Back to hotel info

Excellent 9.0
Based on 260 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 260 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.3
  • Service 9.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 9.0
Sort by

Worranuch A. from Thailand
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Friend's wedding holiday
Comfortable bed, services, atmosphere
I went with my sister to attend a friend's wedding. Hotel is located in the middle of lamia beach, which is nice & quiet. Though the hotel has private beach, it's a bit rocky & not so nice for swimming. Decorations in restaurants are beautiful, but too many decoration stuff in the room which make spaces in the room a bit tight. All staff are well train, very friendly, and provide excellent services. Breakfast is excellent. Overall staying in this hotel is satisfactory.
Reviewed August 31, 2015

Laura S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Amazing destination
It's clean, comfortable and relaxing. Excellent food
Rocky's is an ideal Location for a quiet relaxing holiday. Beautiful villas and pools. Wish we had never left! Food is amazing. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable - very helpful.
Reviewed June 16, 2015

Mark H. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Beautiful hotel - just not quite good enough
Beach, Romance, View
I'll caveat this review by saying I live in Singapore and I'm quite spoilt as I've been to many countries for beach holidays around South East Asia. Rocky's is certainly beautiful and romantic - perfect for a nice weekend away but not quite honeymoon standard. The private beach is incredibly peaceful and picturesque. The sea is unbelievably warm - perhaps because you can wade out 100 yards and the water might not pass your waist. The whole vibe there - especially in their fine dining room, was very 80's - I've not quite decided whether that is in a good or a bad way yet. That said, in the evenings, when dining outside on a rock, overlooking the sea, it's very spectacular. The biggest disappointment was the staff. They weren't bad but I expected a higher standard based on how much we paid for the hotel. The standard in Krabi and surrounding islands, or Bali, is much higher. For example, when we checked in at 3pm, they made a real point of telling us that breakfast was not included (which really irks me when you are paying SGD $325 per night). They also didn't bother pointing out the pool, or the beach. In fact, I had no idea there was a second bigger pool, or a second restaurant until the 2nd day. A few exceptions aside, the waiting staff seemed quite disinterested and we saw a noticeable improvement when we went to other hotels in the area for evening meals. It wasn't a big thing... but had the service been better, I would have 100% recommended Rocky's but as it is, I would recommend it with a caveat and even suggest to friends traveling a long way to Thailand, that they would have a better all round experience by going to Krabi or Bali. Hope this helps.
Reviewed June 06, 2015

john A. from United States
Couples
Stayed 12 nights in March 2015
spectacula! Vacation of a lifetime!
Our villa and the location of the resort, the staff (Jeena and Marting) and everyone else, the food
Our stay at Rocky's Resort was a trip of a lifetime. We enjoyed everything about the resort. Jeena and Martin went out of their way to make our trip amazing. We stayed in the villa just above the upper pool and the rooms were impeccable. All of the staff anticipated our every need! We will return!
Reviewed April 13, 2015

Steven B. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed 4 nights in March 2015
You can 't go wrong with Rocky's
Design of hotel, breakfast, professional staff
Rocky's was not the cheapest place to stay on Samui but we were glad we stayed there for 4 days. The large boulders around the resort and on the beach give the resort a unique look and feel. The quality of the food, service and grounds are all top notch. The two swimming pools were kind of small, but our two kids loved them. The resort was not so crowded and we didn't have to fight for a spot by the pool. The only thing that we missed was being able to walk out of the resort and have other restaurants and shopping close by. The taxis were cheap, however so it wasn't an issue.
Reviewed April 09, 2015

Jan S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 10 nights in March 2015
Lovely place to stay
Food was excellent…. attentiveness of staff could not be criticised….. cleanliness and comfort was great
Had a lovely stay at Rocky's and were looked after by exceptional staff every minute of our time there. If I were to criticise anything, it would be it's location. The beach at Rocky's is maintained excellently by staff but the surrounding areas are not. I like to walk each day but the surrounding areas are not clean and it isn't enjoyable to walk along the beaches or the road away from the resort. Unfortunately, this is not Rocky's fault and they cannot do anything to resolve the issue but it did have an impact on my stay there.
Reviewed March 22, 2015

Curtis P. from Canada
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2015
Best place we stayed in Thailand
Atmosphere, staff, peacefulness
Amazing boutique hotel. Pictures don't do it justice. Perfect in every sense except for the ocean swimming. Wasn't that deep. Both pools are great, as are all the staff and our basic poolside room was the best we stayed in during our 15 nights in Thailand. Wonderful value for the $170 usd per night that we paid. Get the breakfast included if there's an option as it is really worth it. 9.5/10.
Reviewed March 08, 2015

alain G. from Switzerland
Families with older children
Stayed 6 nights in February 2015
Good stay for a 4* hotel
Food is excellent, nice decoration (but almost too much and kitsch) and good rooms
Our stay was very satisfactory, hotel and rooms of good standard, excellent food (but don't come late), staff dedicated (for many but not for all), location not excellent, beach quite small. A good 4* hotel.
Reviewed February 26, 2015

Yang F. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Recommended for Honeymooners
The eye for details for resort decor & room furnishing. Efficient service & Cozy private beach.
It was a memorable honeymoon experience for us to stay @ Rocky's with Romantic feels. We witnessed grand wedding ceremony with fireworks & firedance by the beach. 5 star service provider & we recommended the resort to many of our friends & family. We were sad to leave the resort but will definately be back.
Reviewed February 17, 2015

Willy E. from France
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in January 2015
We just loved it
Staff was great, very good breakfast and restaurant
Reviewed January 29, 2015