Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 65 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 65 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.7
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.3
Sort by

Harold G. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Awesome and comfortable hotel
Awesome location close to tram stop, ferry and shopping
I booked 3 nights stay at Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Kinseicho hoping to see Sakurajima volcano erupt and we were not disappointed. Nor were we disappointed with Richmond Hotel. We absolutely loved our room with so many things: fridge, flat screen TV, hairdryer, water heater, cups, mugs, tea, coffee, several mirrors, night gowns, big bath with body wash, shampoo, conditioner, toothbrushes, toothpaste, hairbrushes, shaver, and many towers. The friendly English speaking staff explained everything during check-in and even gave 2 drink coupons. The hotel is located walking distance to the Dolphin Aquarium, the Ferry Terminal to Mount Sakurajima and great shopping. I would definitely stay at this Richmond Hotel again!
Reviewed October 19, 2015

Joachim R. from Germany
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Excellent choice to stay in Kagoshima
Modern, new, friendly staff
The rooms are impeccably clean. Newest standard with all amenities. Staff was very friendly and helpful. One of the woman spoke perfect English and was really interested in making me feel at home. The hotel clearly exceeded what I had expected at such a relatively out-of-the-way location. Breakfast buffet with Japanese choices. Attentive waiters/waitresses. Restaurant stylish and well designed.
Reviewed August 26, 2015

Gavin C. from Hong Kong
Groups
Stayed one night in August 2015
Good location
Good location, friendly service and value for money
Reviewed August 10, 2015

Gavin C. from Hong Kong
Groups
Stayed one night in August 2015
A very nice hotel with good location
Good service, room size and breadfast.
Reviewed August 10, 2015

edoardo B. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
very convenient, good wifi
location, friendly helpful staff, simple wifi that just works
The best thing about the hotel is the location. It is a short walking distance to the Sakurajima ferry and a number of restaurants at Dolphin Port, it is across the street from a major department store, and it is walking distance from a number of attractions including what's left of the St. Francis Xavier church. The room was nice -- we had a room facing the back, no view, but quiet. We were unable to figure out how to open the window (though it looks like it might open). The staff was unfailingly polite. The breakfast is good if you like Japanese food, and the restaurant it is served in feels modern and fancy. Some hotels require you to go through all sorts of weird agrements (that get in the way and that nobody reads) to actually get to the WiFi. The Richmond Hotel doesn't -- connecting to WiFi is very simple and refreshingly straightforward. The same comment applies to the hotel as a whole -- everything we wanted, and nothing we didn't.
Reviewed March 31, 2015

Lai L. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2015
Helpful staffs
helpful staffs
Need to take tram from train station which is about 5 to 6 stops away. Staffs can understand simple English and some can speak Mandarin. Room is a little small though.
Reviewed March 04, 2015

Christopher T. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in February 2015
Comfortable Double room
Easy wifi access, comfortable bed and good local food
Nice comfortable bed and room. Simple wifi access and the morning buffet was very good with lots of choices and fresh local food.
Reviewed March 04, 2015

Christian Z. from Germany
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2014
Very good hotel with resonable room rates
Location, Price, Service
Reviewed October 09, 2014

Philippa G. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Very comfortable and pleasant.
Comfort, facilities, cleanliness.
Superb hotel with all the mod done,l was very impressed by the quality and standard and politeness of the staff.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Wenjie T. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Nice business hotel
The hotel was right in front of the tram stop and a 10mins walk to the popular shopping area, Temonkan
The hotel was right in front of the tram stop and a 10mins walk to the popular shopping area, Temonkan. We enjoyed our 4 nights stay and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
Reviewed January 05, 2014