Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Riverview Hotel on the Bund

No.36 South Zhongshan Road, Huangpu District, The Bund and North Bund, Shanghai, China 200010

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.6

based on
84 reviews

901 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.9
Location
7.2
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.8
Groups (84)
Sort by:
Hillary S. Groups United States of America, December 31, 2015
A bit of a walk

Clean, spacious, and semi-close to the river
7.7
I felt the staff were helpful and spoke excellent English. Storing our bags was no problem and they even offer currency exchange via Bank of China at no cost. I thought the rooms were nice but the internet was very spotty and difficult to use because it was not working well. The gym is small but worked for my needs. Overall though, I felt it was overpriced. We paid $100 for a night and their was no meal included and the tea room was overpriced. Perhaps if you are accustomed to a high-end hotel, you would feel the value is good, but I feel I get friendlier care and better value for my money at less expensive and smaller bed and breakfast type places. That being said, I do believe this is a nice hotel, but my preferences for bed and breakfast places left me underwhelmed here.
Report this review
Di W. Groups Singapore, October 17, 2015
Good hotel with a bad location

Clean room, nice staff
7
My stay was good, just that the location was not so great. It's near the bund but you need to walk really far and it's very hard to get a cab in Shanghai apparently.
Report this review
Ooi J. Groups Malaysia, September 16, 2015
Good

Good
8.3
Good
Report this review
Julie S. Groups United States of America, May 27, 2015
Nice hotel but not good for sleeping

Location, clean rooms
8.3
Only English speaking staff was found at the registration desk. The beds were the most uncomfortable of all places we stayed in China. Worse than sleeping on the floor, which we tried. We could not get the room air to cool the room down and when we talked with staff we were still unsuccessful because of the language barrier. We called for ice but my husband had to take the ice bucket to the English speaking person at the registration desk before we received the ice an hour later. Hotel was very nicely furnished so the service and uncomfortable beds were surprising.
Report this review
Johannes D. Groups Australia, September 24, 2014
Excellent value.

Location, value for money, staff very helpful
8
Stayed for 6 nights. Good location and excellent value for money. Breakfast very good. Rooms clean and well equipped. Staff helpful with good level of English. Enjoyed our stay.
Report this review
Jose J. Groups Philippines, August 22, 2014
Pretty good 4 star hotel

Hotel service, Room
7.7
The hotel is whatever is posted. Really nice hotel and affordable for location
Report this review
Kim M. Groups Malaysia, February 3, 2014
the weather is bad, we not landing at shanghai

we not stay the hotel
6
We not stay the hotel, the weather is bad, flight cannot landing at shanghai airport
Report this review
Andrea S. Groups Malaysia, January 1, 2014
2014 new years countdown

location neat simple
6.3
It was the countdown from 2013 to 2014, we chose this hotel because of it's location, we have easy access to the countdown at the bund. The location was a little secluded but still a good place to be especially on special days like these, it's difficult to get a cab anywhere!
Report this review
Lijun F. Groups Singapore, November 15, 2013
Clean, Large rooms.

Large Rooms, Wifi available in every room
6.7
This is a generally nice hotel though the deco look abit dated. The rooms and bathrooms are large, very suitable for family and triple sharing. However the surrounding areas are undergoing construction, most of the rooms are unable to have the view of the Bund anymore. The location of the hotel is not near any Metro stations and walking to the bund would take about 10 mins. It can be a lovely stroll on when the weather is good. Taxi will be the best way to travel when staying at this hotel. I also find the hotel's beds abit too hard for my liking.
Report this review
Zhiying W. Groups Singapore, October 28, 2013
value for money hotel

comfy room, friendly staff, close to city
8.3
room was comfy, clean. location was not bad. staff greets you everywhere you went. staff got my taxi immediately when i checked out.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 1421 reviews Next page
Riverview Hotel on the Bund ShanghaiRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - City View QueenRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - BathroomRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - BathroomRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - GymRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - BilliardsRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - LobbyRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - Front DeskRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - LobbyRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - RestaurantRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - RestaurantRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - InteriorRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - RestaurantRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - RestaurantRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - RestaurantRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - Meeting RoomRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - Meeting RoomRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - Meeting RoomRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - Pujiang HallRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - Meeting RoomRiverview Hotel on the Bund Shanghai - Front Gate


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A08