or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Rio Motel

823, hwanghak-dong, jung-gu, Dongdaemun, Seoul, South Korea (Show on map)

Book now!

Rio Motel Seoul - Room Facilities Rio Motel Seoul - Room Facilities Rio Motel Seoul - Room Facilities Rio Motel Seoul - Guest Room Rio Motel Seoul - Guest Room Rio Motel Seoul - Drinks Rio Motel Seoul - Shops Rio Motel Seoul - Corridor Rio Motel Seoul - Corridor Rio Motel Seoul - Reception Rio Motel Seoul - Bathroom Rio Motel Seoul - Bathroom Rio Motel Seoul - Interior Rio Motel Seoul - Interior Rio Motel Seoul - Bathroom Rio Motel Seoul - Business Center
Rio Motel Seoul - Guest Room Rio Motel Seoul - Guest Room Rio Motel Seoul - Guest Room Rio Motel Seoul - Guest Room Rio Motel Seoul - Bathroom Rio Motel Seoul - Guest Room Rio Motel Seoul - Bathroom Rio Motel Seoul - Bathroom Rio Motel Seoul - Guest Room Rio Motel Seoul - Guest Room Rio Motel Seoul - Guest Room Rio Motel Seoul - Bathroom
Area: Dongdaemun Number of Rooms: 28

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
34 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.4
Solo travelers (34)
Sort by:
Jonathan M. Solo travelers United States of America, March 22, 2014
Decent motel without the sleeze.

It's near the subway station, it was pretty clean for the most part, and the wifi although public, was working fine most of the time.
8.7
If you can't speak Korean you might have a little bit of a hard time. Although I am part Korean my Korean isn't that good but good enough to communicate to the front desk. This was a nice place to stay since I was looking more for just a place to sleep than a place to spend time in and relax. The wifi for me was strong. You don't need a password since it's the public network "iptime". I don't think Rio has their own wifi. You get unlimited bottled water, popcorn, juices, and other drinks. The room I got had heated floors so it would get pretty hot that I had to open the window and even turn on the air conditioning. Since this is more like an upscale love motel than an actual hotel, they won't automatically clean your room everyday. You have to tell them. One of the staff members can speak a little English. The younger guy couldn't for some reason. I saw a lady but didn't really talk to her so I don't know about her English skills. I sprained my ankle walking to the start line for the Seoul Marathon on one of those uneven brick sidewalks. I decided to run the whole 42km/26 miles anyways and my ankle swelled up real big. I could barely walk when I got to my room. I called downstairs and asked the staff member in Korean if he could get me ice. He did and was very nice. If I needed to stay long and needed to save money again, I would go back to this place. If you are bad in reading maps you might have a hard time finding the place, but it's pretty simple. You get off exit 2 in Sindang Station. Walk straight ahead right out of the exit stairs. Keep walking till you see this big building on the left with a 7-11. Across the street from it is another 7-11. You turn left on that street and you will see 22 chicken on the left and a hotel. There's a fork road. You take the left one and you see the Rio Motel sign down the street.
Fernando A. Solo travelers United States of America, November 12, 2012
Nice Hotel

Close to subway
10
I must say this hotel was pretty nice. The beds were not the usual hard beds at a motel... but this hotel was about a couple mins down the street from the subway. the rooms were a bit small but when its you by yourself it doesnt matter. I would definetily come here again
Lorenz B. Solo travelers Switzerland, September 24, 2012
Awesome motel with a caring service

Clean, reasonable room size for the price, huge 43'' TV, free Internet & computer with Korean Windows 7, free water, free drinks (4 types), free popcorn at the reception, friendly staff (Korean only but always eager to help)
10
This hotel, situated in the heart of Hwanghak-dong (Dongdaemun-gu) was a positive surprise. The value for money, of the room/motel earns an excellent mark all the way. Here's why: [Pros] -Clean (tell the hotelier to clean it in person) -reasonable room size for the price -huge 43'' TV with countless programs -free Internet & computer with Korean Windows 7 [imaged] -free water -free drinks (4 types: cranberry juice, orange juice and two others -free popcorn and crackers at the reception -very friendly staff (Korean only but always eager to help) -comfy bedding, not too hard, not too soft -quite good stereo connected to the PC -optionally the PC may be linked to the TV -one remote control for everything in the room (AC, light, etc. pp.) -multiple banking options nearby -food order service at any time of the day [cons] -none (loud neighbors are not really problem) Would I go again? Yes, anytime.
Travel tip: About 200m around the corner is the circle line #2 metro station entrance 2, Sindang Station. Thanks to this location you're like everywhere in Seoul in no time~ If you want to do your laundry yourself like I did. Check out "CoinWash 24" - Wangsimni Station [NOT Sangwangsimni] exit #3 (I think) turn around 180° and walk straight, it's on your left then.
Man W. Solo travelers Hong Kong, August 13, 2012
Lovely hotel with nice staff

