or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Rockside Cabanas Hotel

No. 668 Matara Road, Thalpe, Mihiripenna Beach, Thalpe Beach, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Sunset by the Cabanas Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Rockside Beach House Apartment A Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach House Sea View Apt B1 Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Apt B1 Room View Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Rockside Beach House Apartment A Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach House Apt 2 Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach House Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach House Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Rockside Beach House Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Relaxation by the sunbeds Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach House Sea View Apt B1 Bathroom Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Bathroom of a Beach  Cabana Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Reception Area Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Garden Cabanas Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach House Exterior View Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach House Exterior
Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach House A Sea View Apartment Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach House View Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Outdoor Dining Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - View from the Hotel Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Sunset Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Garden Restaurant Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Garden Restaurant Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Rock Side Apt B Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Rock Side Apt B Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Bathroom
Area: Thalpe Beach Number of Rooms: 9

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.3

based on
128 reviews

Value for Money
8.1
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (128)
Sort by:
Eija V. Couples Finland, February 28, 2014
Good basic accomodation to sleep the nights

Clean, beach close, local staff
7.7
The owner treated guests like children - felt like she was keeping on eye on us (friendly way, but felt weird), checking the contents of our bags... She did not put efforts on customer satisfaction - it felt like we were just another job for her. Still we did not let her ruin our vacation feeling. The local staff was performing utmost friendly and deserve positive comments. The other food was lovely, but breakfast very basic. Lovely terrace to enjoy the meals. Very good money - quality ratio! The vicinity of railroad was not disturbing despite the whistles of train even during nights. We enjoyed the calmness and quiet. Still would not likely recommend to friends, because the lack of feeling being on a relaxed vacation atmosphere.
Nick C. Couples United Kingdom, February 8, 2014
Great location, friendly staff, great food,

Great location and setting right on the beach, delicious food, friendly and attentive staff
10
It was the perfect finish to our holiday, right on an amazing beach in a relaxed setting with nice rooms and the food was very good (there are also 2 other restaurants with good food just down the beach for variety)and very friendly staff and owner. We would highly recommend a stay
Jack B. Couples United Kingdom, February 4, 2014
Mediocre

Nothing stood out
5.7
We arrived to be told quite abruptly that our booking had been cancelled. We queried this and the hotel director then realised she was wrong and was referring to another booking. A nice welcome. We were also told straight away that we'd have to check out at 11am. If this is the standard time, then it's earlier than everywhere else we stayed. If it isn't the norm, then also, far from impressive. The room was average, as was the location, the surroundings, the breakfast, everything really. Just nothing about this place stood out. The experience was completely forgettable and I wouldn't stay here again.
Nesrine B. Couples Saudi Arabia, January 31, 2014
bad bed that broke our backs.
2
Nothing, Except the bad bed that broke our backs.
Zakareeyah A. Solo travelers Canada, January 22, 2014
it was sooo much fun

it was clean and modern, good breakfast and excellent staff
10
it was amazing, i would go again in a heartbeat! i loved it so much
Fiona M. Couples Ireland, December 27, 2013
One of the best hotels we stayed in in Sri Lanka

On a fab quiet beach, clean and well maintained.
9
When we took the trip to Unawatuna and saw its dirty ramshakled town and cramped beach full of rubbish that we realised how lucky we were to have picked here. It is quiet well guarded small resort with only 20 or so guests in apts and 4 cabanas and is about 5 mins tuk tuk from Unawatuna town. The best parts about this place is that it is right on a beautiful clean quiet area of Thalpe beach. You can hear the waves crashing from outdoor restaurant and from your sunchair in the garden. The beach has a beautiful calm pool for swimming and snorkelling right of the resort, and very few areas on the coast have calm waters. The apts are clean and spacious and well maintained. The food and wifi is good. They give you free water. The only negative is the train noise. But earplugs at night and sitting next to waves during day sort that out! Would recommend.
Taiga S. Couples Australia, October 20, 2013
Private, tropical, exclusive

