or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Riad El Faran

156 Derb El Faran, Sidi Hamed Soussi, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco 40030 (Show on map)

Book now!

Riad El Faran Marrakech - Swimming Pool Riad El Faran Marrakech - Patio Riad El Faran Marrakech - Hotel Exterior Riad El Faran Marrakech - Restaurant Riad El Faran Marrakech - Patio Riad El Faran Marrakech - Swimming Pool Riad El Faran Marrakech - Hotel Interior Riad El Faran Marrakech - Patio Riad El Faran Marrakech - Patio Riad El Faran Marrakech - Patio Riad El Faran Marrakech - Patio Riad El Faran Marrakech - Balcony Riad El Faran Marrakech - Lounge Riad El Faran Marrakech - Hotel Interior Riad El Faran Marrakech - Hotel Interior Riad El Faran Marrakech - Patio
Riad El Faran Marrakech - Patio Riad El Faran Marrakech - Hotel Exterior Riad El Faran Marrakech - Balcony Riad El Faran Marrakech - Patio Riad El Faran Marrakech - Patio Riad El Faran Marrakech - Patio Riad El Faran Marrakech - Patio Riad El Faran Marrakech - Swimming Pool Riad El Faran Marrakech - Swimming Pool Riad El Faran Marrakech - Guest Room Riad El Faran Marrakech - Guest Room Riad El Faran Marrakech - Bathroom
Area: Medina Number of Rooms: 5
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
30 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
8.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (30)
Sort by:
Faouzi F. Solo travelers Sweden, April 28, 2014
ok.

Staff, location and welcoming
6
The stay was ok. Nice staff. It is quite an acoustic space. Requires most guests to be on the same schedule. Not the place if you want to sleep in and have lazy mornings.
Nathan L. Couples Australia, April 17, 2014
A hidden short whirlwind

The interior setting, staff friendliness and service.
7
The Riad is a great option - but by far the biggest issue is finding it. You should call the Riad before arriving. Being a seasoned traveller, I knew of the potential for difficulties from "friendly" locals. We caught a taxi from the airport, who dropped us off at the closest junction, and he told us to walk the rest of the way. Depending on how you see it, the "friendly" local boys will aggressively suggest they help you navigate into the streets. Of course the fear is that they will lead you into an incorrect Riad / demand a fee / harvest your organs. If you end up choosing this Riad, you MUST call them before arriving, and let them know to meet you at the Junction. Forget trying to find it yourself as there are a series of dark, winding hidden and somewhat scary alleyways. Google Maps shows the incorrect location. We followed Google Maps there, walking 10 mins followed by 3 aggressive locals all claiming to represent the Riad. It's quite stressful. The actual Riad is beautiful inside. The staff and owners are friendly and they make sure you have a nice stay. This is a great pick for a memorable trip to Marrakech.
Heather H. Couples United Kingdom, January 31, 2014
Perfect location&hosts felt like friends

The warm welcome. The staff would attend to your every need. Rooms are large&comfortable
8.7
Positives- welcomed with transfer pick ups&greeting from the parking with short walk to Riad. We were greeted by Rashan (hope this is correct saying) &his wife who were always smiling, friendly&welcoming. They spoke little English, therefore we mainly communicated with nods&gestures, but we got by. Had no official greeting from the manager? Unlike all the other reviews. I think we passed him on the stairs, but he did not officially introduce himself- which was a shame! The staff can not do enough for you here! Particular thanks to Abto who on several occassions escorted us to different places&picked us up Rooms are amazing! We stayed in the Green one- large double. Bathroom tub is huge! You always feel as if the staff are out to help you! Even if they struggle to communicate- shame the manager can not pay for them to have lessons as they are such lovely people. I would not recommend booking tours through the Riad~ we did this x2 & had trouble. On the desert trip to Zagora (2 nd we had to drive around another 450km (14hour drive) then due to the language barrier the drivers boss rang asking if we could lend him £50 for fuel & he would give it us back. When we go back the driver didn't understand us when we asked for money& he said "Riad, ask Riad" We tried to sort it with the Riad (as we did book through them) &still did not get our money back! As we were told we had to pay this. The communication barrier was hard& it looked bad on the Riad, although we know it was not the staffs fault, they did their best. However I feel the manager could have possibly been around more to resolve issues such as this. I would not have booked this tour if I knew there would have been problems& I feel they took advantage of our trusting nature to lend the money.
Bernard S. Couples Canada, January 28, 2014
Top Service, Quiet, Clean, Comfortable

Top Service, Quiet, Clean, Comfortable
9.3
So far we seem to be having great success with our choice of accommodations in Morocco. Riad El Faran was no exception and deserves a much higher ranking that is currently shown. Set off in a quiet part of the medina, it provides total comfort with easy, mostly walkable, access to the top attractions of Marrakesh. If you contact this Riad in advance, they will send someone out to meet you, an important service in all medina based accommodations. A basic Moroccan breakfast is provided supplemented with the occasional fresh fruit salad. We stayed for dinner one night with little advance notice and it was delicious and reasonably priced. They will serve you meals wherever you wish. There are some comfortable lounge areas on at all levels including the terrace. Wifi is available throughout. The Riad itself is tastefully decorated in with traditional Moroccan accents, is well maintained and kept very clean. Service was exceptional. All staff members are happy to see you and we had no difficult being understood in either English or French. They will arrange anything you want at only the cost of the service; i.e., Rashid went to the bus station and bought our tickets to Essaouira for us and came with us to the bus station when we left to make sure everything went well. He gave us the highest compliment in saying we were like his mother and father (I’m glad he didn’t say grandfather and grandmother)! The highlight of their service was when my wife wanted to go to a hammam. She asked one of the cleaning ladies where she could go. Much to her surprise and delight, one of these young ladies took her to a true Moroccan hammam instead of one of the regular tourist spas as well as shared her personal supplies. She got to share this incredible experience with only local women. In summary, you would do well to stay at Riad El Faran.
Crispin H. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 18, 2013
Quiet, pleasant riad close to the centre