Staff, design
8.3
Design is great and interesting. Free coffee and popcorn and snack and even drinks! Staff is so nice to lend me an umbrella on rainy days!
Jack H. Solo travelers Australia, July 15, 2012
The hotel is great, but is a little bit hard to fi

It's small Love hotel, but if you don't mind to walk a little is not too far from the city !
6
For a single traveler, it's not a bad hotel. Is located nearby Dondenmong but still takes 10 min walking distance. It's a love Hotel, no English service at all, but if you speak Chinese, they have people who can help you out !
Li Z. Solo travelers China, June 3, 2012
Very delicate hotel

The style of the hotel
9.3
the location is difficult to find. the style is claimed different, but not that different. the receptionist was not that helpful. i missed the plane. because i didn't know how to get to the airport
Shopping Tip: two stops from the shopping center
Mei C. Solo travelers Hong Kong, May 28, 2012
location r quite dificult to find

comfortable, have free drinks, many food near by hotel
7.7
although the location are quite difficult to find at the first night, the totally good, comfortable, quite, get free drinks every time, many food can choose to eat near by hotel,even mightnight.
Johannes S. Solo travelers Netherlands, April 19, 2012
Design hotel with a high-tech edge

Very well thought through room amenities and layout; quiet rooms
8.7
This hotel was the best one I came across during my Korean trip. Care was given to the design (a youthful, expressive design) to match the high tech inside the room: a fancy toilet, all lights to be operated via the remote control and a desktop comouter with sound system. Everything was clean and the room I stayed in was completely without noises from outside. Just great!
Peter B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 9, 2012
Small rooms and not a lot going for it.

Nice large bath tub. free popcorn and coffee in the reception
4.7
smallest double room i have stayed in anywhere in the world - just about room to move around. very little space to put anything or hang anything. couldn't work it out until, along with all the copious free toiletries i spotted a packet of condoms. work it out for yourself what type of hotel this is. relaxation and business was the caption out side! to be honest, i can't really find any reason to recommend this establishment to anyone looking for holiday accommodation. even the location is pretty poor. very near the sindang metro is the most positive thing i can say.
Tae S. Solo travelers South Korea, October 8, 2014
직원이 친절하진 않아요.

서울에있다는것.
4.3
실내는 괜찮아요. 골목 끝에 있어서 찾기가 어려워요

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Rio Motel SeoulRio Motel Seoul - Room FacilitiesRio Motel Seoul - Room FacilitiesRio Motel Seoul - Room FacilitiesRio Motel Seoul - Guest RoomRio Motel Seoul - Guest RoomRio Motel Seoul - Drinks Rio Motel Seoul - ShopsRio Motel Seoul - CorridorRio Motel Seoul - CorridorRio Motel Seoul - ReceptionRio Motel Seoul - BathroomRio Motel Seoul - BathroomRio Motel Seoul - InteriorRio Motel Seoul - InteriorRio Motel Seoul - BathroomRio Motel Seoul - Business CenterRio Motel Seoul - Guest RoomRio Motel Seoul - Guest RoomRio Motel Seoul - Guest RoomRio Motel Seoul - Guest RoomRio Motel Seoul - BathroomRio Motel Seoul - Guest RoomRio Motel Seoul - BathroomRio Motel Seoul - BathroomRio Motel Seoul - Guest RoomRio Motel Seoul - Guest RoomRio Motel Seoul - Guest RoomRio Motel Seoul - BathroomRio Motel Seoul - Guest RoomRio Motel Seoul - Guest RoomRio Motel Seoul - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3C05