Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Rimping Village Hotel

13/1 Soi 2 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road, tambol Wat Gate, Amphur Muang, Charoenmueng, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.9

based on
887 reviews

573 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.9
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
9.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
9.2
Food/Dining
8.4
All reviews (887)
Sort by:
Scott B. Couples United States of America, July 3, 2012
What a great hotel

Service, Location, Price
9.3
I can't say enough about the staff at Rimping Village. From the beginning to the end of our stay they treated us like we were the only guests in the hotel, although the hotel was nearly full best we could tell. We arrived early in the morning, and they made sure there was a room available for our early check-in, then invited us to eat breakfast while our bags were taken up to our room, even though we hadn't stayed the night before. Then we sat down with one of the front desk guys who pulled out a map, pointed out several recommended restaurants nearby as well as points of interest throughout the city. They were fantastic in organizing tours for us, and even have a practice of preparing beach towels in a bag for each guest who is doing a water-related excursion, which is a great touch. Not only is the service fantastic, but the free breakfast is very nice, and the location is less than a 10 minute walk from the Night Bazaar and several restaurants along the river. Don't stay anywhere else
Report this review
Ben G. Couples United States of America, July 2, 2012
Very friendly staff, spacious rooms, good food

Location, nice car from the airport
9.7
Enjoyed our stay, would return again. Nice to haves were the free wi-fi, and the staff were super helpful with arranging our excursions - they would call each place we wanted to go to to make sure they were open, make sure they could pick us up, etc.
Report this review
Alexandre F. Groups France, July 2, 2012
Very good choice

service, swimming pool, price
9
Not in down town, but they offer a bike for free. It takes 5 to 10 mins to reach the old city then. I'll come back again to Chiang Mai, and I ll choose the Rimping Hotel again, for sure. Hello and Thks to the very kind people working there.
Report this review
Mark B. Solo travelers United States of America, July 1, 2012
My go-to hotel in Chiang Mai

Excellent staff and personnel, location is an easy walk to the night market and Old City yet still tranquil
9.7
This was my second stay at Rimping Village Hotel in Chiang Mai, and again, my experience was excellent. The hotel is a very tranquil respite from the crowds of the night market area, and the staff really makes it a wonderful place to stay. Also, while located within walking distance of the Loi Kroh Road nightlife area, I would not hesitate to recommend Rimping Village to couples, families and single female travelers as the hotel is really quite peaceful and the staff really goes out of their way to make your stay in both the hotel and the greater Chiang Mai area a great experience.
Nightlife Tip: A short walk from the hotel and just across the Iron Bridge on the eastern part of Loi Kroh Road is a wonderful music bar/restaurant called The Bear Bar. They have live music nightly, typically jazz and blues, and it's a nice place to kick back a few drinks and food before hitting the more frenetic party scene. The Thai food on the menu is also excellent, featuring Northern Thai cuisine at very affordable prices (in addition to pizzas, which I did not try). The sundried fried pork dish is one of the best things I ate in Chiang Mai, as well, ordered at the owner's recommendation.
Report this review
Kit L. Families with young children Malaysia, June 26, 2012
Wonderful family holiday

Location is only 10 mins walk to Night Market. Well built hotel. Ever friendly staff
9
Wonderful hotel run by friendly and thoughtful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a Deluxe room on the second floor which was lovely and spacious. Salt water pool was well maintained and plenty of lounge chairs around. Nice supermarket & lovely restaurants (on main road facing the river) all within short walk from hotel. Chiang Mai is a terrific place to visit, and Rimping Village is the best place for a family to stay at!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Chiang Mai city isn't that 'stroller friendly", we found it much easier to use a baby carrier.
Report this review
John L. Solo travelers United States of America, June 26, 2012
Lovely - tops in service, good location

better than average breakfast
9
first of all it is hard to fault any hotel that upgrades you, just to be nice and because they had available rooms in deluxe. like most other visitors have suggested, rimping village service is about as good as it gets in thailand or elsewhere for that matter. all staff helpful, kind, friendly and eager to please.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Skip the overdone "night market" and head for the Saturday walking street market or the Sunday one - not just tourist claptrap junk but actually interesting with local crafts & craftsmen and craftswomen, musical entertainment, both Thais and foreigners enjoying themselves (unlike night market which is 90% for tourist consumption)
Report this review
Amy W. Families with young children United States of America, June 26, 2012
Amazing service at a great little hotel