Right on the beach, quaint cabanas just for couples, new chef with tasty menu
8.7
despite a rainy weekend, the location right on the beach was great, the room very private and a nice garden to stroll in.
Christine M. Couples Germany, August 25, 2013
Spontaneous booking turning out successful

closeness to sea, tasteful environment, being closeness but sufficiently remote from a busy beach resort
9.7
A lovely location. The owner has put much love, taste and attention into the arrangement of the garden, the cabanas, and the apartment flats. The owner lives at the place and can give helpful advice and other support if needed. We had some lovely and cosy days for ourselves, looked after by smily and attentive stuff. In the evenings, it was a short ride to beach restaurants and some shopping opportunities. The general area is set for tourists, thus, being at the Rockside Hotel gave us the option of choice, i.e. entering the tourist environment when we felt ready for it. Otherwise, the hotel environment left us some time off from the busy activities of Unawatuna or Galle. The only minus for me was a very slow and patchy WI-Fi connection. Some people might be disturbed by the morning trains passing relatively close to the house, but this concerns only a short period of time. Nature might also be noisy, wherever one is, such as monkeys running on the roof and birds singing loudly. For Swiss and German standards, traffic noise and animal noise are more challenging overall in Sri Lanka. I would return to this place, if ever being close again to this beautiful location.
Theresa R. Couples Austria, August 24, 2013
Everything in working order

Clean and big room, good breakfast, great garden
8.7
Martin M. Couples Australia, August 21, 2013
Best beach in unawatuna

The beach has a natural swimming pool perfect for kids and adults. We saw turtles everyday. Environmentally aware
8
As you walk through the fortress style front wall you are struck with the beauty of wooden cabanas set on a manicured lawn with garden and palm trees overlooking the rocky outcrop part of the sandy beach. At first glance you assume there is nowhere to swim as it is so rocky but to your right about 40 meters lies a huge natural sandy bottom swimming pool and a stretch of beach with 2 great retaraunts and turtles peering at you from the water. The cabanas are very comfortable with a good bed and perfect verandah. The wi fi is not bad and you can get it from your room. A rarity . Water is available in glass bottles that you can replace free of charge. It's great someone is doing something to minimise the plastic bottle situation. A scourge on all developing countries in the tropics. There is no a/c I assume for environmental reasons and I found this not to be a problem though my wife was pregnant and craving a/c. The breakfast is very European . White sliced bread and a bit disappointing but the retaraunts around the corner (beach access) are great. The German owner is very helpful as is the rest of the staff and seemed to be aware of improving everything continually. We loved it !!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Garden CabanasRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Sunset by the CabanasRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Rockside Beach House Apartment ARockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach House Sea View Apt B1Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Apt B1 Room ViewRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Rockside Beach House Apartment ARockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach House Apt 2Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach HouseRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach HouseRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Rockside Beach HouseRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Relaxation by the sunbedsRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach House Sea View Apt B1 Bathroom Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Bathroom of a Beach  CabanaRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Reception AreaRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Garden CabanasRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach House Exterior ViewRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach House ExteriorRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach House A Sea View ApartmentRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach House ViewRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Outdoor DiningRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - BeachRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - View from the HotelRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - SunsetRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - BeachRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Garden Restaurant Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Garden RestaurantRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Rock Side Apt B Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Rock Side Apt B Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - BathroomRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Rock Side BathroomRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Guest RoomRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Guest RoomRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - BathroomRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - BathroomRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Guest RoomRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach Cabana InteriorRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - BathroomRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach Cabana InteriorRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - BathroomRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach Cabana Exterior ViewRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Rock Side Beach CabanaRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Rock Side Beach CabanaRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - InteriorRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Rock Side Beach Cabana 1Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Rock Side Beach Cabana Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Rock Side Beach Cabana Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach Cabana by NightfallRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Front ViewRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - BeachRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - FrontRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach Cabana 2Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach Cabana 1Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach Cabana 1Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach Cabana 3Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Guest RoomRockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach Cabana4Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna - Beach Cabana 1


AS-AGWEB-3B01