Friendly staff, peaceful, convenient location
10
Friendly, pleasant and quiet riad about 20 minutes walk away from the main square (Jemaa el-Fnaa). Room and courtyard were comfortable and clean. Nice sun deck on the roof. Staff mostly spoke competent English and were very helpful. Good fresh breakfast. Generally felt very good value for money. Neighbourhood may look a bit off-putting at first (it's deep in the Medina, down some narrow back streets) but felt safe once got used to it. The riad offers a shuttle from the airport (costs about €15) and would definitely recommend taking that the first time, however, since finding it without a guide would definitely be difficult. The Riad de Vinci next door is run by the same people and is worth looking at as well. The two places are very different - Riad de Vinci has been refurbished in a more modern style, while Riad El Faran is older.
Muhaba J. Couples Sweden, December 10, 2013
Not bad

the rum, the staff and the musik
5
At the beginning it was pretty scary. I never thought that the hotel was located in the middle of a Marrakesh ghetto. However I felt better after I talked to the Hotel Manager. I felt safe, despite the fact that the Dorr and the windows of my rum were barley closable.
Johnna B. Couples Sweden, November 28, 2013
beautiful place to stay at

Staff, breakfast, room
8.3
It was great. They didnt have a meny or resturant, but if you asked them they had different dinners everyday that was the best food we had in Marrakech.
Sofie I. Couples Sweden, November 16, 2013
a bit off in location but a nice clean room

good pancakes, nice roof terrace, big clean room
6.3
Siti D. Couples Singapore, October 5, 2013
Peaceful, quiet and simple stay.

Peace, cleanliness, cats.
6
Riad El Faran provides a simple, clean accommodation in an authentic Riad setting as possible. I like the Moroccan feel to this riad, and I personally enjoy the company of the cats there. At night it can be so quiet; it's deafening for a city girl who has no experience living in such a setting before. I guess the bed should be made more comfortable, and add more pillows. They should also consider fixing the windows as two are broken. They should also probably consider including a TV. I must say the owner and her husband are very friendly and have good manners. My husband and I arrived late at night on our first day at Marrakech due to flight delay. However, when we called their office number, the owner was very nice to send down one of their staff to pick us up and lead us to the riad. We almost got tricked by the male youths who tried to rip us off for directing us to another riad!! When my husband and I met the owner on our third day at the riad, and we identified ourselves as the persons who called that night for directions, she immediately apologised for the inconvenience. I thought that was very kind of her! Her staff however, are not friendly at all. It doesn't matter if my husband and I could speak very minimal French (just the basic Bonjour and Merci), but at least smile and greet us as they should be as staff working in this line. They should be better trained or the owner should get some staff who are friendlier! At first it can difficult to find the riad. But once you stay for more than a couple of days there, you'll get used to it and will easily find it.
Judy B. Couples Australia, September 29, 2013
Okay

Location, quietness, comfort
6.7
We only stayed for two days, great bathroom, big room,

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Riad El Faran Marrakech - PatioRiad El Faran Marrakech - Swimming PoolRiad El Faran Marrakech - PatioRiad El Faran Marrakech - Hotel ExteriorRiad El Faran Marrakech - RestaurantRiad El Faran Marrakech - PatioRiad El Faran Marrakech - Swimming PoolRiad El Faran Marrakech - Hotel InteriorRiad El Faran Marrakech - PatioRiad El Faran Marrakech - PatioRiad El Faran Marrakech - PatioRiad El Faran Marrakech - PatioRiad El Faran Marrakech - BalconyRiad El Faran Marrakech - LoungeRiad El Faran Marrakech - Hotel InteriorRiad El Faran Marrakech - Hotel InteriorRiad El Faran Marrakech - PatioRiad El Faran Marrakech - PatioRiad El Faran Marrakech - Hotel ExteriorRiad El Faran Marrakech - BalconyRiad El Faran Marrakech - PatioRiad El Faran Marrakech - PatioRiad El Faran Marrakech - PatioRiad El Faran Marrakech - PatioRiad El Faran Marrakech - Swimming PoolRiad El Faran Marrakech - Swimming PoolRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest RoomRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest RoomRiad El Faran Marrakech - BathroomRiad El Faran Marrakech - BathroomRiad El Faran Marrakech - BathroomRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest RoomRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest RoomRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest RoomRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest RoomRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest RoomRiad El Faran Marrakech - BathroomRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest RoomRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest RoomRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest RoomRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest RoomRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest RoomRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest RoomRiad El Faran Marrakech - BathroomRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest RoomRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest RoomRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest RoomRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest RoomRiad El Faran Marrakech - BathroomRiad El Faran Marrakech - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3C01