Great service. Nice and quiet location but within walking distance to night market. Good restaurant.
9.7
i have never experienced a hotel stay where the staff made me feel more welcomed and cared for than at this hotel. we stayed there with our five month old and all of the staff came to know his name and were always happy to help us if we needed. for example, at breakfast they don't have a baby chair for someone his age so every time we would sit down to eat someone would come over and watch him for us so we could eat without having to hold him. this happened every single time we ate at the restaurant. our son loved getting all the attention. the staff were also so helpful with us. they were always ready to help with travel plans or a recommendation for dinner or to call a tuk tuk for us. we also liked that the hotel has bicycles that we can use to get around town. they even have one with a child seat on the back. that ended up being one of our favorite parts of our stay. we stayed in the rimping deluxe and loved having the extra room. the bathtub in that room is so big. our little boy could splash all he wanted in it and all the water stayed in. the room itself was exactly like the pictures. very clean and well maintained.
Shopping Tip: Be sure and plan your stay over the weekend and check out the Sunday night market. The prices are so much better than the regular Night Market. Be sure and go early because the market gets very crowded.
Report this review
Jared C. Couples United States of America, June 21, 2012
Believe what you read

Best service
10
My wife and I stayed here based on the wonderful reviews and were blown away. This hotel is staffed with the friendliest and most helpful people we have ever seen. We literally couldn't have asked for anything more. If you are thinking of booking, quit reading reviews...you have found your place.
Report this review
Ben C. Couples Jamaica, June 16, 2012
delightfully restful hotel

amazing staff, quiet but convenient location
9.7
wow, i can't stop saying how great rimping village is! the service was fantastic! all of the staff were pleasant, eager to serve, and competent in all that they did. it was amazing! the breakfast buffet was quite good. the pool (a salt water pool) got lots of sun-shine, had excellent lounge chairs, and was always clean. the rooms were very comfortable. we were in a deluxe room and really liked the extra amenities (nicer bathroom, bigger room). we also noticed that the hotel was in the process of upgrading all the tvs to flat panel wide-screen tvs. our room already had a new tv. the location is fantastic as well. it was just a ten-minute walk to the night market area. also, since it's not in the heart of the night-market, you're not constantly hearing tuk-tuks revving their engines on the streets below. it was nice and quiet instead. the hotel helped us hire a motorcycle for our time there (150 baht per day). we were very happy with the convenience of having the bike delivered to us and not having to arrange a way to get the bike back to the rental company (the rental company just picked up the bike at the hotel). we would highly recommend hiring a bike while you're in chiang mai (unless you have small children with you) as it is cheap and makes getting around town much easier (no haggling with song-tauw drivers every time you want to go somewhere!). also, "the duke's" (fantastic restaurant) is just a 2 minute walk from the hotel. it's fantastic!
Restaurant Tip: Be sure to head over to "The Duke's" (about 100 meters from the hotel) for the best steaks, ribs, burgers, pizza, and desserts in Chiang Mai!
Report this review
Leith W. Couples New Zealand, June 12, 2012
Nice hotel

Great Pool.
9.3
i was happy with my stay here, the bed was comfy, and the area is quiet. the swimming pool was great and so good after a big day. staff were freindy, and helpful. computer and printing was free 24hrs. breakfast was good, only place i have stayed at with sticky rice and mango for breakfast. the bicycles are great to get around on, and there is a free pick up and drop off to the airport. i would stay here again.
Report this review
Previous page 251 - 260 of 573 reviews Next page
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang MaiRimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomRimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai - ExteriorRimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolRimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai - ExteriorRimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai - ExteriorRimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai - ExteriorRimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai - FacilitiesRimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai - ExteriorRimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai - InteriorRimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai - ExteriorRimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomRimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomRimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomRimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolRimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomRimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A03