go swimming at 10 or 11pm every night which meant we had the pool to ourselves which was an awesome way to end the day! you can change money right at reception sophist is handy! will defintely stay here again if we head back to vietnam!
Shopping Tip: Right across the street is a fantastic shopping mall (including a supermarket) where u can buy tshirts/souvenirs etc fr the same price as in the markets! Ben Tanh markets are walking distance too & definately worth a visit!
Report this review
Lisawati S. Families with older children Indonesia, August 11, 2011
Great Location but Old Rooms

Nice Lobby
7
i spent 2 nights with my husband and daughter in rex hotel. the lobby's staff was helpful when i checked in. i forgot to include my daughter in the same room and as a result there was no space to put extra bed. the hotel manager upgraded my room to junior suite and i had to pay only the extra bed's fee. the only flaw with the room was the bathroom was small and the door's inner paint was awful. i think, the hotel's management should consider using shower tray instead of bath up for older people.
Shopping Tip: Rex Hotel is a great place for shopping and eating.
Report this review
Robin G. Couples United Kingdom, August 11, 2011
A bit of class in central Saigon

Location and service
9
this was our second visit to saigon (hcmc) and, as we stayed at the equally-historic hotel continental last time, i wanted to try out the rex this trip. the location is very good for central saigon sightseeing - just on le loi in the dong khoi quarter of the city's district 1 with many restaurants and bars a short walk away. it is also a short walk to both the war remnants museum and the reunification palace. although some of the rooms are a little dated (a large wing of the hotel has just been done up, but some of the other rooms are looking in need of a bit of modernisation), the overall service is superb and this is a nice place to stay.
Restaurant Tip: Lemongrass Restaurant, just around the corner from the Rex Hotel on Nguyen Thiep St serves cracking Vietnamese food
Report this review
Birger L. Solo travelers Germany, August 10, 2011
Only Location
4.3
Very poor service. That's really all there is to say.
Report this review
Grant M. Couples United Kingdom, August 9, 2011
lovely hotel, great location

great location, friendly and knowledgable staff, good food and facilities
9
being our first time in vietnam, we were unsure what to expect from the locality and the hotel was perfectly located for all the city sights! room was good size, and most importantly really good aircon. we used the hotel to book a few tours and our guide john was superb, we retained his services for all our excursions and he looked after us very well. staff in the restaurants and bars were very attentive and again looked after us very well. hotel has gym and pool services - both of which were were excellent.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Ask for private tours - so just you and your guide - much faster and more efficient and the guide will include more elements if you ask him. Much better than doing mass tourist things in large groups.
Report this review
Chin N. Couples Malaysia, August 9, 2011
Lovely hotel and service with a smile

City center, very convenience and a lot of shopping around.
6.3
Great location service good and even some of the museum were very near.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Rex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh CityRex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - LobbyRex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - LobbyRex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomRex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomRex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomRex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - BuffetRex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - BuffetRex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Fitness RoomRex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Swimming PoolRex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - BuffetRex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Coffee Shop/CafeRex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomRex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionRex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomRex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomRex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomRex Hotel Saigon Ho Chi Minh City - Bathroom

Customer Reviews - Rex Hotel Saigon, Ho Chi Minh City

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B06