Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2259 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 8.1

Christopher E.
United Kingdom
October 29, 2011
Good Location
Staff very friendly
I booked a deluxe room but had water coming in from a light fitting in the ceiling. They moved me to another room, but this was a standard room with twin beds, which"was the only room available". OK only 2 nights so no big deal. The duty manager sent me a letter apologising along with some complimentary cookies which were superb.

Alisa C.
Australia
October 28, 2011
Fantastic location, ticks all the boxes
Fantastic gym, spacious room, nice buffet breakfast
thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at rex hotel. location is fantastic, walking distance to waterfront, museums, shopping etc. we like to keep fit, the gym here was fantastic, lots of machines and good quality. we didnt use the pool, however it was a fair size, just lot's of kids splashing about. rooms are very spacious, bed is extremely comfortable, lovely pillows. great size bathroom, with his and hers vanities. the rex is not the top end of 5 star ratings probably because the hotel is oldish, however it certainly did provide a pleasant stay.

Carmel R.
Australia
October 27, 2011
Iconic hotel with a great location.
Location and a really comfy bed !
I really enjoy the location of the Rex but was disappointed that the room was a little old. I'd stay in the new wing if I came back. The bed was soft and comfy but there was a heavy smell of cigarettes in the room which was really overpowering.

Jennifer L.
Australia
October 22, 2011
Beautiful hotel with outstanding service
location, food, service and comfortable beds
We picked the hotel from trip adviser, hoping that the reviews would prove accurate, and we were not disappointed. It is a lovely hotel, in a wonderful central location and the service is definately 5 star.

Alvin S.
Singapore
October 21, 2011
Great location with friendly staff.
Location
The location of the hotel is convinient and it is great value for money. The staff are also friendly and helpful and conversant in speaking English. In addition, the room is clean. It is also suitably located and great for business travellers.

CHONG S.
Singapore
October 21, 2011
Great location and good smiling service.
Location, nice lobby and clean room
we have stay at this rex hotel for 5 times, 1 time stay at the old wing and 4 times at the new wing. i like the new wing, because the room is clean and big. the service is very good and the staffs is very helpful and friendly with a smiling face. i will coming back to stay at this rex hotel again for my next visit.

Heather C.
United States
October 19, 2011
Dated, but great service and a comfortable stay
Excellent location and an interesting bit of history
got in late at night, but the staff was great and got me checked in and settled in a flash. the breakfast was included and i was impressed with the selection. it was also great to have breakfast on the cool rooftop patio! the room was pretty standard, but clean and quiet. excellent location for taking in the central sites around the area.

Rachael T.
Australia
October 16, 2011
Great location but a bit aged
Pools, location
historical hotel in great d.1 location. facilities are good but the location needs a bit of an upgrade.

Preben M.
Denmark
October 13, 2011
Nice hotel with good service
room, rooftop garden
we have a nice stay in rex - the lady at the tourdesk was good. a driver called "hero" was very good. the staff around the luggage and in front with the doors has not good enough english.

Sook T.
Malaysia
October 12, 2011
Great location but the rooms are noisy
Good spread for breakfast, good location
The rooms are a little rundown in the old wing. I was never given a room in the new wing. The corridors are dark. The rooms assigned to me was facing the main road which is translates to the noise in the room